Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer Hooded Down Jacket
Shark / Titanium
Zinc / Black
Zinc / Black
Zinc / Black
Black
Dark Compass
Electron Yellow
Serpent Green
Black 099
Surplus Green
Altitude Blue
State Orange 841

Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer Hooded Down Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer Hooded Down Jacket is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 13.
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_12
  • loc_en_US, sid_10254529, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.6 Star Rating
4.6
$225.99 - $350.00
up to 35% off

Select a Size Select a Color Size Guide
This Item SHIPS FREE

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using Ship Speeds of 1-5 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 5-10 day shipping will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we'll special-order the product for you and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and can only be shipped via 4-5 Day Shipping. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to accept delivery so we will call to schedule.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $35.00 in Reward Dollars
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200.00 jacket on Moosejaw.com, you can use MJ$20.00 on your next order toward that sweet Moosejaw hoody you’ve been eyeballin.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10254529

The Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer Hooded Down Jacket is a compressible down jacket for backpacking and climbing. Weight matters when you're carrying your camp on your back, or making a push to the summit before dawn. The Ghost Whisperer Hooded Down Jacket comes in at a scant 7.7 ounces to wow your upper body with warmth and comfort. The Whisperer fabric is 100% nylon and a 7D x 10D ripstop, built for lightweight strength to protect the down insulation on the inside. The 800-fill Q.Shield DOWN is water resistant, keeping you warm even if it gets wet. Mountain Hardwear's soft "Butter Jersey" can be found at the cuffs to seal out drafts while a soft elastic at the hood keeps it on and in place. Zippered hand pockets hang onto small items as needed, and when you're in need of shedding a layer, the whole jacket packs into it's own pocket for quick storage inside your pack or clipped to your harness.

Products on Sale are Discontinued Styles or Colors.

FEATURES of the Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer Hooded Down Jacket

  • Mountain Hardwear's Q.Shield Down resists heat-robbing moisture and retains maximum loft even when wet
  • Constructed with a low profile quilt pattern to create better heat trapping Down channels that maintain extra warmth
  • Cuffs are finished with a soft "Butter Jersey" that have elastic binding to seal out the cold and moisture. All the girls in the office hate the word moist
  • Lightweight warmth makes it incredible for layering
  • Single interior toggle hem for easy adjustment
  • Stowable in its own pocket for super easy storage, or throwing around for fun
  • Built-in secure loop allows for carabiner attachment to a climbing harness or backpack when it's stuffed
  • Low profile quilt pattern to create heat trapping down channels for extra warmth
  • Zips into its own pocket for compact storage

- + Product Specifications
Gender: Mens
Features: Adjustable Drawcord Hem, Moisture Wicking, Insulated, Insulated Hood
Jacket Length: Hip
Best Use: Climbing, Mountaineering and Alpine, Backpacking, Hiking
Fit Type: Regular Fit
Weight: 7.7 oz
Back Length: 28 in.
Hood Type: Insulated
Exterior Pockets: 2
Jacket Fabric: 100% Nylon
Insulation Details: Q.Shield Down 800-fill
Product Technology: Mountain Hardwear Q.Shield Down
Insulation: Down
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Jacket It's light weight and folds up into pocket. It's extremely warm and perfect for layering. Even warm on its own and easy to store. I would 100% recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ultralight Jacket I've used this on a few climbing trips and ski trips now. Very lightweight jacket, and stylish might I add. I only wish it was slightly warmer, but is already fairly warm for the weight. Definitely recommend.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy I bought this for the specs of being an ultralight, full featured 850 fill down jacket and am extremely happy with it. This jacket weighs almost nothing but has kept me very comfortable/warm. I went on a couple of trips to the eastern sierras with this already and couldn't be happier. Worth every penny!
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Max Warmth at Low Volume I wanted the most warmth I could for use under my low volume, super light and thin Mountain Hardware Ozoniic shell. With these two pieces I'm covered over a very wide range of temperatures. The Ghost Whisperer is astonishingly warm for it's low volume.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Excellent product. As described. Lightning fast shipping.
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cannot beat the function. This jacket is worth the money. You can carry it wherever up like. Your friends will be amazed too when you zip it into its own pocket. The jacket is warm for its weight/ratio. I will say its more of a traditional/baggie. But i believe most down jackets run a little big. So if you want more of a slim/modern fit, probable not the jacket for you. But the functionality is amazing.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good warmth for the weight I'm sure you already know about the technical side of the MH Ghost Whisperer Hooded Down Jacket - It's extremely light weight (mine weighs in at 7.9 ounces on my postal scale), the craftsmanship is top-notch and materials are extremely high quality (somewhat "delicate" due to light weight, but still very high quality materials that should last a long time if properly taken care of). And yes, it's very warm (for its weight). It's not a full-on winter parka, but it's an exceptional cool weather jacket and an even better layer under a shell or above a base layer. If I have any issue with the jacket, it's not due to materials, craftsmanship, or warmth. My only possible issue would be sizing. It's not a deal-breaker, but just not perfect for my build. I've read a lot of reviews and questions about sizing. Hopefully the following details will help you. I'm 6 ft tall, 158 pounds, 34-1/2 inch shirt sleeve length, 16 inch neck, and a 31 inch waist as recently measured by a tailor (sorry I don't know my chest size, but I believe it's somewhere around 40-41 inches). I bought a MEDIUM. The fit is exceptional up on top (neck, shoulders, arms, sleeve length, and chest are PERFECT), but there is definitely a good amount of spare room around the belly even with a snug Smartwool 250 base layer and another thin shirt on under the jacket. If I had a beer-belly, the fit would be perfect all around. If this were a suit coat, a good tailor wouldn't let me walk out the door without making some adjustments to pull it in a little. I usually fall within the medium-to-large shirt/jacket sizes (large fitted usually works best) and I never fit into a small, but I am tempted to swap this Medium out for a Small just to see if it fits better. I have a feeling the mid-section would fit me perfectly with a small, but the shoulders/chest/neck might be too tight. This is quite a long jacket (the Medium extends a full inch and a half below the bottom of my medium Arcteryx Alpha FL shell) so the shorter Small may actually work better for me. If I do end up getting the Small, I'll post another review comparing the two sizes. If the Small is too small, I'm just going to have to gain a couple [hundred] pounds for a perfect fit in the mid-section. Bottom line: Mountain Hardwear came oh so close to creating the most perfect layering down jacket for me - and this might very well be the perfect down jacket for people who aren't as slender as me. All in all, I still love it.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super light weight yet super warm This jacket is fantastic. I bought it to wear while doing outdoor trekking and backpacking. It is extremely warm and very light. You sometimes wear it and forget that it's on your body. However, you quickly remember that when you take it off and are instantly cold. It reminds me of the feeling you get when you get out of your sleeping bag in the morning. I'm about to take this out to Patagonia this December and will report back how it handled that backpacking trip. In the meantime, I highly recommend this jacket to those who value ultra lightweight and no-nonsense warmth.
Date published: 2015-09-08
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_12
  • loc_en_US, sid_10254529, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw

will the hood fit over a climbing helmet?

Asked by: mikeg
The hood on the Ghost Whisperer was designed with your helmet in mind. This jacket will certainly accommodate your helmet on all your alpine adventures.
Answered by: James
Date published: 2015-07-17

I'm hiking the Inka trail in may and from my research they say the nights and mornings can drop below 0 if this is the case would this do the job as part of my layering system ?

Asked by: Inka stinka
Hiya, thanks for the question! You have a good eye... this is an excellent option for layering! Plus, it's super warm and light, so it won't take up much space. Hope this helps!
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2017-10-06
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_2
  • loc_en_US, sid_10254529, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Mountain Hardwear Men's Jackets

SIZE Small Medium Large X-Large XX-Large XXX-Large
Chest 36 - 38" 39 - 41" 42 - 45" 46 - 49" 50 - 53" 54 - 57"
Sleeve 33" 34" 35" 36" 37" 38"
Waist 30 - 31" 32 - 34" 36 - 38" 40 - 42" 44" 46"
Hip 36 - 38" 38 - 40" 42 - 44" 46 - 48" 50" 52"

HOW to MEASURE
CHEST: For your chest circumference, measure around the largest part of the chest, keeping the tape parallel to the ground.

SLEEVE: Sleeve length can be found by measuring from the center back of the neck, across a shoulder, and down the back of the arm to the wrist bone with the arm comfortably bent.

WAIST: For your waist circumference, measure around the narrowest part of the waist, also called the Natural Waist, keeping the tape parallel to the ground.

HIP: For your hip circumference, measure around the widest part of the hips / seat / bottom, keeping the tape parallel to the ground.

* Please note that all size info provided corresponds to equivalent body measurements, not the dimensions of the garment.

MOUNTAIN HARDWEAR FIT GUIDE
Mountain Hardwear clothing and outerwear is available in four fits. Each is designed to meet different needs for movement, protection and versatility depending on activity. Check the PRODUCT FEATURES and SPECIFICATIONS for the fit type of a style.

BODY FIT: Body-hugging fit for aerobic activities. Ideal for running, skate skiing and next-to-skin layering.

ACTIVE FIT: Trim fit, just loose enough for laying and freedom of movement. Ideal for backcountry skiing, climbing, mountaineering and running.

STANDARD FIT: Not too tight, not too loose. Standard fitting styles will fit over base and mid-layers without restricting movement. Ideal for backpacking, hiking, travel and work.

RELAXED FIT: A roomier and more progressive fit, relaxed styles might have a longer length than a standard fit and a softer drape. Ideal for backpacking, hiking, skiing and hanging out.

- + Warranty Info

Mountain Hardwear Limited Lifetime Warranty

What Does the Mountain Hardwear Limited Lifetime Warranty Cover?
Mountain Hardwear's Limited Lifetime Warranty covers defects in materials and workmanship for the practical lifetime of Mountain Hardwear brand products manufactured by Mountain Hardwear or its affiliates. Only original, unaltered, and unmodified materials and workmanship are covered by their policy. The limited lifetime warranty does not cover damage caused by normal wear and tear, improper care, misuse, accident, neglect, or the natural breakdown of materials over time. Products should be returned to Mountain Hardwear for evaluation. Items with defects in materials and workmanship will be repaired or a Virtual Merchandise Credit will be issued. Damages due to improper care or accident may be repaired at a reasonable rate. This policy is applicable to United States customers only.

How Long Does the Limited Warranty Last?
This Limited Lifetime Warranty lasts for the practical life of the product. Coverage ends if you sell or transfer the product. Proof of purchase may be required.

What Will Mountain Hardwear Do?
Their Warranty Department will inspect the product at no charge to you. If the Warranty Department determines, in its sole discretion, that the product has a defect covered under this Limited Warranty, they will repair or issue a Virtual Merchandise Credit equivalent to the MSRP value within approximately four weeks of inspection. Depending on the season or product, it may take longer to repair certain items. Mountain Hardwear will discard your product if your product is covered under their limited warranty policy. If you would like your original product returned instead of a Virtual Merchandise Credit, please check the box on the printable warranty form or call them no later than 10 days after you ship your product at 800-953-8398.

How Do You Get Warranty Services?
You may seek resolution directly through the retailer where you purchased the product, such as this website. In many cases, the retailer will be able to assist you.

US Customers - You can send your product to Mountain Hardwear, however, you will need to fill out the warranty form found on their WARRANTY PAGE, where you will also find a shipping address for returning your product.

International Customers - Visit the Mountain Hardwear WARRANTY PAGE to find information to assist you through the warranty process.

Please note that by law, products must be cleaned prior to sending. Items received by Mountain Hardwear that are deemed insufficiently cleaned will be returned to the customer unprocessed.

Mountain Hardwear's Warranty Service:
Phone: (800) 953-8398
Hours: Monday - Friday: 8:30am - 3:00pm PST

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
 
$
Shopping Cart