MSR Miniworks EX Microfilter

MSR Miniworks EX Microfilter

MSR Miniworks EX Microfilter is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 160.
  • y_2017, m_9, d_19, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_159
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238404, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.3 Star Rating
4.3
$89.95

Select a Size
This Item SHIPS FREE

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using Ship Speeds of 1-5 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 5-10 day shipping will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we'll special-order the product for you and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and can only be shipped via 4-5 Day Shipping. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to accept delivery so we will call to schedule.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $9.00 in Reward Dollars
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200.00 jacket on Moosejaw.com, you can use MJ$20.00 on your next order toward that sweet Moosejaw hoody you’ve been eyeballin.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10238404

Moosejaw Staff Pick - Jeff, Moosejaw Secret Headquarters

FEATURES of the MSR Miniworks EX Microfilter

  • Long-Lasting: Durable ceramic element filters up to 2,000 liter
  • Solid Activated Carbon Core: Removes unpleasant tastes and many chemical contaminants
  • Fast Flow Rate: AirSpring accumulator increases filtration speed up to 1 liter per minute
  • Field-Maintainable: Can be cleaned repeatedly for full filter recovery, no tools required for complete disassembly
  • Testing: Meets NSF protocol P231 for removal of bacteria (99.9999%) and protozoa (99.9%) from beginning to end of filter life in "worst-case" water
  • Reliable: Durable carbon / ceramic element ensures safe, taste-free water-even with frequent, heavy use
  • Fast Flow: AirSpring Accumulator increases filtration speed up to 1-liter per minute
  • Better-tasting Water: Carbon core removes unpleasant tastes and odors caused by organic compounds, such as iodine, chlorine, and pesticides
  • Made in USA

- + Product Specifications
Features: Field Cleanable, Replaceable Filter, Made in USA
Best Use: Camping, Hiking, Car Camping, Backpacking
Weight: 16 oz
Effective Against: Protozoa and Bacteria
Cartridge / Cycle Life: 2000 liters
Filter Type: Pump
Packed Dimensions: 7.5 x 2.75 in.
Filter Rate: 1 liter / minute
Eco Friendly: Yes
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stopped working our first time using it in the field. We bought this filter and tested it out at home using clean water and it seemed to pumped fairly quickly and easily. We took it with us camping the next day and I tried to filter some clear, glacial water which had hardly any dirt or sediment at all. The first liter filtered easily, then the next was a little harder, until finally the filter stopped filtering water all together. The water would not pass through anymore and with each pump the hose would fill up and then exit back out through the hose again, instead of passing through the chamber. I took it apart and cleaned it a bit and dumped out the access water that was not able to pass through the chamber. It started working again for a moment and then once again, stopped filtering water all together. Ive never bought a filter that didn't even work right its first time. This thing is garbage.
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes Makes filtering water fast and efficient. It is lightweight and very pack friendly
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I would not recommend this filter We have had nothing but back experiences with this filter! We took it on our canoe trip last year and it took so long to pump the water that we thought either it was broken or we were doing something wrong and would break the pump if we continued to use it under such high pressures. We thankfully had a back-up plan and ended up using drops to sterilize our drinking water. This year, we bought a new filter cartridge, thoroughly cleaned the pump, ready carefully through the manual, and basically made sure everything was in perfect working order so there would be no surprises on our trip. What do you know - yet again, after filtering one litre of clean lake water the pumping became so laborious and slow that we AGAIN eventually gave up and switched back to drops. We have essentially canoed and portaged and hiked this water filter around for no reason. I came to the website hoping for a solution, but now see from all the other similar reviews that it's just a terrible product. Such a disappointment!
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Dependable I have literally spent hundreds of nights out in the backcountry. I started out with original 'Works' filter and switched to the 'Mini Works' shortly after its debut. So I have been using these filters for more years than I care to count. Only once did I ever have a problem and that was many years ago when the pump head housing mysteriously cracked. Although it didn't help me on that trip, MSR sent me a new one as soon as I got home. Since that time I have had no problems with the filter that a thorough cleaning cleaning couldn't solve. I typically will fill my quart bottle in about 65-70 pumps when it has been cleaned. When we are out, we will usually have to scrub the cartridge about every 3 or 4 days. Or when it starts taking about 90 pumps a quart. It's a bit of a pain. But in reality it only takes a few minutes and is easy to do. I don't understand the reviewers who claim that they have to clean the cartridge after every liter. I can only assume that they are either filtering mud, or they do not thoroughly clean the cartridge. I have never, ever had to clean it that often. There have been times when I was forced to filter from a source that was far less than ideal. And in those instances I will have to "perform surgery", as I call it, more often. But that is to be expected. I gigged the review one star because like every backpacker who has to carry his house on his back for weeks at at time, I wish it was lighter. But then, I wish everything was lighter.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This new version sucks! So disappointed. I've had the previous version of the MSR miniworks filter for over 10 years. Unfortunately, we let it freeze last winter and the filter was ruined, which we discovered right before a camping trip. That pump was very reliable and would get slow after a few litres, but still pump about 1 litre in a couple of minutes. Anyhow, we bought the new pump instead of just getting a new filter, and expected it to work the same. I did all of the recommended prep at home and it worked fine. However, once we started pumping the lake water on our trip, it was totally inefficient. After a litre of water it would start pumping back out the inlet pipe because the canister pressure was so high. If you unscrewed the canister, a hiss of air release would be heard and water was only coming out the bottom at a drop every couple of seconds. I have virtually the same complaint as the other reviews. What happened to this once good product? Even one person who gave it a 5 star rating commented how they had to clean the filter after every litre! That's because they have low expectations and clearly are only recent users to the pump. I will say that the water was clear and tasted great once pumped, but the performance made everyone dread the water pumping chore.
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stay away from this piece of junk Previous to the MSR mini works filter, I had the MSR Sweet water filter...which was amazing. I had that thing for years and years, and it performed every time like a champ. The shaft finally broke on that after years of use, so I thought I might upgrade to the Mini works EX. What a mistake that was....the filter was so ungodly slow, it took 15 minutes to filter 1/2 a liter of water...and I am not joking. A brand new filter, and it couldn't even filter 2 liters of clean mountain stream water. I tried again, on a second backpacking trip hoping for a better result. Wrong. Filter still sucked, and I had to borrow a friends. Contacted MSR about it, and finally got a manger to ok a return. Mini works was a disaster.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very poor performance I bought this Tinworks EX Microfilter based on the MSR brand and the balance of online reviews. I read the instructions ten cleaned and prepped it at home before first use. I altered a liter of water and it seemed to be working well. The first field use was sea kayak camping on the coast of Alaska. In relatively clear pond water, it filtered one liter easily, then a half liter with more work, then stopped filtering altogether. No more water would pass through the filter. I cleaned the filter thoroughly, cleaned then entire housing carefully, primed the filter, and once again it filtered one liter easily and quickly, then a bit more wth work, then stopped filtering altogether. It simply sucked water up the intake time, established pressure, then pumped it right back out the intake tube. I repeated this one more time with the same results. One of my kayaking companions watched me through this, while filtering several gallons of water easily using a smaller and lighter filter manufactured by a rival brand, and said: "The exact same thing happened to me when I bought that MSR water filter. I even contacted MSR, ordered a brand new filter, tried again, with the same bad result. Then I bought this other filter and I've been happy ever since." I've used MSR stoves for some 35 years and their performance has been virtually flawless. I don't understand why MSR would sell a product that falls so far short of that standard. Mountain Safety Research stands for a high standard of reliable performance under demanding situations. In my experience this filter falls far short of that mark. I went to the MSR web site and could not find any trouble shooting information, either. In the event that there is some trick to this filter that is not explained in the instructions, and is not intuitive in its operation, I would expect some online support in that regard from MSR. Bottom line: I cannot recommend this filter and in my it tarishes the MSR reputation.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would not but again! Sorry I bought it in the first place Horribly slow filter. I tested at home before going into the field and after just two liters of water the pace of water is tortuous. Stay away. My old First Resource filters were much faster and would gladly carry the extra ounces to get quick water for a larger group. Mine is going on craigslist and hopefully I'll get some money back!
Date published: 2017-07-24
  • y_2017, m_9, d_19, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_159
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238404, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw

Reviews show ups and downs. Has there been any type of redesign on this product lately ? Or is it operator era ? I would like to purchase one, but reviews leave me wondering. Thanks

Asked by: Brad
Brad, There has not been a redesign on the MSR Miniworks EX Microfilter. I took a moment to read through the reviews and, Im not seeing a consistent issue. The thing in the reviews that is consistent is praise. I have seen the MSR Miniworks EX Microfilter filter water, and it worked wonderfully. I hope that this helps. Happy Trails.
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2017-05-29

what is the purpose of the red crescent shaped piece from the picture?

Asked by: curious george
Hey there, The red crescent pictured for this item is a gauge that is used to measure the erosion of the ceramic element of the filter during routine cleaning and maintenance.
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2015-08-12
  • y_2017, m_9, d_19, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_2
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238404, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
 
$
Shopping Cart