Osprey Talon 22 Pack
Onyx Black

Osprey Talon 22 Pack

Osprey Talon 22 Pack is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 29.
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238557, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.7 Star Rating
4.7
From $66.99   $99.95
up to 33% off

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Mens Backpacks

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10238557

The Osprey Talon 22 Pack is a lightweight backpack for all your day hiking, biking, and short adventure needs. The 22 is the middleweight of the Talon series, with 22 liters of space for carrying your water, extra layers, lunch, tools and snacks. The external hydration section separates your water reservoir from the rest of your stuffs, and the main section is panel loading so you can load and unload gear with ease. Slip the pack onto your back with the Biostretch™ harness and hipbelt and enjoy nature with comfort. A zippered stash pocket protects sunglasses when they're not on your face and the LidLock™ carries your helmet when you're not in the saddle. I guess it can carry your helmet when you are in the saddle, but I'm totally telling your mom on you.

FEATURES of the Osprey Talon 22 Pack

  • External hydration
  • Fixed gender specific Bio Stretch hipbelt
  • Gender specific Bio Stretch adjustable harness
  • Harness adjustment system
  • Lid Lock helmet attachment system
  • Panel load
  • Single ice tool attachment
  • Stow-On-The-Go trekking pole attachment
  • Stretch woven front pocket
  • Top stash pocket

- + Product Specifications
Gender: Mens
Features: Hip Belt, Ice Axe / Trekking Pole Loops, Sternum Strap, Adjustable Torso, Ventilated Back Panel, Hip Belt Pockets, Hydration Compatible
Best Use: Day Hiking, Multisport
Weight: 26 oz
Pack Capacity: 22 liters / 1343 cubic inches
Fabric Details: 70 x 100D Nylon Mini Shadowcheck
Frame Type: Internal
Pack Access: Top
Dimensions (Small / Medium): 20 x 10 x 9 in.
Dimensions (Medium / Large): 22 x 10 x 9 in.
Pack Capacity (Small / Medium): 20 liters / 1220 cubic inches
Pack Capacity (Medium / Large): 22 Liters / 1343 Cubic inches
Pack Fabric: Nylon
Weight Capacity: 20 lbs
Weight (Small / Medium): 1 lb 5 oz
Weight (Medium / Large): 1 lb 10 oz
Product Technology: Osprey Peripheral Frame, Osprey Framesheet, Osprey Airscape
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Hydration Capacity: Above 100 oz
Osprey Peripheral Frame

Osprey Peripheral Frame
Peripheral frame was a departure from the norm many years ago and it’s still the foundation of our gear hauling packs. A wire frame runs along the outside of the backpanel directly connecting the upper load lifters and the central core of the pack to the hipbelt to transition and spread the load. Allowing natural torsional movement, effective adjustable torsos, and different load range and backpanel builds makes this suspension design truly innovative.

Check Out All Peripheral Frame Products >

Osprey Framesheet

Osprey Framesheet
Whether connected to a peripheral frame on a big load carrier or as a standalone suspension on a day pack, a well-designed framesheet effectively spreads and transitions the loads across the entire body to the harness and hipbelt. With different material and stay options Osprey can make sure each individual pack has the right load carry for its intended use.

Check Out All Framesheet Products >

Osprey Airscape

Osprey Airscape
Osprey's AirScape™ mesh covered ridge foam backpanels set a new standard in the industry. With its ability to keep the weight close, provide cushion, allow ventilation and add load carry is quite a list of needs from this unassuming backpanel. It successfully accomplished all of that in a way that allows it to be used in the large gear hauling packs and lightweight day hiking packs.

Check Out All Airscape Products >

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best pack I've ever owned. 2017 Osprey Talon Med/Lg (22L): This is the best pack that I have ever owned. It has ample volume for a day hike, even in winter. Previous packs that I have used had several separate compartments, which seemed like an attractive feature at the time, but the single compartment in the Talon allows for much more efficient packing (smaller items can be organized in see-through bags). The stow-on-the-go attachments for hiking poles function perfectly while hiking and the elastic loops on the shoulder straps accommodate a hydration tube, nicely. Best of all, is the suspension system- the pack feels like it's glued to your back when the hip belt is snug. It also effectively transfers part of the load to your hips. For scrambling or cross country skiing, this will make a huge difference. So why do I only give it 4 stars- because nowhere on the website or the information that comes with the pack does it inform you that the suspension system is adjustable! The ability to adjust the distance between the shoulder straps and the hip belt allows a near perfect fit and this is not a common feature that in day-packs. While the Osprey website provides a procedure for selecting the size of the pack, it did not work well for me. The torso length that I measured was 17" and I ordered the wrong size (Sm/Md)- I am 6' tall and the Med/Lg is perfect. The site also lists the maximum hip size22L as 50"- I have a 37" waist and there is only about 5" of strap remaining when the hip belt is snug. The Osprey sales team should fix this.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Water bottles can be retreived and replced while wearng. I own both the 33 and the 22. I've read a few reviews that claim water bottles can't be retrieved and/or replaced while wearing either of these packs. I am 6' 2" and weigh 220 pounds. I'm not particularly flexible but I can easily grasp and replace water bottles (either side of the pack) while wearing the packs. So if that's important to you, try the bag before you eliminate it from consideration.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Terrible design Ordered this product based on it's size as I wanted something larger than my 14L hydration pack, but smaller than my 38L Kestrel. I am a professional resource specialist, and also contract as a naturalist guide doing interpretation in National Parks throughout the West. I currently own 8 different Osprey products including backpacking backpacks, daypacks, messenger bags, and a hydration pack. I think Osprey is a great company, but I couldn't believe my eyes when I tried on this pack, and found that the way the shoulder straps are attached, they render the nice-sized waist-belt pockets completely unusable. You'd have to take off your shoulder strap in order to access the waistbelt pockets. This is an extremely poor design and a major flaw in an expensive daypack. Also, I am an average-sized athletic female (5'8", 145#), wearing a S/M in a unisex Osprey and the waistbelt on this back has no more than 3" of surplus on either side. If I was a few pounds heavier or wearing winter clothes, the waistbelt wouldn't fit, yet the chest strap has so much extra webbing, it's long enough to fly up and strike my face in the wind. Osprey definitely needs a redo on this model. Big loser. Probably the first time I've written a negative review for an Osprey product.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pack! This was purchased at my local outdoor store in NJ. I purchased this because I was using an incredibly old pack and couldn't take the stress on my shoulders when mountain biking any longer. I ended up putting much more weight into this pack than in my previous pack, and the difference was night & day. With the addition of this pack, I have increased the distances I can travel exponentially and this has truly made a difference in almost every aspect of my "adventures." I really am so impressed by this company and their dedication to their consumers' comfort and overall happiness in the end. There was definitely a reason why the employee recommended this brand. I am very happy that I decided to spend more than I initially intended to since this has made such a difference for me. I highly recommend this to anyone.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So many features! This pack is the pack that keeps on giving! It always has more room than you think, and the exact tool for the job. From storin tracking poles, lunch, or extra layers, this pack has it all. From a skiing, climbing, biking, or hiking perspective, it gets the job done, and will do so for a long time!
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't ever buy anything else..... In my line of work I travel all over the place I switch from public transportation to a personal vehicle then get on my mountain bike my Talon 22 goes everywhere I go I use it for all my luggage needs and the thing has never failed me I'm telling you I put this back through hell and it just keeps on Keepin On I tell everybody there's no Better Bag Company it is definitely a conversation piece amongst non-believers and people who have never had the superb privilege to have used one of these packs. I never stop promoting this company I am moving marketing daydream I could not say enough about this company I'm on my second Talon 22 and I push this back to limit they did not manufacture this bag to put through such horrendous conditions and I believe they outdid themselves
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tough bag!! I bought one of these before I started my national parks tour this spring and it has been awesome. So awesome I have bought 3 more for friends and family members.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Pack in it's size I own a total of (4) packs (2 of them are Osprey packs). The Talon 22 is by far my favorite when it comes to long day hikes. Plenty of room for anything you might need for this duration of hiking. It is very comfortable to wear all day. Packs from some other brands are a lot more expensive, with less features. I highly recommend the Osprey 22 Pack..... Like I mentioned above.... this IS my favorite pack..
Date published: 2016-11-25
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238557, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw

Is this pack at least semi-waterproof?

Asked by: AnnieM
Hiya, thanks for your question! This pack is not water resistant. We recommend either treating it with a spray-on or wash in product like Nikwax or purchasing the raincover. Hope this helps! Nikwax Products: http://www.moosejaw.com/moosejaw/shop/SearchDisplay?searchTerm=nikwax&categoryId=&cmCat=-10020&storeId=10208&catalogId=10000001&langId=-1&pageSize=48&beginIndex=0&sType=SimpleSearch&resultCatEntryType=2&showResultsPage=true&searchSource=Q&pageView=&isFreeSearch=true Raincover: http://www.moosejaw.com/moosejaw/shop/product_Osprey-Ultralight-Raincover_10270427_10208_10000001_-1_
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-09-29

"If you're seriously concerned with sweat, though, you might want to consider a pack with a contact suspension system similar to Osprey's Anti Gravity system." Would the Deuter AirLite 22's ventilation system be similar to Osprey's Anti-Gravity system?

Asked by: Sam Gold
Hey there! Thanks for reaching out to us! You bring up an excellent question, so let's get to it! While the Osprey Airscape suspension is solid, their Anti-Gravity system would be more comparable to the Deuter AirLite 22's ventilation system. Hope this helps you out! Crazy hugs, yo.
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-06-26

what size hydration reservoir do you recommend for this pack? Large size Talon 22

Asked by: Maniac
Hiya, thanks for your question! The hydration sleeve on this pack can fit a 2L or 3L reservoir. We recommend the Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir. You can find that here: http://www.moosejaw.com/moosejaw/shop/product_Osprey-Hydraulics-Reservoir_10304187_10208_10000001_-1_ Hope this helps!
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-08-25

Sweaty back is something I'm trying diligently to reduce/eliminate. Does the air ventilation system on the Talon 22 live up to it's billing?

Asked by: Sam Gold
Hey there, If you're looking for a pack with great back ventilation, the Talon 22 would be a great option. It utilizes Osprey's Airscape suspension system, which is comfortable while allowing air to move away from your back, helping to eliminate the "sweaty back" issue. If you're seriously concerned with sweat, though, you might want to consider a pack with a contact suspension system similar to Osprey's Anti Gravity system.
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-06-25
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_4
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238557, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Men's Packs
PACK SIZE One Size X-Small Small Medium Large X-Large S / M M / L
Xenith - - - 18 - 21 20 - 23 22 - 25 - -
Aether (*excludes 60L) - - 16 - 19 18 - 21 20 - 23 22 - 25 - -
Volt 17 - 22 - - - - - - -
Atmos AG - - 16 - 19 18 - 21 20 - 23 - - -
Stratos, Manta AG (36L, 28L), Skarab (32L, 24L) - - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 21
Kestrel, Talon, Kamber - - - - - - 16 - 20 19 - 23
Volt - - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 21
Manta AG (20L), Skarab (18L), Raptor, Viper 17 - 21 - - - - - - -
Waypoint 17 - 22 - - - - - - -
Unisex Packs
PACK SIZE One Size X-Small Small Medium Large S / M M / L
Exos, Variant - - 16 - 19 18 - 21 20 - 23 - -
Escapist (*excludes 18L) - - - - - 16 - 20 19 - 23
Daylite 15 - 22 - - - - - -
Mutant, Radial, Farpoint - - - - - 15 - 19 18 - 22
Kamber Abs - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 22
Rev Available in S / M and M / L. Select the size that matches your typical apparel size.
Zealot 15 - 21 - - - - - -
Syncro - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 21
Women's Packs
PACK SIZE One Size X-Small Small Medium Large XS / S S / M
Xena, Aura AG - 14 - 17 16 - 19 18 - 21 - - -
Ariel (*excludes 75 / 55L) - 14 - 17 16 - 18 18 - 21 20 - 22* - -
Viva, Wayfarer 14 - 19 - - - - - -
Sirrus - - - - - 15 - 18 16 - 20
Kyte, Tempest, Kresta - - - - - 13 - 17 16 - 20
Mira AG (34L, 26L), Skimmer (30L, 22L) - 15 - 18 17 - 20 - - - -
Mira AG (18L) 15 - 18 - - - - - -
Skimmer (16L) 15 - 19 - - - - - -
Raven, Verve 14 - 18 - - - - - -
Kid Carriers + Kids' Packs
PACK SIZE One Size Age
Ace 75 14 - 19 11 - 18
Ace 50 13 - 18 8 - 14
Ace 38 11 - 15 6 - 11
Jet 18 13 - 17 8 +
Jet 12 11 - 15 5 +
Hydrajet 11 - 15 5 +
Moki 11 - 16 5 +
OSPREY MEASUREMENT GUIDE

Please note that the info provided above refers to the torso size each pack will fit, and NOT any dimensions of the pack. Below are some steps for how to get your torso length. You should probably have someone help take this measurement for you so it is accurate. And they might accidentally touch your butt.

HOW TO MEASURE TORSO LENGTH:
• Start at the iliac crest, which is the top of the hipbones on the side of your body. These act like a shelf for supporting a pack hipbelt.
• From this level on your spine, measure to the C7 vertebrae, the knobby bone at the base of your neck when you put your head down.
• Make sure you keep your back as straight as possible while measuring.
• This torso measurement determines what size Osprey pack you should carry. Refer to the size charts above to find your ideal size.
• If you are in between sizes, it is ideal to try them both on before ordering.

HOW TO MEASURE HIPBELT SIZE:
• Measure around your hips at your iliac crest, NOT your waist.
• A properly fitted hipbelt rides centered over the hipbones and needs to be very snug.
• The padded portion should wrap well around your hips, leaving a gap of 3 to 6 inches between the tips of the both hip pads when securely tightened.
• Refer to the Hipbelts size chart above to help determine your ideal Osprey pack size, but again, your torso length is what should determine your pack size, NOT the hipbelt.

- + Warranty Info

ALL MIGHTY GUARANTEE - Osprey's Lifetime Warranty

When Osprey celebrated their 35th anniversary in 2009 they launched The Osprey All Mighty Guarantee. What that means to you is ANY Osprey product purchased at ANY time is covered. Any product, any reason, any era - the all encompassing Osprey lifetime warranty ensures their dedication to superior design, craftsmanship and quality of their products is backed up by their actions to replace or repair a pack so it lasts a lifetime. Or two.

Here are some details.... Osprey will repair for any reason, free of charge, any damage or defect in their products, whether it was purchased back in 1974, or ordered right now from this site. If they are unable to perform a functional repair on your pack, they will happily replace it. Osprey proudly stands behind the All Mighty Guarantee, so much so that it bears the signature of company founder and head designer, Mike Pfotenhauer.

Some Osprey All Mighty Guarantee FAQs:

What do I do if my Osprey pack needs to be repaired?
If you live in the United States and need a repair done on your Osprey pack, you will first need to obtain a Return Authorization number. You can do this by reaching their Returns Department at 866-314-3130, or using the information that is provided with a new Osprey pack.

What do I do if I just need a replacement pack part like a buckle?
Give Osprey a call at 866-314-3130 and they will take care of you.

How long will it take?
You can tell Osprey you need the pack returned by a certain date when you request a Return Authorization number, and they will do their absolute best to meet that deadline.

What if my pack is super dirty and stinks?
Clean it before you send it to Osprey to get repaired. The real reason is that there is a law that says if your gear is too dirty or odiferous (smelly), Osprey is not allowed to repair it and will just return it to you.

Do I have to pay for shipping?
A little bit. You are responsible for the cost of shipping the pack to Osprey, and they will pay shipping to return the pack via UPS or FedEx. Osprey cannot be held responsible if packages get lost in transit, so make sure you get a tracking number when you ship your pack out. Also, if you use expedited shipping be sure to let Osprey know (866-314-3130). They, in turn, will give your pack priority processing and return it using a similar expedited shipping method.

Do I have to register my pack to take advantage of this incredible guarantee, and/or need to be the original owner of my Osprey pack?
No! Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee is truly ALL MIGHTY. If you own an Osprey pack that needs to be repaired they will repair or replace it.

JUST A HEADS UP: If your Osprey product is not repairable and is replaced, the original product will not be returned to you. They will try really really hard to repair your pack, but if they are unable to make a functional repair, they will replace it. For products that are no longer in production you will be contacted by Osprey to discuss replacement options.

All good answers. So what is NOT covered?
• Osprey program packs or any Osprey pack used by outdoor programs are ONLY covered under Osprey's Program Pack Warranty, NOT AMG.
• Size and/or fit issues. Make sure you buy a pack that fits. Check out the size guide on Osprey product pages for more info.
• Personal preferences like colors you don't like, style of the pack, or not enough/too much room in your pack. Check the product description, features, specifications, and size guide to make sure you are ordering the right pack for you.
• Third party Repairs or replacements. Send your Osprey pack to Osprey and Osprey only to get fixed. Easy as that. And don't try fixing things yourself.
• Cosmetic wear and tear including any reasonable aging of your pack that affects only the appearance and not the function of your pack. Be proud of those scars!
• B.A.M.G. (Before All Mighty Guarantee) Repair Work. The All Mighty Guarantee applies only to repairs requested on or after January 1, 2009.
• A Osprey Hydraulics reservoir is covered by a limited 1-year warranty, which is the reasonable lifespan of a reservoir. Pouring and storing of warm/hot or boiling water in your reservoir WILL VOID your warranty, so don't do that. Reservoirs are NOT designed to contain or handle liquids at temperature.

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
 
$
Shopping Cart