La Sportiva Makalu Boot
Natural

La Sportiva Makalu Boot

La Sportiva Makalu Boot is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 81.
  • y_2018, m_4, d_23, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_10007698, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.6 Star Rating
4.6
$305.00

Select a Size Select a Color Size Guide
This Item SHIPS FREE

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using a ship speed of 1 Day, 2 Days, or 3 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 4-6 Day ship speed will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we will special-order the product for you, and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is large and can only be shipped using 4-6 Day ship speed. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for standard shipping methods, and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to inspect, sign, and accept delivery, so we will call you to schedule delivery.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat or call us at 877-666-7352.

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $30.50 in Reward Dollars
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200.00 jacket on Moosejaw.com, you can use MJ$20.00 on your next order toward that sweet Moosejaw hoody you’ve been eyeballin.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10007698

The La Sportiva Makalu Boot is a classic leather boot for getting into the mountains. The full steel shank provides sturdy support during general mountaineering trips and heavy backpacking, so you can take on the changing terrain of the mountains. The 3mm Idro-Perwanger Roughout Leather is super durable and holds up to years of abuse while the Dry-Best® lining wicks sweat to keep your feet dry and comfortable. The burly Vibram rubber rand at the toe adds to durability so you can continue kicking steps into the snow. The boot even accepts automatic crampons for icier adventures. Complete with Skywalk® MPE outsole, you'll be gripping terrain easily with each forward step.

FEATURES of the La Sportiva Makalu Boot

  • MtnFlex insole and full steel shank for automatic crampon compatibility
  • Idro-Perwanger Leather upper is durable and extremely water repellent while still remaining breathable
  • Rollerball hardware incorporates steel roller ball eyelets and locking D-rings for effortless and precise tensioning of boot laces. for independent fit
  • Dry-Best® lining transports moisture away from the skin to keep you cool, dry and comfortable
  • Burly rough out leather uppers for years of abuse
  • Ideal for general mountaineering and heavy backpacking
  • SBR Aircushion midsole features a honeycomb heel grid that flexes on impact to provide the ultimate comfort

- + Product Specifications
Gender: Mens
Features: Cushioned
Best Use: Mountaineering and Alpine, Trekking
Footwear Height: Mid
Weight: 34.57 oz
Footwear Closure: Lace-up
Toe Coverage: Closed Toe
Upper: 3 mm Idro-Perwanger Roughout Leather,Vibram rubber rand, Removable EZ Flex tongue with Dry-Best lining
Midsole: SBR Aircushion
Outsole: Skywalk MPE
Terrain: Mountain
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Where have these been all my life?! I’m a 45 year old lineman. Turned on to these by some younger mine hands. Climbed a 60 and over a Hughes arm a week after I got them. Never been so comfortable climbing in my career. They’re awesome. Take some time to break in, but great boots overall.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT BOOTS I am a lineman and my first pair of boots lasted almost 4.5 years before some of the threads finally broke. I wore these boots roughly 60 hr a week.
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply awesome! This is my second pair of Makalus and i love them! If you climb power poles like i do, do yourself a favor and get some! Few days to break in but then oh so comfy! Good on the ground too.
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boot Im an apprentice Lineman bought these boots about a month ago. Takes a while to break in. But once broke in they are a great boot. Perfect for climbing.
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features, great fit, excellent support. I purchased these a month ago, am extremely happy with them. They perform to my expectations. Also enjoy the crampon feature.These are my 4th pair of La Sportiva Makalu boots in 17 yrs.. I wear these boots year round.
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots I have ever owned! Once they are broke in you will be in love. Dont know how I made it 30 years without these boots! I wear them daily — even around town. Would highly recommend. Worth every penny
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Journeyman Lineman 15yrs I’ve used these my entire career. 15yrs of climbing power poles. They are comfortable. Sturdy, lightweight, durable... I’m very hard on them. They last me about 2yrs due to my gaffs and having to walk on them a certain way the heels wear out of them. I know if it were not for my gaffs they would easily last me double if not more (Years per pair of boots). I’ve tried 3 other types of brand and none meet my expectations like these do.
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect fit went half a size bigger than my usual size and they ended up fitting perfect , they also some with extra cushion on the inside which was nice.
Date published: 2017-12-19
  • y_2018, m_4, d_23, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_10007698, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw

I am a lineman. I climb power poles. need a boot that is waterproof, steal shank all the way across, and has a steal or composite toe. I heard a lot of good things about your boots and hoping you can help me find the right boot. Thanks Jeff

Asked by: Jeff
jeff........won't last for you ............ get the old style REAL and heavy boots...........Galibier sg..........heavy, but will last long after you have broken in
Answered by: banplasticandchinacrap
Date published: 2016-08-21

Are they steel or composite toe though?!... I'm curious cause I want a pair but I need the safety toe!!...

Asked by: Elbery20
Hiya Elbery20, thanks for your question! Sorry, this boot does not have a steel or composite toe. Here is one that does: Danner Men's Vicious 4.5IN GTX NMT Boot https://www.moosejaw.com/moosejaw/shop/product_Danner-Men-s-Vicious-4-5IN-GTX-NMT-Boot_10321945_10208_10000001_-1_ Hope this helps!
Answered by: Alice in Wanderland
Date published: 2017-09-20

What kind of waterproofing should I use on these boots?  I have heard Nikwax but just wanted to hear another opinion.

Asked by: Rick
Hiya Rick, thanks for your question! There are generic brands like Scotchgard and KIWI on the market. At the moment, we only carry Nikwax and Ugg waterproofing products. I personally prefer Nikwax waterproofing products.... they're lightweight, breathable and they don't leave a tacky film. Additionally, the Nikwax company has made a commitment to protecting our environment. Bonus! I'm sorry I don't have any recommendations!
Answered by: Alice in Wanderland
Date published: 2018-01-01

do these boots have any ASTM ratings ?

Asked by: Rednex
Hiya, thanks for the question! Sorry, there is no ASTM rating for this boot. La Sportiva boots aren't safety rated by an organization or classified as such. Hope this helps!
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-10-06
  • y_2018, m_4, d_23, h_9CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_4
  • loc_en_US, sid_10007698, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

La Sportiva Men's Mountaineering Boots

EUROPEAN SIZE Men's US Size
33 -
33.5 -
34 2.5+
34.5 3
35 3.5
35.5 4
36 4.5
36.5 4.5+
37 5
37.5 5.5
38 6
38.5 6.5
39 6.5+
39.5 7
40 7.5
40.5 8
41 8.5
41.5 8.5+
42 9
42.5 9.5
43 10
43.5 10.5
44 10.5+
44.5 11
45 11.5
45.5 12
46 12.5
46.5 12.5+
47 13
47.5 13.5
48 14
49 15
50 16

LA SPORTIVA SIZE and FIT NOTES
• La Sportiva footwear is built and offered on European half sizes, which are smaller increments than US half sizes. This gives them four extra sizes per size run, and ultimately gives you a better fit.
• Find your US Size in the guide above, then find the Euro Size conversion and ADD ONE HALF SIZE.
• The ideal size holds your toes ever so slightly away from the front of the boot while the lacing system is snug across the top of your arch.
• If you can try to boots on beforehand, make sure you wear the same size and weight socks you would typically wear with the boots, and any orthotics or custom footbeds you use.
• It is ideal to fit boots later in the day since feet are prone to swell slightly as a day progresses.
• Wear your boots indoors only until you are confident about the fit.
• Your foot should feel snug (not tight) from the arch back into the heel pocket with just a minimum lift as you walk. If your heel lifts make sure the lacing is snug and not too loose.
• Your toes should NOT touch the front of the boot, but when you kick the toe into the floor, you should know where the front of the boot is. You want just enough room to wiggle your toes.
• If your toes or sides of your feet feel squished, most likely the width is too narrow and the boot will not work for you.
• If your toes touch the front of the boot, most likely it is too short and you need the next half size up.
• Make sure to keep all original packaging that came with your boots until you are sure that you are happy with your purchase.

Free 2-Day Shipping
Get FREE 2-Day on orders over $49!

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and your order ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
 
$
Shopping Cart