Black Diamond Viper Ice Tool
Adze

Black Diamond Viper Ice Tool

Black Diamond Viper Ice Tool is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 28.
  • y_2017, m_9, d_25, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_10036126, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.7 Star Rating
4.7
$239.95

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Climbing

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10036126

The Viper Ice Tool by Black Diamond has evolved with a new hydroformed shaft to increase stiffness and reduce weight, while maintaining exceptional clearance. Hydroforming uses pressurized water to expand the Viper's shaft into its uniquely stiff, yet lightweight shape. With superb balance, leashless capability and an optional integrated Android Leash, the Viper goes most anywhere. Comes equipped with our Viper Fang and Strike, to cradle your hands for precise gripping when going leashless. Laser Pick included. Patented.

FEATURES of the Black Diamond Viper Ice Tool

  • Hydroformed shaft for clearance, weight savings and strength
  • Laser pick, Viper Strike and Fang included, modular head design
  • Shaft CEN-T certified, patented
  • Pick is CEN-B

- + Product Specifications
Best Use: Mountaineering and Alpine
Weight: 22 oz
Head Material: Stainless Steel
Disclaimer: All climbing equipment is final sale.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect All-Arounder I love these. I finally decided to breakdown and replace my first generation leashed Cobras, and I couldn't be happier. The Vipers made the transition to leashless climbing simple and straightforward.
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Spent a full week of Canadian Rockies Guiding on these great tools! Short and light but very well balanced and incredibly precise. No hacking swing here..they offer a nice older school flick and when combining them with the cascade blades these tools become ready for anything. Low angle rambles, no problem there agile handling, and movable upper pommel help the climber adapt to any lower angle surface comfortably and easily. On solid hard steep ice climbing with plenty of cleaning, they're no compromise...these tools are great! They have a little less clearance for your fingers so watch out not to punch into the ice. By far I think these tools might be the best do it all tools around. An awesome choice for anyone who likes to spend lots of time on ice and climbing where balancy hand matching on tools isn't a must.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tools, Good Price. I have three sets of ice tools -- the Cobras, 2014 Vipers, and a set of Fuels. The Vipers are the tools I lend to friends. They swing well, and are very similar to the Cobras in terms of geometry and use. The aluminum shaft can take a litte more abuse than the carbon fiber of the cobras, but it doesn't feel as good in the hand -- it's more slippery if gripping high on the shaft, and translates more impact to the climber when swinging. By swapping out leashes, picks, hammers and adze, and the strike and fang, I can customize these tools for the climbing goal of the day, whether that's dry tooling, mixed climbing, technical alpine, or blue water ice. Similar to the Cobra, the grip is a slight bit small for my hands. More customization would be an improvement.
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from All arounders This, as advertised and stated in reviews, is a great all around tool. I have used these in the park and also as a classic mountaineering axe. It's awesome to have a pair of tools that you can be confident in regardless of location and conditions. With ice tools, a lot comes down to preference and for me these don't stick as easily as some other tools I have swung when climbing the steeper stuff, but that could just be my caveman swing. When you combine the price with their versatility, it's hard to go wrong with the Vipers, especially if trying to decide on a first pair of tools.
Date published: 2015-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sender for steep Ice When I was looking for a technical alpine ice tool I tried out the Cassin's, Monsters, and Vipers and found that the Vipers reformed best at an alpine level. Their bomber construction and tuned pick makes them suitable for WI5 but the angled shaft creates a plungable body great for steep coulars and other less steep terrain. Whether your banging in pitons on alpine routes or sending technical water ice routes, I would recommend the Viper tool for you.
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Tools These are solid tools for a better price than most of the other ones. If you're getting into the sport or not trying to spend tons of money, this is your best bet. It really performs well as an all around tool.
Date published: 2015-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tools! Our outdoor rec gear locker has 5 types of tools, and I keep going back to the vipers. So much so I finally committed and bought my own pair after 6 years of playing with all of them. They have held up to years of abuse by our students, with never an issue. The clearance the tool gives is great on steep and vertical ice and does well even on minor to moderate overhangs. Vipers just fit my swing, in thin to heavy gloves. More aggressive tools work serious overhangs better, but they just don't stick as well for me and I don't get the feel of placement like I've come to expect. Vipers are weighted and balanced great, and I look forward to jealously hording my own set for years to come.
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tools, Great Value Super tools for the alpine. Like a lot of great alpine gear, everything you need, nothing that you don't. I love the feel and swing of my Vipers and the nearly identical but $100 per tool more expensive carbon Cobras - frankly I can't tell that much difference. The modularity of the tools works well - solid, simple bolt attachments, various picks and heads - takes all of five minutes to dial in the tool configuration for most anything from couloirs/snow to mixed to waterfall ice, whatever head weapons and leash configuration the battle calls for. If you are doing any hammering you definitely want the larger add-on hammer head for at least one tool. If you'll be thumping thinner ice and/or doing some dry tooling, look at the T rated Titan picks. The thinner, stock Laser pick is great for pure thick ice.
Date published: 2014-03-25
  • y_2017, m_9, d_25, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_10036126, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
 
$
Shopping Cart
0