Outdoor Research Men's Virtuoso Hoody

Outdoor Research Men's Virtuoso Hoody

Outdoor Research Men's Virtuoso Hoody is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 32.
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_10098766, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.5 Star Rating
4.5
$149.99 - $285.00
up to 32% off

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Mens Jackets

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10098766

The Men's Virtuoso Jacket by Outdoor Research. At the end of a long, exhausting, and exhilarating day of travel through snowy backcountry, nothing feels better than settling into camp by pulling on warm dry socks and a warm puffy down jacket. Lofty 650+ down fills the M's Virtuoso Jacket keeping you warm in even the most frozen conditions. With a fully insulated hood, drawcord at the hem and elastic wrists with hook and loop tabs, warmth stays at your core and not a breath of cold is let in. If a sudden drizzle falls, water-resistant fabric keeps you dry when there are many peaks and ridges between you and the trailhead.

FEATURES of the Outdoor Research Men's Virtuoso Hoody

  • Lightweight
  • Water resistant
  • Adjustable hood
  • Two zippered hand warmer pockets
  • Right hand pocket doubles as a stuff sack or fleece-backed pillow pocket
  • Two internal Shove-It pockets
  • Zippered internal pocket
  • Zippered napoleon pocket
  • Double separating front zipper
  • Internal stormflap
  • Brushed tricot-lined collar
  • Elastic cuffs with hook/loop
  • Drawcord hem

