La Sportiva Makalu Boot

La Sportiva Makalu Boot

La Sportiva Makalu Boot is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 66.
  • y_2017, m_7, d_23, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_65
  • loc_en_US, sid_10007698, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.5 Star Rating
4.5
$215.96 - $305.00
up to 20% off

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Mens Mountaineering Boots

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10007698

The La Sportiva Makalu Boot is a classic leather boot for getting into the mountains. The full steel shank provides sturdy support during general mountaineering trips and heavy backpacking, so you can take on the changing terrain of the mountains. The 3mm Idro-Perwanger Roughout Leather is super durable and holds up to years of abuse while the Dry-Best® lining wicks sweat to keep your feet dry and comfortable. The burly Vibram rubber rand at the toe adds to durability so you can continue kicking steps into the snow. The boot even accepts automatic crampons for icier adventures. Complete with Skywalk® MPE outsole, you'll be gripping terrain easily with each forward step.

FEATURES of the La Sportiva Makalu Boot

  • MtnFlex insole and full steel shank for automatic crampon compatibility
  • Idro-Perwanger Leather upper is durable and extremely water repellent while still remaining breathable
  • Rollerball hardware incorporates steel roller ball eyelets and locking D-rings for effortless and precise tensioning of boot laces. for independent fit
  • Dry-Best® lining transports moisture away from the skin to keep you cool, dry and comfortable
  • Burly rough out leather uppers for years of abuse
  • Ideal for general mountaineering and heavy backpacking
  • SBR Aircushion midsole features a honeycomb heel grid that flexes on impact to provide the ultimate comfort

- + Product Specifications
Weight: 34.57 oz
Footwear Height: Mid
Outsole: Skywalk MPE
Upper: 3 mm Idro-Perwanger Roughout Leather,Vibram rubber rand, Removable EZ Flex tongue with Dry-Best lining
Terrain: Mountain
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Midsole: SBR Aircushion
Gender: Mens
Features: Cushioned
Best Use: Mountaineering and Alpine, Trekking
Footwear Closure: Lace-up
Toe Coverage: Closed Toe
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable boot and has good ankle support
Date published: 2017-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Boot Excellent climbing boot. I am a journeyman lineman that climbs poles. The are the most comfortable boot I have ever climbed in. The cushioning and durability of these boots are second to none.
Date published: 2017-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good boots I'm a tree climber Just got the boots love them hard to brake in
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sexy boots These boots are the best that I have owned because they have great support and great aesthetics.
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best All-around Mountaineering shoe ever made! The Makalu has been the standard for serious adventures, climbers, trekkers, backpackers, mountaineers...etc...for the last 2 decades. It is a well conceived boot that as changed some over the last 20-30 years, but has stuck to the basics that make it great. Quality materials, good construction, and simple design. As with all things, the product is dependent on user and usage. With extreme heavy usage, i have to get mine resoled every 3-4 years. Light to medium usage in moderate weather conditions would probably give you an extra 2-3 years before resole. Enjoy this great boot - and remember....Comfort is earned in this boot!
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot This boot is great. I'm a lineman and had bought a pair in 2012. Went to another climbing boot when I finally wore a hole in the sole of my macula's and regretted it right away. Needless to say I didn't wear those boots for too long before purchasing these again.
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not great. I got these an I love them but the back of the boot just kills my calf an the tougen pushes against your foot but over all its a great boot
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best climbing boot I've ever owned!!! I'm a Power Lineman who is all ways climbing steel towers and utility poles. These boots are the best for the lineman who spends extended periods climbing. This is my Fifth pair and I will continue to purchase these boots throughout my career. I recommend the Makalu to all of my coworkers.
Date published: 2016-10-12
  • y_2017, m_7, d_23, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_65
  • loc_en_US, sid_10007698, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw

I am a lineman. I climb power poles. need a boot that is waterproof, steal shank all the way across, and has a steal or composite toe. I heard a lot of good things about your boots and hoping you can help me find the right boot. Thanks Jeff

Asked by: Jeff
jeff........won't last for you ............ get the old style REAL and heavy boots...........Galibier sg..........heavy, but will last long after you have broken in
Answered by: banplasticandchinacrap
Date published: 2016-08-21

What kind of waterproofing should I use on these boots?  I have heard Nikwax but just wanted to hear another opinion.

