Outdoor Research Sonic Balaclava
Black

Outdoor Research Sonic Balaclava

Outdoor Research Sonic Balaclava is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 18.
  • y_2017, m_11, d_23, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_10035219, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.4 Star Rating
4.4
$32.25   $43.00
25% off

Select a Size Select a Color Size Guide

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using a ship speed of 1 Day, 2 Days, or 3 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 4-6 Day ship speed will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we will special-order the product for you, and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is large and can only be shipped using 4-6 Day ship speed. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for standard shipping methods, and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to inspect, sign, and accept delivery, so we will call you to schedule delivery.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat or call us at 877-666-7352.

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $0.81 in Reward Dollars
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200.00 jacket on Moosejaw.com, you can use MJ$20.00 on your next order toward that sweet Moosejaw hoody you’ve been eyeballin.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10035219

The Sonic Balaclava by Outdoor Research. Deflect cold air with the wind protection of a shell and the warm feel of fleece in this unique balaclava design. The windproof, vapor permeable Windstopper Technical Fleece offers maximum winter protection while allowing you to breathe easy through a mesh breathing port. Polartec Wind Pro ear panels allow you to easily hear your team.

FEATURES of the Outdoor Research Sonic Balaclava

  • Polartec Wind Pro Ear Panels Allow Better Hearing
  • Flat-Seam Construciton
  • Contoured Shape
  • Mesh Breathing Port
  • spandex Trim

- + Product Specifications
Primary Clothing Fabric: Polyester
Gender: Mens, Unisex
Features: Packable, Windproof, GORE WINDSTOPPER
Weight: 2.4 oz
Fabric Details: 90 % Polyester, 10 % Spandex
Product Technology: GORE Windstopper, Polartec Windbloc, Polartec Wind Pro
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Best Use: Casual, Snowsports
Fit Type: Relaxed Fit
GORE WINDSTOPPER

GORE WINDSTOPPER
WINDSTOPPER fabrics utilize an ultra-light, ultra-thin membrane to block wind while allowing interior moisture vapor to escape. This will keep your body and your inner layers dry and comfortable.

Polartec Windbloc

Polartec Windbloc
Polartec Windbloc is designed to block 100% of wind. The fabric is very durable, stretchy, protective and warm.

Check Out All Windbloc Products >

Polartec Wind Pro

Polartec Wind Pro
The lightweight warmth of Polartec Wind Pro allows it to function as both a high performance outer layer, or a comfy insulating layer. Its resistance to wind and water further increases the versatility. All of that in a durable package.

Check Out All Wind Pro Products >

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety Equipment Of all the gear I've used, traded, and discarded over the decades, the Sonic Balaclava remains. After more than 20 years it still fits well and functions perfectly. It's always in my pack, an easy 2.5 oz of safety equipment.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great piece of kit I have had this balaclava for many years. This is the best balaclava I have used. It is warm and blocks the wind perfectly. The mesh mouth area vents moisture well. The only down side for me is that it tends to ride up around the base of my neck during activity allowing a little cold air at the back of the neck. This is remedied with a neck gaiter but it adds bulk. A small fleece gaiter at he bottom of this piece would make it perfect.
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from bomber wind and cold protection Outdoor Researchメs Sonic Balaclava is a must have for winter adventures that are riddled with harsh wind, and severe cold. I have used this balaclava while winter fat-tire biking in temps that were in the low teens. I wore it under a helmet, and there were actual icicles coming off this thing around the nose and mouth area by the time I was done riding. The top features of this balaclava are: the Gore Windstopper fabric, the non-inhibiting breathing mesh cover over the mouth, and just the right amount of coverage and protection over the nose.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more wind burned cheeks. Does as advertised, fits great and I find my googles or glasses don't fog up as much compared to a normal balaclava. I also like the fact that the mouth piece doesn't get that wet soggy feel from when your breathing hard and moisture builds up.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Arctic Gear I am a Polar Expedition Guide. I had purchased a cheap Balaclava online for my Arctic expedition last year. it loose, bulky, was not wind resistant and did little to keep me warm. This year I went for the OR Sonic Balaclava and it was money well spent. I just wish I had it last year, too! It was not loose or bulky and kept me warm and toasty! For the ultimate in head warmth and protection on extra cold days I wore it with the OR Frostline Hat. With the face flap on the hat across my face, in addition to the balaclava I was happy, warm and dry in spite of the Arctic blasts!
Date published: 2016-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great piece of kit Great functional design, easy to flip back and wear as a neck warmer or just pull down under the chin when it gets a bit warm. This first turned me on to OR.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Need Another Color Option This is my regular go-to balaclava. It's warm, comfortable, and completely prevents the wind from hitting your face. Flat seams prevent chaffing and the mesh at the mouth is perfectly suited for heavy or light breathing. I only gave 4 stars because as much as I enjoy dressing up like a ninja, I do like to switch it up and not look like a guy every once in a while. Green, blue, purple, orange, ANY color besides just the "standard" black would be AMAZING! Thanks OR for always producing great products!
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use while hunting and under a motorcycle helmet I bought this to keep my face warm with an open-face motorcycle helmet, and have found excellent use for it while coyote hunting in -0-degree, blizzard conditions. The Polartec fleece is fantastic, and the clever cut and fabric of the hearing panels and breathing port allow me to hear and breathe freely without suffering the cold on my lips & ears.
Date published: 2015-12-22
  • y_2017, m_11, d_23, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_10035219, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Men's Outerwear & Clothing
SIZE Small Medium Large XL XXL
Chest 37" 40" 43" 46" 49"
Waist 29" 32" 35" 38" 41"
Hips 36" 39" 42" 45" 48"
Inseam 31" 32" 33" 34" 35"

• Please note that all the sizing info provided is based on body measurements, and NOT garment sizes. Outdoor Research adjust the garment for intended fit and intended use.

Men's Sportswear Bottoms
SIZE 30 32 34 36 38
Waist 30" 32" 34" 36" 38"
Hips 37" 39" 41" 43" 45"
Inseam (Short) 29" 30" 31" -
Inseam (Regular) 31" 32" 33" 34"
Inseam (Long) - 34" 35" -

• Please note that all the sizing info provided is based on body measurements, and NOT garment sizes. Outdoor Research adjust the garment for intended fit and intended use.

Men's Gloves
SIZE X-Small Small / 7 Medium / 8 Large / 9 XL / 10
Circumference - 7 - 7.75" 8 - 8.5" 9 - 9.5" 9.5 - 10" +
Length - 6.5 - 7" 7.5 - 8" 8.5 - 9" 9 - 9.5" +
 
UNISEX SIZE XS Small Medium Large XL
Circumference 6.5 - 7.25" 7.25 - 8" 8 - 8.5" 8.5 - 9.5"+ 9.5 - 10" +
Length 6.5 - 7.25" 7.25 - 8" 8 - 8.5" 8.5 - 9.5" + 9.5 - 10" +
Men's Hats
SIZE 1 Size Small S / M Medium Large L / XL XL
USA Size 6.75 - 7.625" 6.75 - 7" 6.75 - 25 - 7 1/8" 7.125 - 7.25" 7.375 - 7.5" 7.375 - 7.625" 7.625 - 7.875"
Inches 22.5 - 24" 21.5 - 22" 21.5 - 22.875" 22.25 - 22.875" 23 - 23.625" 23 - 24" 23.875 - 24"
Measuring Guide & Fit Styles

OUTDOOR RESEARCH MEASURING GUIDE
To get the most accurate measurement, use a flexible measuring tape and use the measuring guide info below.

• CHEST / BUST - measure under your arms around the fullest part of your chest.

• WAIST - measure around your natural waistline, keeping the tape a bit loose.

• HIPS - measure around the fullest part of your body at the top of your legs.

• INSEAM - choose a pair of pants that fits you well and is true to size, hitting at the top of the foot. Measure the inseam from crotch seam to the bottom of the hem.

• GLOVES - for the circumference measure around a flat hand at the knuckles, but do NOT include the thumb. For the hand length measure your hand from the base of your palm to the end of your middle finger. Use the larger of the two measurements to select your OR glove size.

• HATS - measure around your head where the headwear would be expected to fit comfortably.


OUTDOOR RESEARCH FIT STYLES
The OR fit styles detailed below are determined by intended usage and sport-specific design. All OR outerwear and apparel is categorized into one of these fit styles. You can find more info about the fit of a style in the product FEATURES or SPECIFICATIONS.

• TRIM FIT - close-cut apparel that moves with the wearer.

• STANDARD FIT - a looser fit for comfort in both technical and casual apparel.

• RELAXED FIT - baggy-cut layers designed for the wearer to move within.

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and your order ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
 
$
Shopping Cart