Osprey Aether 70 Pack
Midnight Blue

Osprey Aether 70 Pack

Osprey Aether 70 Pack is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 36.
  • y_2017, m_9, d_22, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_10210077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.8 Star Rating
4.8
From $201.99   $289.95
up to 30% off

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Mens Backpacks

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10210077

The Osprey Aether 70 Pack is a custom fit backpack for weekend adventures on your close-to-home trails to week-long trips with your best buddies. The Aether 70 comes with an IsoForm4CM™ hipbelt that will transfer the weight to your hips and an IsoForm4™ harness to keep everything stable and comfortable from camp to camp. The 70 liters of space allows a spot for everything, even that one item that you'll never take out of your pack (I find there is always something), but you'll definitely use the lower zippered sleeping bag compartment, so rest easy. The top lid is removable if you're looking to drop weight and turns into a lumbar pack for a side-trip to that oh-so-cool waterfall off the main trail. Slip your hydration reservoir into the external sleeve against the backpanel and embark on the trip of a lifetime.

FEATURES of the Osprey Aether 70 Pack

  • Add On Attachment
  • Dual Access Side Pocket
  • Dual Ice Axe Loops
  • External Hydration Compatible
  • Front Stretch Mesh Pocket
  • Hipbelt Pocket
  • Inside Out Compression
  • J-Panel Access
  • Lumbar Pack
  • Red Compression Strap
  • Sleeping Bag Compartment
  • Sleeping Pad Straps
  • Top Pocket

- + Product Specifications
Features: Detachable Daypack, Hydration Compatible, Ice Axe / Trekking Pole Loops, Compression Straps, Ventilated Back Panel, Detachable Lid, Hip Belt, Load-Lifter Straps, Sternum Strap, Hip Belt Pockets
Weight: 76 oz
Dimensions: 35 x 14 x 14 in.
Fabric Details: 210D Nylon Dobby
Dimensions (Small): 34 x 14 x 14 in.
Dimensions (Medium): 35 x 14 x 14 in.
Dimensions (Large): 36 x 14 x 14 in.
Pack Capacity (Small): 67 Liters / 4089 Cubic inches
Pack Capacity (Medium): 70 Liters / 4272 Cubic inches
Pack Capacity (Large): 73 Liters / 4455 Cubic inches
Pack Capacity (Extra Large): 76 Liters / 4638 Cubic inches
Weight Capacity: 60 lbs
Weight (Small): 4 lbs 8 oz
Weight (Medium): 4 lbs 12 oz
Weight (Large): 4 lbs 15 oz
Product Technology: Osprey Peripheral Frame, Osprey Airscape, Osprey Custom Molding
Weight (Extra Large): 5 lbs 3 oz
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Gender: Mens
Best Use: Mountaineering and Alpine, Backpacking
Pack Capacity: 70 Liters / 4272 Cubic inches
Frame Type: Frameless
Pack Access: Front
Osprey Peripheral Frame

Osprey Peripheral Frame
Peripheral frame was a departure from the norm many years ago and it’s still the foundation of our gear hauling packs. A wire frame runs along the outside of the backpanel directly connecting the upper load lifters and the central core of the pack to the hipbelt to transition and spread the load. Allowing natural torsional movement, effective adjustable torsos, and different load range and backpanel builds makes this suspension design truly innovative.

Check Out All Peripheral Frame Products >

Osprey Airscape

Osprey Airscape
Osprey's AirScape™ mesh covered ridge foam backpanels set a new standard in the industry. With its ability to keep the weight close, provide cushion, allow ventilation and add load carry is quite a list of needs from this unassuming backpanel. It successfully accomplished all of that in a way that allows it to be used in the large gear hauling packs and lightweight day hiking packs.

Check Out All Airscape Products >

Osprey Custom Molding

Osprey Custom Molding
When the loads get heavy, a supportive and effective hipbelt can support that weight. Osprey custom heat molds their hipbelt to you, eliminating hotspots, chaffing and bruising. This combines the best of a stiff, load bearing hipbelt with the cushioned comfort you need most when trekking with all your gear.

Check Out All Custom Molding Products >

Rated 5 out of 5 by from An all-around performance workhorse. I had an Atmos 65 airframe. Although that pack was well built and nicely outfitted, it did not work well on my body. The back of the pack simply didn't lay close enough to my back and thus pulled on shoulders and neck and tended to throw me off balance, no matter how I adjusted it. SO, because that Osprey and my other Osprey, the bullet-proof Kode, were so well built, I sold the Atmos and got an Aether 70. And this one fits my body much better. I love the way I have to pry the hip belt open like a clam, to insert myself, reminds me of an old race car seat I had. Once in the hip belt closes as if it was built just for me. And it carries the load. I have to remember to put at least SOME of the load onto the shoulders. Another advantage of the Aether is the good idea of the top-hat that becomes a fanny-pack. This saves me carrying the extra weight and bullk of a hip pack for day-hike-peak-assaults from a high camp. But the top-hat disconnect, reconnect and belt design need a bit of rethinking or fine-tuning. The belt tends to slip, the disconnect is fine, but the reconnect not so smooth, and the overall fit of the top-hat to the pack is a bit funky. Lastly, the top-hat fabric is not tough enough to withstand fanny-pack grinding downhills. I had a slight brush with some granite on the way down an Adirondack peak and the top-hat fabric gave out at one of the seams, right on the stitching, either from abrasion or strain. But these Osprey packs are quality at high levels for sure, and there is a certain confidence and satisfaction that comes with that. I tend to carry between 35-45 lbs in my Aether, depending on the trip length and season. It handles that load range with aplomb, and rides closely to my body, to help maintain balance on the kind of rough terrain better thought of as an obstacle course than a trail. A fine tuning of the removable top-hat would make this pack as perfect as a pack can be.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Something you can pass down to your kids I recently used this pack for an intensely busy 1-week trip to Alaska. This was my summer vacation and included a lot of hiking/camping in rough terrain. WHAT A GREAT PACK! Was incredibly comfortable, easy to use, and I can tell it will stand a beating over the years. I packed everything I needed in this for one week, minus a change of clothes, toiletries, a laptop, a DSLR, and 3 chargers which I kept in my carry-on just in case. That weight would have added approximately 6lbs. The total weight for the bag with all the other things I needed for a week topped out at 30.1lbs. That's a great starting place for anyone considering this back for thru-hikes or urban backpacking in Europe/Asia. Favorites: Angled access for standard size nalgene bottles on the side is a GREAT idea. The removable top which converts to a day pack is awesome too. Loved the front zipper for easy access to the main compartment. VERY comfortable on my back and easy to get through airport security for a carry on in a pinch as long as it's not totally full and. This thing is clearly built to last. Not-favorites: I am a very small male - 5'7, 140lbs, with a 30" waist. The smallest hip-belts, a male S or female XS, are still a tad too big for me. It didn't bother me hiking at all except a little rubbing on one side. But that was hardly noticeable. Not sure how the hip-belt would fare comfort wise on an extended trip over 5 days. I think it's fine but I had the belt cinched up ALL of the way with no extra left.
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best pack I have ever owned and best warr. I am 51 yrs young and have been trekking since 12. I have had several packs in my life but this is BY FAR the best I have ever owned. Light, strong, easy to load and you hardly feel the weight. Only downfall for me was that the side pouches for your water bottle (mine is a Nalgene) are difficult to use. I quit trying and am using them for other gear.
Date published: 2016-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, Spacious! Bought this about a month ago after having tried out the Atmos AG. For some reason, that didn't fit me that well but this one practically hugs my back and I don't feel any weight. The 70L storage capacity also doesn't hurt for long trips! Love the bag!
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Design is tall and narrow. 07/24/2016 I was surprised that this pack as so narrow that I could not fit my BearVault 500. It would not slide down to the bottom or the middle. Luckily the it could barely be squeezed into the top. My previous pack, Arcterryx Khamsin 62, was chosen to fit the bulky BearVault. My wife has an older Ariel 65, and the BearVault fits in easily. Apparently a re-design made all the packs narrower and TALLER. The two inches in increased frame height makes it impossible (even without a helmet) to look up merely with only a tip of the neck. I now have to lean the torso back. Does anybody find this trade-off height vs pack width a practical improvement?
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I've had this pack for a couple of years now and it's been fantastic. Everything from overnighters by myself, canoe trips and week long trips through the Rocky Mountains with my wife. Volume is great for when you need it but snugs down nice for shorter solo trips. The removable top is great for day trips from base camp. Comfort levels are through the roof. The straps are all really long which is a good thing. I trimmed and sewed to my sizing needs. I'm 6'2" 200 lbs and the large size works well for me.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pack! Great pack, amazing quality and great service from moosejaw! Could not be happier!
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Cool This is a really good bag. it is comfortable and big enough for things. It is a lot cheaper from Torpedo7 if you live in NZ.
Date published: 2016-03-28
  • y_2017, m_9, d_22, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_10210077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Men's Packs
PACK SIZE One Size X-Small Small Medium Large X-Large S / M M / L
Xenith - - - 18 - 21 20 - 23 22 - 25 - -
Aether (*excludes 60L) - - 16 - 19 18 - 21 20 - 23 22 - 25 - -
Volt 17 - 22 - - - - - - -
Atmos AG - - 16 - 19 18 - 21 20 - 23 - - -
Stratos, Manta AG (36L, 28L), Skarab (32L, 24L) - - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 21
Kestrel, Talon, Kamber - - - - - - 16 - 20 19 - 23
Volt - - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 21
Manta AG (20L), Skarab (18L), Raptor, Viper 17 - 21 - - - - - - -
Waypoint 17 - 22 - - - - - - -
Unisex Packs
PACK SIZE One Size X-Small Small Medium Large S / M M / L
Exos, Variant - - 16 - 19 18 - 21 20 - 23 - -
Escapist (*excludes 18L) - - - - - 16 - 20 19 - 23
Daylite 15 - 22 - - - - - -
Mutant, Radial, Farpoint - - - - - 15 - 19 18 - 22
Kamber Abs - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 22
Rev Available in S / M and M / L. Select the size that matches your typical apparel size.
Zealot 15 - 21 - - - - - -
Syncro - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 21
Women's Packs
PACK SIZE One Size X-Small Small Medium Large XS / S S / M
Xena, Aura AG - 14 - 17 16 - 19 18 - 21 - - -
Ariel (*excludes 75 / 55L) - 14 - 17 16 - 18 18 - 21 20 - 22* - -
Viva, Wayfarer 14 - 19 - - - - - -
Sirrus - - - - - 15 - 18 16 - 20
Kyte, Tempest, Kresta - - - - - 13 - 17 16 - 20
Mira AG (34L, 26L), Skimmer (30L, 22L) - 15 - 18 17 - 20 - - - -
Mira AG (18L) 15 - 18 - - - - - -
Skimmer (16L) 15 - 19 - - - - - -
Raven, Verve 14 - 18 - - - - - -
Kid Carriers + Kids' Packs
PACK SIZE One Size Age
Ace 75 14 - 19 11 - 18
Ace 50 13 - 18 8 - 14
Ace 38 11 - 15 6 - 11
Jet 18 13 - 17 8 +
Jet 12 11 - 15 5 +
Hydrajet 11 - 15 5 +
Moki 11 - 16 5 +
OSPREY MEASUREMENT GUIDE

Please note that the info provided above refers to the torso size each pack will fit, and NOT any dimensions of the pack. Below are some steps for how to get your torso length. You should probably have someone help take this measurement for you so it is accurate. And they might accidentally touch your butt.

HOW TO MEASURE TORSO LENGTH:
• Start at the iliac crest, which is the top of the hipbones on the side of your body. These act like a shelf for supporting a pack hipbelt.
• From this level on your spine, measure to the C7 vertebrae, the knobby bone at the base of your neck when you put your head down.
• Make sure you keep your back as straight as possible while measuring.
• This torso measurement determines what size Osprey pack you should carry. Refer to the size charts above to find your ideal size.
• If you are in between sizes, it is ideal to try them both on before ordering.

HOW TO MEASURE HIPBELT SIZE:
• Measure around your hips at your iliac crest, NOT your waist.
• A properly fitted hipbelt rides centered over the hipbones and needs to be very snug.
• The padded portion should wrap well around your hips, leaving a gap of 3 to 6 inches between the tips of the both hip pads when securely tightened.
• Refer to the Hipbelts size chart above to help determine your ideal Osprey pack size, but again, your torso length is what should determine your pack size, NOT the hipbelt.

- + Warranty Info

ALL MIGHTY GUARANTEE - Osprey's Lifetime Warranty

When Osprey celebrated their 35th anniversary in 2009 they launched The Osprey All Mighty Guarantee. What that means to you is ANY Osprey product purchased at ANY time is covered. Any product, any reason, any era - the all encompassing Osprey lifetime warranty ensures their dedication to superior design, craftsmanship and quality of their products is backed up by their actions to replace or repair a pack so it lasts a lifetime. Or two.

Here are some details.... Osprey will repair for any reason, free of charge, any damage or defect in their products, whether it was purchased back in 1974, or ordered right now from this site. If they are unable to perform a functional repair on your pack, they will happily replace it. Osprey proudly stands behind the All Mighty Guarantee, so much so that it bears the signature of company founder and head designer, Mike Pfotenhauer.

Some Osprey All Mighty Guarantee FAQs:

What do I do if my Osprey pack needs to be repaired?
If you live in the United States and need a repair done on your Osprey pack, you will first need to obtain a Return Authorization number. You can do this by reaching their Returns Department at 866-314-3130, or using the information that is provided with a new Osprey pack.

What do I do if I just need a replacement pack part like a buckle?
Give Osprey a call at 866-314-3130 and they will take care of you.

How long will it take?
You can tell Osprey you need the pack returned by a certain date when you request a Return Authorization number, and they will do their absolute best to meet that deadline.

What if my pack is super dirty and stinks?
Clean it before you send it to Osprey to get repaired. The real reason is that there is a law that says if your gear is too dirty or odiferous (smelly), Osprey is not allowed to repair it and will just return it to you.

Do I have to pay for shipping?
A little bit. You are responsible for the cost of shipping the pack to Osprey, and they will pay shipping to return the pack via UPS or FedEx. Osprey cannot be held responsible if packages get lost in transit, so make sure you get a tracking number when you ship your pack out. Also, if you use expedited shipping be sure to let Osprey know (866-314-3130). They, in turn, will give your pack priority processing and return it using a similar expedited shipping method.

Do I have to register my pack to take advantage of this incredible guarantee, and/or need to be the original owner of my Osprey pack?
No! Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee is truly ALL MIGHTY. If you own an Osprey pack that needs to be repaired they will repair or replace it.

JUST A HEADS UP: If your Osprey product is not repairable and is replaced, the original product will not be returned to you. They will try really really hard to repair your pack, but if they are unable to make a functional repair, they will replace it. For products that are no longer in production you will be contacted by Osprey to discuss replacement options.

All good answers. So what is NOT covered?
• Osprey program packs or any Osprey pack used by outdoor programs are ONLY covered under Osprey's Program Pack Warranty, NOT AMG.
• Size and/or fit issues. Make sure you buy a pack that fits. Check out the size guide on Osprey product pages for more info.
• Personal preferences like colors you don't like, style of the pack, or not enough/too much room in your pack. Check the product description, features, specifications, and size guide to make sure you are ordering the right pack for you.
• Third party Repairs or replacements. Send your Osprey pack to Osprey and Osprey only to get fixed. Easy as that. And don't try fixing things yourself.
• Cosmetic wear and tear including any reasonable aging of your pack that affects only the appearance and not the function of your pack. Be proud of those scars!
• B.A.M.G. (Before All Mighty Guarantee) Repair Work. The All Mighty Guarantee applies only to repairs requested on or after January 1, 2009.
• A Osprey Hydraulics reservoir is covered by a limited 1-year warranty, which is the reasonable lifespan of a reservoir. Pouring and storing of warm/hot or boiling water in your reservoir WILL VOID your warranty, so don't do that. Reservoirs are NOT designed to contain or handle liquids at temperature.

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
 
$
Shopping Cart