Asked by: Rick
Hiya Rick, thanks for your question! There are generic brands like Scotchgard and KIWI on the market. At the moment, we only carry Nikwax and Ugg waterproofing products. I personally prefer Nikwax waterproofing products.... they're lightweight, breathable and they don't leave a tacky film. Additionally, the Nikwax company has made a commitment to protecting our environment. Bonus! I'm sorry I don't have any recommendations!
Answered by: Alice in Wanderland
Date published: 2017-01-22

do these boots have any ASTM ratings ?

Asked by: Rednex
Hiya, thanks for the question! Sorry, there is no ASTM rating for this boot. La Sportiva boots aren't safety rated by an organization or classified as such. Hope this helps!
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-10-06
  • y_2017, m_7, d_23, h_13CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_3
  • loc_en_US, sid_10007698, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Men's Footwear Size Conversion Chart
EURO SIZE 34 34.5 35 35.5 36 36.5 37 37.5 38 38.5
US Size 2.5 3 3.5 4 4.5 4.5+ 5 5.5 6 6.5
 
EURO SIZE (cont.) 39 39.5 40 40.5 41 41.5 42 42.5 43 43.5
US Size 6.5+ 7 7.5 8 8.5 8.5+ 9 9.5 10 10.5
 
EURO SIZE (cont.) 44 44.5 45 45.5 46 46.5 47 47.5 48 -
US Size 10.5+ 11 11.5 12 12.5 12.5+ 13 13.5 14 -
LA SPORTIVA FIT GUIDE and INFO

La Sportiva footwear is built and offered on European half sizes, which are smaller increments than US half sizes. This gives them four extra sizes per size run, and ultimately gives you a better fit.

Please review La Sportiva's size conversion chart above to help determine your ideal size. Below you will find additional information about how to fit and break in the different styles of La Sportiva footwear, which will also help guide you to the correct size.

ROCK CLIMBING SHOES:
• As a general rule soft shoes like climbing shoes require a tighter fit, or about two to three sizes smaller than your street shoe size.
• La Sportiva recommends you fit your trad climbing shoes one to two sizes under your street shoe size.
• La Sportiva offers a lot of lasts, and each offers a different fit and feel. Remember to factor in potential stretching.
• Unlined slip-lasted shoes tend to stretch a bit more than lined shoes, or about one full size.
• Lined shoes stretch about a half size.

ROCK CLIMBING SHOE FIT SYSTEMS:
• PERFORMANCE FIT - offers a high performance fit and a downturned last.
• TECH FIT - a more technical fit and a last with neutral profile.
• COMFORT FIT - a comfortable fit and a last with more volume and a neutral profile.

HIKING, BACKPACKING and MOUNTAINEERING BOOTS:
• Find your US Size in the guide above, then find the Euro Size conversion and add one half size.
• The ideal size holds your toes ever so slightly away from the front of the boot while the lacing system is snug across the top of your arch.
• If you can try to boots on beforehand, make sure you wear the same size and weight socks you would typically wear with the boots, and any orthotics or custom footbeds you use.
• It is ideal to fit boots later in the day since feet are prone to swell slightly as a day progresses.
• Wear your boots indoors only until you are confident about the fit.
• Your foot should feel snug (not tight) from the arch back into the heel pocket with just a minimum lift as you walk. If your heel lifts make sure the lacing is snug and not too loose.
• Your toes should NOT touch the front of the boot, but when you kick the toe into the floor, you should know where the front of the boot is. You want just enough room to wiggle your toes.
• If your toes or sides of your feet feel squished, most likely the width is too narrow and the boot will not work for you.
• If your toes touch the front of the boot, most likely it is too short and you need the next half size up.
• Make sure to keep all original packaging that came with your boots until you are sure that you are happy with your purchase.

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart