Osprey Aether 85 Pack
Bonsai Green
Bonsai Green
Bonsai Green

Osprey Aether 85 Pack

Osprey Aether 85 Pack is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 15.
  • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_10210078, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.9 Star Rating
4.9
$309.95

Select a Size Select a Color
FREE SHIPPING

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using Ship Speeds of 1-5 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 5-10 day shipping will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we'll special-order the product for you and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and can only be shipped via 4-5 Day Shipping. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to accept delivery so we will call to schedule.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $30.99 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200 jacket at Moosejaw.com, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on MoosejawRewards.com.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10210078

The Osprey Aether 85 Pack is a large pack for hitting the trails for 5 to 10 day adventures. The Aether 85 is the workhorse of the backpacking/hiking series, providing 85 liters of sheer space to lug your gear around in. The IsoForm4™ harness and IsoForm4CM™ hipbelt provide padding and comfort while transferring the weight to your hips. The pack is then littered with pockets, zippered and mesh, to help organize your gear. A sleeping bag compartment with divider, dual ice axe loops, sleeping pad straps, and J-Panel access so you can get into the center of your pack without disturbing the items at the bottom or top. If you're carrying lots of gear, the sturdy Aether 85 will hug everything against your back from camp to camp.

Products on Sale are Discontinued Styles or Colors.

FEATURES of the Osprey Aether 85 Pack

  • AddOn Attachment
  • Dual Access Side Pocket
  • Dual Ice Axe Loops
  • External Hydration Compatible
  • Front Stretch Mesh Pocket
  • Hipbelt Pocket
  • Inside Out Compression
  • J-Panel Access
  • Lumbar Pack
  • Red Compression Strap
  • Sleeping Bag Compartment
  • Sleeping Pad Straps
  • Top Pocket

- + Product Specifications
Pack Capacity (Small): 82 Liters / 5004 Cubic inches
Product Technology: Osprey Peripheral Frame, Osprey Custom Molding, Osprey Airscape
Dimensions (Medium): 37 x 14 x 16 in.
Dimensions (Small): 35 x 14 x 16 in.
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Fabric Details: 210D Nylon Dobby
Pack Capacity (Large): 88 Liters / 5370 Cubic inches
Pack Capacity (Medium): 85 Liters / 5187 Cubic inches
Weight: 77 oz
Weight (Extra Large): 5 lbs 4 oz
Weight (Large): 5 lbs
Weight (Medium): 4 lbs 13 oz
Weight (Small): 4 lbs 9 oz
Weight Capacity: 60 lbs
Dimensions: 37 x 14 x 16 in.
Dimensions (Large): 38 x 14 x 16 in.
Pack Capacity (Extra Large): 91 Liters / 5553 Cubic inches
Features: Detachable Lid, Load-Lifter Straps, Ventilated Back Panel, Compression Straps, Detachable Daypack, Hydration Compatible, Hip Belt, Hip Belt Pockets, Ice Axe / Trekking Pole Loops, Sternum Strap
Gender: Mens
Best Use: Hiking, Mountaineering and Alpine, Backpacking
Pack Capacity: 85 Liters / 5187 Cubic inches
Frame Type: Frameless
Hydration Capacity: Above 100 oz
Pack Access: Front
Osprey Peripheral Frame

Osprey Peripheral Frame
Peripheral frame was a departure from the norm many years ago and it’s still the foundation of our gear hauling packs. A wire frame runs along the outside of the backpanel directly connecting the upper load lifters and the central core of the pack to the hipbelt to transition and spread the load. Allowing natural torsional movement, effective adjustable torsos, and different load range and backpanel builds makes this suspension design truly innovative.

Check Out All Peripheral Frame Products >

Osprey Custom Molding

Osprey Custom Molding
When the loads get heavy, a supportive and effective hipbelt can support that weight. Osprey custom heat molds their hipbelt to you, eliminating hotspots, chaffing and bruising. This combines the best of a stiff, load bearing hipbelt with the cushioned comfort you need most when trekking with all your gear.

Check Out All Custom Molding Products >

Osprey Airscape

Osprey Airscape
Osprey's AirScape™ mesh covered ridge foam backpanels set a new standard in the industry. With its ability to keep the weight close, provide cushion, allow ventilation and add load carry is quite a list of needs from this unassuming backpanel. It successfully accomplished all of that in a way that allows it to be used in the large gear hauling packs and lightweight day hiking packs.

Check Out All Airscape Products >

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent pack - almost perfect + Very comfortable, even though I had the honours of carrying the tent and all rubbish so I was on 27kg if you include the 3 litres of water I would typically carry. + Very large rain cover - big enough to go over anything extra on the outside of the pack too. The cover is stored in the lid. + Great build quality. We had to lower the bags twice and all scrapes and bashings have not shown up. The buckle never popped on the waist band either. + The lid has a HUGE storage area (under the rain cover) and I was very impressed. Also, with two clips and rethreading one piece of tape one can remove it entirely. There is then a strap which converts it into a "moon bag" of sorts. I removed mine each night and kept it as a "grab bag" in case we had to run away in the night as we had security issues. + Mesh external pocket on the outside of the bag is handy for storing jackets and whatever else. + The j-zip is handy for gaining access into the bag too. + A pocket per side on the hip belt is big enough for a cell phone, pepper spray, compass, that sort of stuff. Decent size. + Light weight. - The side pockets are a joke. You can barely squeeze anything into them. They should have allowed more material there. And I'm not sure why they have that dual hole system. I'd rather have had a deep single pocket either side. Would work for small water bottles, very small ones... I used them to shove in gaiters when not in use. Possibly the only feature I'm not impressed with. - There is an external hydration pocket between your back and the bag. Looks impressive and neat and clever. However once loaded I think you could maybe fit a litre in there. I could be wrong. I certainly had zero chance of getting the three litre in. One could say put in the bladder then load the bag, however filling up then becomes a pain. I will get a one litre and try it in the future, so perhaps it's an awesome feature and it's just me. Rate it 5 stars though!
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable bag Great for backpacking
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Carries the Load Like a Dream I've only used this pack for handful of wonderful weekends so far but I have to say I love it. Compared to my old ALPS pack it carries the load like a dream. I've literally tossed extra gear in it for a 10 mile hike just to see how it would handle and have been impressed every time. It cinches down nice for trips just too long for day pack and has the staying power for much more. ,,,,My end goal for a pack this size was and is winter camping which is rapidly approaching fruition here in West Virginia, that will be the true test
Date published: 2013-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You won't be dissapointed I took this pack to Philmont this past summer. We hiked 108 miles over 12 days and it was flawless. Average weight in the pack was 50 lbs. Nothing about this pack isn't great. Easy access, numerous pockets, the fit and distribution of weight is awesome. I highly recommend you get a rain cover to go with it. I couldn't be happier with this product.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pack for long distances I wore this pack on my first multi-night backpacking trip. We went out for 6 nights and needed to bring everything with us. Having never packed a pack before, I learned what I could online. That said, I'm not a great packer. Still, the Aether 85 easily handled everything I provided it. I found the top pack very handy for the items I needed during the day like a map, snacks, etc. The lumbar pockets were also great for a quick snack grab. My sleeping bag fit nicely in the bottom zipper as well. The ability to access my gear from the front of the pack rather than just the top was another handy feature. I debated about getting the Xenith, but the subtle differences didn't seem to justify the additional $50. So I went with the Aether and I'm glad I did.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing but the best Use this pack frequently for wilderness bow hunting trips of 4-10 days in colorado and montana. Carry about 50lbs in, and 90-130lbs out for 4-9miles. Never fails. Thrown a few threads but great condition over the last 5 years of use.
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Superb This is a fantastic pack. Absolutely amazing. It smelled wondrous right out of the recycled moosejaw box. The fabric feels as stong as silk but a tough as the hide of a rhino. I would trust this pack to carry my firstborn child if I had to. It feels as light as a much smaller pack on my back, but has the room of a much larger pack when I'm stuffing it full of my favorite deserts. Wouldn't have been happier. Also came at the best price my wallet could find. Huzzah!!
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great design, comfy fit, can't beat a lifetime warranty! I haven't taken it on the trails yet but I did load it up for a weekend car camp trip. As I was packing, I would think, "okay I'm done and it's full." Then I would remember one thing after another that I hadn't packed yet. Even though it seemed the bag was full, it still kept going with room. No shoving, everything still just 'fit'. It was so much easier throughout the weekend than a typical suitcase or duffel bag. Just from the short walking around with it loaded, it seems it will do very well on a trail. Plus, Osprey has lifetime warranties. The shipping was expected to take about a week, but instead it took two. I'm not sure why. It got to my state within the expected time frame, but from the main city to my rural location, it took a week in itself, when it's usually only a day on other stuff I've ordered. But I got it and I'm happy.
Date published: 2014-05-01
  • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_10210078, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Men's Packs
PACK SIZE One Size X-Small Small Medium Large X-Large S / M M / L
Xenith - - - 18 - 21 20 - 23 22 - 25 - -
Aether (*excludes 60L) - - 16 - 19 18 - 21 20 - 23 22 - 25 - -
Volt 17 - 22 - - - - - - -
Atmos AG - - 16 - 19 18 - 21 20 - 23 - - -
Stratos, Manta AG (36L, 28L), Skarab (32L, 24L) - - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 21
Kestrel, Talon, Kamber - - - - - - 16 - 20 19 - 23
Volt - - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 21
Manta AG (20L), Skarab (18L), Raptor, Viper 17 - 21 - - - - - - -
Waypoint 17 - 22 - - - - - - -
Unisex Packs
PACK SIZE One Size X-Small Small Medium Large S / M M / L
Exos, Variant - - 16 - 19 18 - 21 20 - 23 - -
Escapist (*excludes 18L) - - - - - 16 - 20 19 - 23
Daylite 15 - 22 - - - - - -
Mutant, Radial, Farpoint - - - - - 15 - 19 18 - 22
Kamber Abs - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 22
Rev Available in S / M and M / L. Select the size that matches your typical apparel size.
Zealot 15 - 21 - - - - - -
Syncro - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 21
Women's Packs
PACK SIZE One Size X-Small Small Medium Large XS / S S / M
Xena, Aura AG - 14 - 17 16 - 19 18 - 21 - - -
Ariel (*excludes 75 / 55L) - 14 - 17 16 - 18 18 - 21 20 - 22* - -
Viva, Wayfarer 14 - 19 - - - - - -
Sirrus - - - - - 15 - 18 16 - 20
Kyte, Tempest, Kresta - - - - - 13 - 17 16 - 20
Mira AG (34L, 26L), Skimmer (30L, 22L) - 15 - 18 17 - 20 - - - -
Mira AG (18L) 15 - 18 - - - - - -
Skimmer (16L) 15 - 19 - - - - - -
Raven, Verve 14 - 18 - - - - - -
Kid Carriers + Kids' Packs
PACK SIZE One Size Age
Ace 75 14 - 19 11 - 18
Ace 50 13 - 18 8 - 14
Ace 38 11 - 15 6 - 11
Jet 18 13 - 17 8 +
Jet 12 11 - 15 5 +
Hydrajet 11 - 15 5 +
Moki 11 - 16 5 +
OSPREY MEASUREMENT GUIDE

Please note that the info provided above refers to the torso size each pack will fit, and NOT any dimensions of the pack. Below are some steps for how to get your torso length. You should probably have someone help take this measurement for you so it is accurate. And they might accidentally touch your butt.

HOW TO MEASURE TORSO LENGTH:
• Start at the iliac crest, which is the top of the hipbones on the side of your body. These act like a shelf for supporting a pack hipbelt.
• From this level on your spine, measure to the C7 vertebrae, the knobby bone at the base of your neck when you put your head down.
• Make sure you keep your back as straight as possible while measuring.
• This torso measurement determines what size Osprey pack you should carry. Refer to the size charts above to find your ideal size.
• If you are in between sizes, it is ideal to try them both on before ordering.

HOW TO MEASURE HIPBELT SIZE:
• Measure around your hips at your iliac crest, NOT your waist.
• A properly fitted hipbelt rides centered over the hipbones and needs to be very snug.
• The padded portion should wrap well around your hips, leaving a gap of 3 to 6 inches between the tips of the both hip pads when securely tightened.
• Refer to the Hipbelts size chart above to help determine your ideal Osprey pack size, but again, your torso length is what should determine your pack size, NOT the hipbelt.

- + Warranty Info

ALL MIGHTY GUARANTEE - Osprey's Lifetime Warranty

When Osprey celebrated their 35th anniversary in 2009 they launched The Osprey All Mighty Guarantee. What that means to you is ANY Osprey product purchased at ANY time is covered. Any product, any reason, any era - the all encompassing Osprey lifetime warranty ensures their dedication to superior design, craftsmanship and quality of their products is backed up by their actions to replace or repair a pack so it lasts a lifetime. Or two.

Here are some details.... Osprey will repair for any reason, free of charge, any damage or defect in their products, whether it was purchased back in 1974, or ordered right now from this site. If they are unable to perform a functional repair on your pack, they will happily replace it. Osprey proudly stands behind the All Mighty Guarantee, so much so that it bears the signature of company founder and head designer, Mike Pfotenhauer.

Some Osprey All Mighty Guarantee FAQs:

What do I do if my Osprey pack needs to be repaired?
If you live in the United States and need a repair done on your Osprey pack, you will first need to obtain a Return Authorization number. You can do this by reaching their Returns Department at 866-314-3130, or using the information that is provided with a new Osprey pack.

What do I do if I just need a replacement pack part like a buckle?
Give Osprey a call at 866-314-3130 and they will take care of you.

How long will it take?
You can tell Osprey you need the pack returned by a certain date when you request a Return Authorization number, and they will do their absolute best to meet that deadline.

What if my pack is super dirty and stinks?
Clean it before you send it to Osprey to get repaired. The real reason is that there is a law that says if your gear is too dirty or odiferous (smelly), Osprey is not allowed to repair it and will just return it to you.

Do I have to pay for shipping?
A little bit. You are responsible for the cost of shipping the pack to Osprey, and they will pay shipping to return the pack via UPS or FedEx. Osprey cannot be held responsible if packages get lost in transit, so make sure you get a tracking number when you ship your pack out. Also, if you use expedited shipping be sure to let Osprey know (866-314-3130). They, in turn, will give your pack priority processing and return it using a similar expedited shipping method.

Do I have to register my pack to take advantage of this incredible guarantee, and/or need to be the original owner of my Osprey pack?
No! Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee is truly ALL MIGHTY. If you own an Osprey pack that needs to be repaired they will repair or replace it.

JUST A HEADS UP: If your Osprey product is not repairable and is replaced, the original product will not be returned to you. They will try really really hard to repair your pack, but if they are unable to make a functional repair, they will replace it. For products that are no longer in production you will be contacted by Osprey to discuss replacement options.

All good answers. So what is NOT covered?
• Osprey program packs or any Osprey pack used by outdoor programs are ONLY covered under Osprey's Program Pack Warranty, NOT AMG.
• Size and/or fit issues. Make sure you buy a pack that fits. Check out the size guide on Osprey product pages for more info.
• Personal preferences like colors you don't like, style of the pack, or not enough/too much room in your pack. Check the product description, features, specifications, and size guide to make sure you are ordering the right pack for you.
• Third party Repairs or replacements. Send your Osprey pack to Osprey and Osprey only to get fixed. Easy as that. And don't try fixing things yourself.
• Cosmetic wear and tear including any reasonable aging of your pack that affects only the appearance and not the function of your pack. Be proud of those scars!
• B.A.M.G. (Before All Mighty Guarantee) Repair Work. The All Mighty Guarantee applies only to repairs requested on or after January 1, 2009.
• A Osprey Hydraulics reservoir is covered by a limited 1-year warranty, which is the reasonable lifespan of a reservoir. Pouring and storing of warm/hot or boiling water in your reservoir WILL VOID your warranty, so don't do that. Reservoirs are NOT designed to contain or handle liquids at temperature.

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart