Outdoor Research Bug Bivy
Black
Black

Outdoor Research Bug Bivy

Outdoor Research Bug Bivy is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 20.
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_10010661, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4 Star Rating
4.0
$85.00

Select a Size Select a Color Size Guide
This Item SHIPS FREE

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using Ship Speeds of 1-5 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 5-10 day shipping will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we'll special-order the product for you and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and can only be shipped via 4-5 Day Shipping. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to accept delivery so we will call to schedule.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $8.50 in Reward Dollars
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200.00 jacket on Moosejaw.com, you can use MJ$20.00 on your next order toward that sweet Moosejaw hoody you’ve been eyeballin.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10010661

The Bug Bivy by Outdoor Research. The Bug Bivy provides complete insect protection through the night. A single pole holds the mesh away from your face, keeping the bugs at a distance. The zipper opening seals mosquitoes and other small insects out. A waterproof floor keeps moist ground from soaking through your bag as you sleep.

FEATURES of the Outdoor Research Bug Bivy

  • No-see-um mesh netting
  • Durable, waterproof Hydroseal coated floor
  • Single overhead shock-corded Delrin pole
  • Sleeping pad straps
  • End-opening zipper
  • Three stake loops, two guy line loops
  • Small internal mesh pocket

- + Product Specifications
Features: Free Standing
Weight: 16 oz
Sleep Capacity: 1
Seasons: 3-Season
Number of Doors: 1
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Best Use: Backpacking
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the heat of the desert. I've used this bivy in the desert for hot summer trips. It's (obviously) super ventilated and keeps the bugs off, but is heavier than many ultra-light bivies. I like that it's durable and I don't feel constricted in it because the top stretches just enough. I LOVE having the bivy off my face...especially in the heat. Could be paired well with a tarp.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job. Must have for summer in Texas. I spent the night on a sandbar in the middle of the Colorado River in Texas. The bugs were think and it was hot. Did the job so I could sleep.
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for hot nights I've used this bivy a few times in the back of my truck on last minute decisions for spending a night some where and its great. This and a sleeping pad with a light blanket or sleeping bag and your set. its perfect for super warm and sticky nights as air flows through it no problem. The only beef I have with this bivy is if you don't have a blanket or sleeping bag, keeping the mesh off your lower extremities is impossible and that doesn't help what so ever when avoiding bug bites. Otherwise this product rolls up small and weighs little.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I have used the Bug Bivy over the course of 3 years in various climates across the U.S. and in a number of developing nations in Africa and the Middle East. It is a simplistic, lightweight piece of gear that has performed as one would hope. Coupled with a tarp in hot/humid environments susceptible to the occasional rainfall a great multi-purpose set-up can be had. If you are not sleeping with a covering of some sort (blanket or sleeping bag) there is potential for your limbs to make contact with the side of the bivy and be susceptible to particularly determined vectors. Additionally, on occasion the hoop will fall over. This can be mitigated by using stakes on the bivy to guy-out the hoop and keep it upright should one desire. While the product is definitely durable my one complaint is that the Velcro strap that secures the pole in its sleeve can stick to the mosquito netting and create holes if one is not careful. One possible solution to this is having the fabric extend up the sides on the body of the bivy creating not only the bathtub effect but also protecting the lower portion of the mosquito netting from the Velcro. In the end, this is a small issue that can be easily mitigated by the user. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for simple stand-alone bug protection. It has slowly proliferated amongst my team and often draws the interest of others.
Date published: 2016-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for summer camping I love this Bivy. Plenty of room and easy to get in and out. The floor managed to keep dry on wet ground. And the netting kept the mosquitos out. And the entire thing folds up nicely in my pack
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality bug zapper The OR Bug Bivy is the summer solution Iメve been looking for. Tucked into this baby with a tarp over it and youメve got the best of all worlds, a view, a breeze, and a bug free night. Iメm 6メ and 175 lbs and it feels pretty roomy inside, enough room for me to get dressed/undressed in, which is pretty roomy for a bivy. One time I must have had my knee pressed against the side netting while sleeping and woke up to 5 bites in the space of a nickel on my knee, other than that itメs been great. Thereメs lots of headroom, enough to keep the netting well off of your face. I've had no problems with the delrin hoop falling over. Peaceful easy sleeping for one pound, well worth it, although I'd gladly carry another few ounces for a solution to keep the lower part of the bivy off your body. Since you're probably using this when it's hot most people won't be wearing much under the net so another hoop or even just a sewn loop you could tie up to something would be a help in that department. Overall, it's well made and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a lightweight bug free hot weather solution. Bill Dudley OR Grassroots Athlete
Date published: 2015-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Many pros and cons to the Bug Bivy With a down bag and an airpad inside the bivy, the mesh may press down around the waist and reduce the loft of the down. It can also be difficult to configure a quilt becuase of the limited space--which is just barely ample. However, the materials are top notch. The footprint is rubbery and dependable, the mesh is full proof and the roll bar is extremely light. The entire unit is very small in the pack--about the size of a soft ball. The footprint does suffer from persipitation if the sleeper ditches the roll bar and the airpad and lets the bottom become the top--it can get very wet inside--the same as a single wall tent or nylon bivy. The footprint also feels rubbery agains the skin--it can't be used à la mode.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lightweight Greatness I use my Bug Bivy 4-5 days a week, working on a trail crew. Both for work and pleasure this bivy hasn't let me down. You will barley notice it in your pack. Its great to keep the creepy crawlers out and to throw in your daypack when headed into mosquito country, to have lunch in. This along with a tarp is the ultimate lightweight setup for spring and summer camping. The only trouble i've encountered is getting in and out of with ease, for those mid-night nature calls it can be difficult to shimmy out of, but what bivy is. Overall, this is ideal for simple, minimal camping weather it's backcountry, frontcountry, or beach camping.
Date published: 2012-12-21
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_10010661, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
 
$
Shopping Cart