Black Diamond Mega Light Tent
Blue / Silver
Blue / Silver
Blue / Silver

Black Diamond Mega Light Tent

Black Diamond Mega Light Tent is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 18.
  • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_10008369, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.7 Star Rating
4.7
$289.95

Select a Size Select a Color
FREE SHIPPING

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using Ship Speeds of 1-5 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 5-10 day shipping will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we'll special-order the product for you and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and can only be shipped via 4-5 Day Shipping. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to accept delivery so we will call to schedule.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $28.99 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200 jacket at Moosejaw.com, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on MoosejawRewards.com.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10008369

OVERSIZE ITEM:We cannot ship this product by any expedited shipping method (3-Day, 2-Day or Next Day). Even if you pick that option, it will still go Ground Shipping. Sorry for being so mean.

The Mega Light Tent by Black Diamond comes standard with rugged carbon fiber pole and our Pole Link Converter.

FEATURES of the Black Diamond Mega Light Tent

  • 4-person capacity with 1 door
  • Rugged carbon fiber center pole included
  • 30D Silk Nylon
  • Pole Link Converter for ski/trekking pole setup
  • Optional floor and bug netting available

- + Product Specifications
Weight: 45 oz
Ultralight: Yes
Features: Single Wall
Sleep Capacity: 3
Seasons: 4-Season
Number of Doors: 1
Best Use: Backpacking
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best balance of features Light, durable, roomy, very packable, versatile. I'm on my 3rd one over 15 years and I use it in all kinds of weather, 50 - 100 nights/yr. Watch out for heavy wet, snow. (I've snapped the enclosed pole at the joint). Love it for ventilation here in the SE US. Right, no floor or screen so you have to be OK with a few crawlies. Mosquitos and gnats tend to congregate at the top peak. Not an issue inside sitting comfortably on my Crazy Creek watching storms with one side completely pulled back. Maybe I'm careful but I've never had a rip or tear. Use BD trekking poles which double as the center pole away from car. Adapter included. Whew! Highly recommended!
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very impressed I went on an alpine trip with two good friends in the Eastern Sierras and one of them brought this mega mid tent. really nothing more than a very light parachute type of material I was wondering if they could last the night using just that as cover. Man was I wrong, I had packed a solo tent at about 4-4.5 pounds with a rain fly. We were up there in August and the conditions weren't terrible, but the Mega mid held up incredibly well and even without stakes, it was held down by using heavy rocks found on the trail and a trekking pole. Fantastic. Inside it was bombproof. Felt solid and incredibly light. This is my next tent purchase for sure. I was very impressed.
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tent! I first used this tent on a short backpacking trip and loved the simplicity. When it came time to buy a new tent several years ago, I chose this one and got the mega bug as well. I mostly use this tent for backpacking and it has always been great. It is light enough to bring on a solo trip but still has plenty of space for multi-person trips. I recommend this tent to everyone.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from workable shelter I have owned this tent for a few years now and it stands up surprisingly well to wind and rain. Replacing the center pole with with the two-ski-pole-joiner-thing works great. Factory taped seams would be a major improvement. There are a lot of seams to seal, and factory taping lasts longer. If you are deciding between this and a regular tent, there are some factors to consider. It has to be well staked and occasionally the ground does not cooperate. The floor space is generous for the weight but the low outside edges are less useful in wet weather because contact with the fabric (like all tents) is undesireable. It works poorly in winter because snow slides down and crushes the edges. If the rain is really horizontal it will get under the fly and over the floor. It is still my goto shelter because of weight and convenience, but not on trips where I can't afford failure.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great 4-season emergency shelter I have been looking for an emergency shelter that will protect me and 2-4 others during SAR missions in the Colorado wilderness. Square tarps were light but hard to set up, and cuben pyramids were simple but pricey. I've seen this lightweight silnylon 'mid work well in the snow with optional snow anchors, and with some paracord and/or thin bungees you can leave the center pole behind to save even more weight. Don't forget to apply SilNet to the interior seams 48 hours before you go.
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Light Housing on the Market As if this thing needs a review, I'll go ahead and toss in my 2 cents. I am a guide in the Frank Church Wilderness in the summer and travel to some remote locations via my whitewater kayak much of the year. I have spent time in South America/ Asia/ NZ and few other places, always with a megalight in the bag. This is the most bombproof tent if assembled correctly and can find it's niche anywhere if you just have the know how. The Megalight is simple structure that has a few cons, but makes up for it in simplicity/ weight/ and set up time. Packing to slightly larger than a softball, the megalight fits just about anywhere. The material is waterproof in even the most torrential of precipitous downfall, even in Peru's rainy season when rivers are rising faster than you can ask for your mom. The key is bomb-proofing the anchor points using; stakes, rocks, dead-man anchors, roots, etc. The carbon-fiber pole is incredibly light and telescopes to compensate for uneven ground. On 9 day self support kayaking trips, when space is a seriously precious commodity, I ditch the pole altogether and substitute a kayaking paddle or I find a nice overhanging branch and use a small loop at the top of the tent to suspend the structure with some P-Chord. This increases the amount of space in the tent to chuck gear around without navigating around a center pole. On days with torrential down-poor, it's pointless to put the mega-light back into a dry bag. I pack it in front of the bulkhead where water can get into it. Not an issue though due to the fact that the fabric sluffs water as soon as that structure is erected, and with fingers crossed, the sun can pop out to dry the material out in a matter of minutes. Cons- BUGS!!! I HATE BUGS! Sand Fly's and Mosquitos are the worst. The mega-light out of the box will not stop them, however, with a little gumption, seam seal, and bug netting, one can create a low-profile skirt around the base of the structure to close the gap between the ground and tent, while maintaining breathability. BOOM BAM! Buzz OFF Buggy-Bugs! Also, if you like sleeping on rafts/dories/sweep boats/ or in the back of trucks, you can rig the mega-light up to fit over them. Hope this helps. If you throw this piece of gear in the bag, I promise you won't regret it. Cheers
Date published: 2014-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Headed to Alaska? Want to keep your sanity and stoke level high on your next Alaska adventure while you ride out the storm? The Mega Light is mandatory glacier camping gear and provides you a deluxe kitchen as well as place to hang out sheltered from the elements that isn't your tent. Pack an Apollo lantern for late night card games or alpine start breakfast sessions!
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shelter I have been on multiple 20+ day expeditions with this shelter and have been really impressed. It is simple, light and dependable. The hiking pole option for the center pole is huge. I would really stress that owners make sure the buckle at the bottom of the zipper is always used to avoid zipper damage and to seam seal the seams for added protection/durability. By far my favorite shelter I have had.
Date published: 2015-10-28
  • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_10008369, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart