Black Diamond Easy Rider Via Ferrata Set

Black Diamond Easy Rider Via Ferrata Set

Black Diamond Easy Rider Via Ferrata Set is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 8.
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_10085127, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.8 Star Rating
4.8
$109.95

Select a Size
This Item SHIPS FREE

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using Ship Speeds of 1-5 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 5-10 day shipping will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we'll special-order the product for you and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and can only be shipped via 4-5 Day Shipping. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to accept delivery so we will call to schedule.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $11.00 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200 jacket at Moosejaw.com, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on MoosejawRewards.com.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10085127

The Easy Rider Via Ferrata Set by Black Diamond. A deluxe lanyard set-up with unique lock/unlock mechanism on the carabiners.

FEATURES of the Black Diamond Easy Rider Via Ferrata Set

  • 2 Easy Rider carabiners have internal locking mechanism with squeeze actuation
  • Energy Absorption System limits load impact in case of a fall
  • Extendable, bungee-style lanyards
  • Webbing loop attaches directly to the harness

- + Product Specifications
Weight: 17 oz
Disclaimer: All climbing equipment is final sale.
Strength: 24 kN
Best Use: Climbing
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I bought this Via Ferrata for numerous routes in Europe. The function has been flawless for me so far. The carabiner design is the reason I purchased these over the other design. My friend has another version that requires you to unlock the gate much like a regular locking carabiner, thus slowing us down allot along the way. The easy rider is a matter of a squeeze and that's it. The only thing I have run into is on some difficult routes the cables get to far away for the arms to reach, so I always have a dynex sling as a backup just in case I ever run into this problem. Otherwise they are awesome and I highly recommend them.
Date published: 2015-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tested in the Dolomites I had a set of these in the Dolomites for a bunch of via ferratas and loved them. The clipped to the cables easily and securely and releasing the gate was simple with my palm. I liked the bungee-type cord which kept the rig neat ant sleek vs the unweidy systems I witnessed others using.
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Slick Setup Have used the easy rider on two via ferrata climbs as of this posting and highly recommend. The carabiners are very ergonomic; even with my very large hands the internal locking mechanism is a breeze to disengage. The length of the lanyards is perfect; long enough to allow freedom of movement around the cable, but not too long so that the carabiners are out of reach when they fall behind.
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great We use these on our via ferrata where we see 50 - 150+ customers a day. We have purchased over 60 of these and I believe we have thoroughly tested them. I would like to emphasize that we use these commercially and the issues that I will be addressing below are probably not normally seen by the avg climber until after more than 5 years of regular use. We have found that the carabiners need to be greased/cleaned thoroughly during heavy use to avoid sticking, especially after a good downpour. I believe that these 'biners stick more easily due to more moving parts and having a more 'open' design (allowing grit/water in more easily). We have also found that the pins that hold the gate tend to "deform" when users repeatedly squeeze too hard to open them while using incorrect technique (trying to squeeze the gate open prior to pressing the orange 'button' along the spine). This "deformation" introduces slightly more side-to-side gate action. As it gets worse (over weeks of heavy, heavy daily use) the gate tends to hang up on the nose of the 'biner, sometimes preventing proper automatic closure. I only say "deform" because I don't exactly know the reason behind the issue. When this issue first came up (last year), I talked to BD and they assessed the 'biners and have since revamped their manufacturing process and tweaked the design slightly to help avoid this issue. To the best of my knowledge these new ferrata sets (as of the end of the summer last year) are not affected by this issue. The only other issue we have found with these ferrata sets is the elastic band within the webbing arm rips from the stitching after heavy use and repeatedly being soaked by rain. To date, we have only had two sets affected by this issue which does NOT affect the structural integrity of the set. It only makes one of the arms of the set look sad and sag. I feel I need to emphasize that we use these ferrata sets daily from May to Sept and we use them HEAVILY. I suspect that the amount of use these get in one summer would be the equivalent of more than 5 years of regular use in variable weather. I don't believe most users would encounter the issues we have due to the nature of our program. I also need to emphasize how awesome the customer service and warranty department have been in handling our issues. When the gate action problem arose they worked with me to get to the root of the problem. They came up with a solution in a timely manner and sent replacements very quickly. Even with these issues I have mentioned above, I still highly recommend this ferrata set. It is extremely easy to use for all ages/hand sizes and it also easy to clean/grease.
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth as glass specialized lockers, well-retracting tethering slings, the requisite screamer. Do you really need a v.f. tether? If you're not doing vie ferrate (what do you expect? I was an academic!) or only doing v.f. traverses perhaps you needn't bother, but for long and steep routes, it's a time and energy saver as well as providing as much security as we can ask for. Slightly pricier than BD's other v.f. tether the Easy Rider has 'biners even easier to click than non-lockers, smooth as glass. And besides, you get BD's classic lack with orange accents (my high school colors, and matching my crocs). After some problems for tethers a couple of years ago, BD has come in with what's needed (though their's weren't a problem that I've heard of) for improved reliability. We won't find better in the foreseeable future. Dolomites are just around the corner (but you don't find me on their 5.11 equivalent v.f.s)
Date published: 2014-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality So easy to use! Clipping in and reopening was fast and easy. Fortunately, never fell far enough to fully test the line!
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice!!! I love it I use this for tree climbing and I love it. It does exactly what I need it to do
Date published: 2013-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool!!! These are really cool! We use them on a ropes course. Very safe. Very reliable.
Date published: 2012-11-03
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_10085127, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart