Outdoor Research Advanced Bivy
Alpenglow

Outdoor Research Advanced Bivy

Outdoor Research Advanced Bivy is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 24.
  • y_2017, m_11, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_10021599, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.7 Star Rating
4.7
From $224.25   $325.00
up to 25% off

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Tents

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10021599

The Outdoor Research Advanced Bivy is a shelter for one during lightweight backcountry trips. The Advanced Bivy reduces weight for those that don't need the space of a full tent. The spacious bivy increases space for a large sleeping pad and includes a dual-pole system with various configurations. Extra head space increases breathability and reduces the claustraphobic feeling. Pop the Gore-Tex Respiration Positive 3L main fabric open on warm nights to reveal a bug net that blocks creepy crawlies as you count the stars and remember constellations. The anti-fungal coating on the floor holds up for use after use on damp grounds.

FEATURES of the Outdoor Research Advanced Bivy

  • Waterproof
  • Highly-breathable Gore-Tex fabric body
  • Durable Hydroseal coated floor
  • Anti-fungal coating on floor
  • Fully taped seams
  • Overhead and circumferential dual Delrin pole system
  • Pole system allows multiple configurations for opening
  • Removable no-see-um netting covers opening
  • Sleeping pad straps
  • Sized to fit thicker mats
  • High-volume toe-end with zippered vent
  • Toeend zipper with wide storm flap
  • Five stake loops
  • Three guy line loops
  • Small internal mesh pocket

- + Product Specifications
Features: Free Standing
Best Use: Mountaineering and Alpine
Weight: 39 oz
Sleep Capacity: 1
Seasons: 3-Season
Number of Doors: 1
Product Technology: GORE-TEX
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
GORE-TEX fabric technology

GORE-TEX®
Garments made with GORE-TEX® fabric are durably waterproof, windproof and highly breathable, providing reliable weather protection and maximum comfort for a wide range of activities. These garments keep your body dry by allowing perspiration vapor to escape so you remain cool during activity and warm during cool-down.

Check Out All GORE-TEX® Products >

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Lots of room on the inside to fit your air mattress and large sleeping bag. Im 6 foot tall and had room for myself and most of my things, ruck stayed outside. Was happy with how small it packed up after use (as you usually cant pack it as tightly as it comes in the package). Overall very happy and it made work buddies jealous!
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greta product. Very good piece of gear. I have used it on several hiking and paddling trips already. does everything I need it to.
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light, burly and dependable. Great product. I just took this bad boy winter camping and it did not let me down. You will have to add your own tent stakes and cordage, which is only needed in high wind or if you plan to leave your bivy set up. If you are setting up and going right to bed, its great as is. I also found this set up to be relatively spacious (5'10" 165lb). This could easily fit an extra large camp mattress, if I was car camping, so anything smaller is workable. I appreciate the extra room of the Advanced Bivy. I am a "go light" type and this bivy offers plenty of room to house my extra backcountry comfort gear along my sides and above my head. To me, the Advanced is worth the additional 5 ounces for spaciousness and dual pole system. Added bonus, the stuff sack is the same Gore-tex material as the bivy, so it can be a water proof ditty sack instead.
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Becoming my favorite shelter I've been out three times with this now, at 5 degrees, 15 degrees, and 40 degrees. I have eight tents, ranging from Hennessy hammocks to 4-season North Face Mountain 25 and this is becoming my go-to 4-season shelter. I sleep so well in this. It's warm and roomy and in winter there is no issues with leaving everything outside the tent. It's easy to set up. I am a little worried about the pole strength but no issues so far. If you camp in the winter, condensation is a fact of life so no one should ever complain about condensation. You are likely to have some condensation inside of this. It's a small price to pay for such a great night's sleep. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great piece of kit Light and spacious, this legendary piece of kit is the ultimate yardstick in the bivy arena. Being 5 ft 10 I can easily stick in a pair of boots and a 40L backpack by the opening and comfortably fit inside (I would say that for someone 6 ft tall it would still be OK but try for yourself). Spreading gear along one of the sides is also an immediate solution so unless one is backpacking heavy (which defies the purpose of using a bivy) there really is no need to expose gear to the elements, specially when it gets rough. Also, with feet and head vents I can't imagine anyone ever running into condensation issues; after all it's made of Respiration Positive Gore-Tex. As a suggestion I would recommend stating in the instructions that in the "Closed" bivy setting, the 5-section pole should perhaps be disconnected from the ingenious interior snaps so as to avoid putting unnecessary strain at the pole ends.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product that works as advertised I'm a backpacker and a motorbike travel enduro camper... Nothing monumental, but it's easy to set up and take down. Works as advertised. Relatively light and packs small. I've not had problems with set-up, tear own, zippers, condensation, or anything else. I like this system for a solo attack on anything you might consider. I've looked at other solutions, but haven't come up with anything that makes me want to change direction.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent bivy needs minor adjustments received this bivy from OR last month have tried it out on 3 occasions now. first night out was up the mountain mild drizzly conditions and the bivy performed excellent as far as keeping me dry and very warm. only thing that annoyed me was the 2 pole system as many other reviewers have mentioned doesnt stay in the position you want it to. condensation was nill quality of the product is excellent. 2nd night out was in torrential downpour had the bivy done up almost all the way. temperature was approx 5deg Celcius woke up in the morning with just a minimal amount of condensation on the pole liners but nothing anywhere else. 3rd night out was in minus 3 conditions with light slow bag performed excellent warm dry again only minimal condensation on the pole liners. things i found annoying are the pole end snaps sometimes pop off and the fact that the 2 pole system doesnt stay in place say if you want lots of ventilation it tends to fall down into the closed position. i minimized this by rigging up a line that held it open. 2nd annoyance is the stuff bag that it comes with is almost impossible to get the bivy bag into when youve been out in the field with it . would be nice if these were addressed by OR. i give this bivy bag a 5 star rating even with these minor annoyances.
Date published: 2015-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I've had tis for over a year not it its still working great. I love the compactness, its much better than bringing a tent. all i need camping is one of these and a hammock, and i switch off depending on the night.
Date published: 2013-03-17
  • y_2017, m_11, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_10021599, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
 
$
Shopping Cart