- + Product Specifications
Gender: Mens
Features: Insulated, Adjustable Cuffs, Adjustable Hood, Hood, Internal Pockets, Water-resistant, Elastic Cuffs, Zipper Garage
Jacket Length: Hip
Best Use: Skiing, Climbing, Mountaineering and Alpine, Snowboarding
Fit Type: Regular Fit
Weight: 23.3 oz
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Insulation: Down
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Held up to Antarctica! But there's a design flaw I bought this when I went to work in Antarctica a couple years ago. I needed something really warm that could be layered. This worked well and with a shell (I used my Foray) kept my core warm when walking around in a very cold and very windy location. I like that it has pertex so that if there is a wet snow you don't get wet. This jacket is so warm that I hardly ever use it, but if I move back to a colder location it will definitely come in handy. I could see this being a good jacket to use at the summit, but I tend to use a layering system that makes a jacket like this unnecessary. This jacket is incredibly well designed and I love all the thought that OR put into it. However, I'm a little surprised that OR describes this as a jacket for wind because the way it is designed makes it vulnerable to wind. The way they have sewn the down into the jacket means that the seams between each down "tube" allows cold wind to go through the jacket. I don't know if it is purposefully designed this way to allow some breathability, but it is definitely a weakness. Nevertheless, with a proper shell, you don't have that problem. It's just a little disappointing if you planned to wear this alone in a cold, windy place. In most places, this will be plenty warm. And if you're in a place with strong winds, then add a shell.
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Superb performer at this pricepoint. Especially love the new Kale color.
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever! I researched down jackets for quite a while before purchasing the virtuoso. I own several already but they just didn't either do what I wanted them to do or look the way I wanted them to look. This jacket is Awesome! The only problem is it has to be really cold to wear because this thing is WARM! A lot of attention was put into the design and I appreciate that. One of the little things I like is the zipper pulls are perfect. Smaller pull for the chest pocket and larger pulls for the side pockets and main zipper. I am 6'2" 215lbs and got the XL. It fits perfect with room for layers if I ever need them. Thanks OR for a superior product.
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Jacket This is a super warm jacket. It would be nicer if you could stow the hood. It kept getting in my way when bending over while working. Very annoying. I ended up having my seamstress remove the hood. Also, the zipper is very flimsy and hard to get started. A more beefy zipper would make me give this jacket a 5 star
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome jacket First a note on fitment: I'm 6'2" 220lbs and tried on a floodlight jacket in an XL and found it to be just about right, and since that jacket and this one are both listed as 'standard fit' I figured XL would be perfect. It ended up being wayyy bigger. I called OR and it turns out a size L in the virtuoso is BIGGER than a XL of the Floodlight jacket... strange, but they were great as always and switched out my XL Virtuoso for a L. Definitely not standard fit, more relaxed and baggy for sure, sleeves were plenty long in the L. Now the jacket, super nice and puffy, first day I wore it I couldn't even leave it on inside, way to warm! Fits great, moves with you, and perfect to layer with on the super cold days, and great as a stand alone down to 0 degrees. Love it, and of course the OR infinite guarantee cant be beat.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lacking one feature that I needed I loved just about everything - excellent hood; great down; super lightweight; long arms; great color blue. However, when I buy a jacket at this price, I really want everything to be to my liking. The negative is that the hand pockets are nicely lined with the down on the outside, but the inner part of the pockets is only the nylon type material. I tried it in the very cold & those pockets were not comfortable on bare hands. That is the only thing that disappointed me enough to send it back. Fully insulate those pockets and it would be perfect for me.
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great puffy Love this puffy. I've got five puffies, I may have a problem, lol. Love the Lemongrass color, get lots of compliments. 5'11" and weigh 205, XL fits perfect. This is my go to belay jacket and for when it dips down to single digits and below. It's one step below an expedition parka. It is much warmer than a mid weight puffy like a Patagonia Down Sweater. I've worn it down to minus twenty in moderate activity level. Kept me toasty. Lots of pockets, soft fleece collar, a hood I can use with or without a helmet. It stayed dry with light, dry snow. Only reason I knocked it down a star is that it should use the newer water proof down treatment. This is too much for a layering piece, so as an outer layer, I don't want snow soaking it through. Because it's only water resistant, I would not take it on an extended trip where it might get wet. Otherwise a great jacket.
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost a second home... I rarely write reviews on products and when I do it's only after thoroughly putting a product through the ringer. I purchased the Virtuoso in Fall of 2012. A small fits me perfectly 5'10 135lbs. The sleeve and back was the perfect length with room to put it on over layers when belaying. Since then it has been used and abused at least monthly and daily for at least 6 months out of each year without a single washing (gross I know) I think it's ready to be reviewed. I believe this puffy strikes a perfect balance between weight, cost, durability, and warmth. It's not too warm to be a fall belay jacket, yet with proper layering has handled winter ascents in the Rockies like a champ. It packs small enough to always bring with you, yet keeps you toasty warm when needed. The hood perfectly fits over a helmet and the neck zips up comfortably. In 3 years of abuse, I have patched 3 holes that were my entirely my fault (never trust someone who has a puffy without patches). It still has maintained it's loft. None of the threads in the baffling have come loose and the zipper has only shown minor wear. The velcro on the cuff is also still working fine. The only issue I have with mine is that the stuff pocket is so small it barely fits the jacket and results in a rock hard pillow. This has been fixed in current models. I even liked the Virtuoso so much, I bought one for my wife who also lives in hers. The perfect puffy for the perfect price.
Date published: 2016-01-04
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_10098766, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw

This jacket is listed as "hip length"--how long is a L in the back? Also, I like to wear a light fleece jacket under down--are the sleeves roomy enough? I find my Mountain Hardware jackets are too tight in the sleeves for anything substantial underneath.

Asked by: Glacier Gus
Hey there, Thanks for reaching out to us! In size L, the Outdoor Research Virtuoso Hoody's back measure's in at 32 in. As for the sleeves, it's hard to say. It is a regular fit jacket and if you plan on having substantial layers underneath, you might consider going up a size you. I hope this has helped!
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2015-12-17
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_en_US, sid_10098766, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Outdoor Research Men's Jackets

SIZE S M L XL XXL
Chest 37" 40" 43" 46" 49"
Waist 29" 32" 35" 38" 41"
Hip 36" 39" 42" 45" 48"

HOW to MEASURE
Chest / Bust: Measure under your arms around the fullest part of your chest.

Waist: Measure around your natural waistline, keeping the tape a bit loose.

Hip: Measure around the fullest part of your body at the top or your leg.

OUTDOOR RESEARCH FIT GUIDE
TRIM FIT: Close-cut apparel that moves with the wearer.

STANDARD FIT: A looser fit for comfor in both technical and causal apparel.

RELAXED FIT: Baggy-cut layers designed for the wearer to move within.

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
 
$
Shopping Cart