Arcteryx Men's Theta AR Jacket
Black
Admiral
Admiral
Admiral
Admiral
Admiral
Admiral
Admiral
Admiral
Admiral
Admiral
Twinleaf

Arcteryx Men's Theta AR Jacket

Arcteryx Men's Theta AR Jacket is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 58.
  • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_10220099, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.6 Star Rating
4.6
$625.00

Select a Size Select a Color
FREE SHIPPING

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using Ship Speeds of 1-5 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 5-10 day shipping will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we'll special-order the product for you and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and can only be shipped via 4-5 Day Shipping. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to accept delivery so we will call to schedule.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $62.50 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200 jacket at Moosejaw.com, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on MoosejawRewards.com.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10220099

The Arcteryx Men's Theta AR Jacket is a favorite among Moosejaw employees and seasoned veterans alike. I'm not trying to say we're not seasoned veterans, some of us are. I'm just saying that Steven in accounting loves his Theta AR for rain protection from his car to the office, whereas J.T. utilizes his for backcountry skiing. Fully featured with GORE-TEX® Pro Shell, pit zips, anatomical shaping, pack pockets, taped seams and tons of other features, this all-around technical mountain shell will handle whatever you throw at it.

Moosejaw Staff Pick
"The Arcteryx Men's Theta AR Jacket is totally awesome, you guys. The Theta AR makes a great rain jacket in the spring, and an even better hardshell in the winter when you learn how to layer properly. Plus, you get to look like a total pro when everyone else around you is wearing boring jackets."
Matt - Moosejaw Secret Headquarters

FEATURES of the Arcteryx Men's Theta AR Jacket

  • Rugged, durable and breathable GORE-TEX Pro Shell; light and supple 40D fabric through main body, reinforced in high wear areas with hardwearing 80D fabrics
  • DWR finish sheds snow and rain
  • WaterTight Vision center front zipper seals out the elements
  • Helmet compatible DropHood with fast adjustment is designed to rotate with your head
  • Two hand pockets, internal laminated pocket with zipper, and sleeve pocket
  • Laminated drop back hem gives you full seat coverage and is adjustable to help keep cold drafts out
  • Taped seams with 1.6mm seam allowance keeps water out and reduces bulk and weight
  • Gusseted underarms, articulated elbows, and anatomical shaping provide exceptional comfort and increase range of mobility
  • Arcteryx's 'Standard Fit' is trim, with room for a base layer and light fleece, syntehtic, or down mid layer
  • Sleeve pocket with WaterTight zip, internal chest pocket with laminated zip and two high-volume hand pockets
  • Laminated die-cut Velcro cuff adjusters with elastic
  • Glove-friendly hood adjusters
  • Laminated chin guard
  • One-hand adjustable drawcords
  • Anatomical shaping for fit and comfort
  • Gender specific patterning
  • Ergonomic 3-Dimensional patterning for enhanced comfort and mobility
  • Athletic fit for a slimmer more flattering profile
  • Pit zippers for easy venting
  • Corded zipper-pulls reduce noise and are easy to grab
  • Zipper garages to protect zipper closure from snow and rain
  • Adjustable elastic waist drawcord
  • Reinforced shoulders, arms and hips
  • A durable micro-grid woven backer reduces weight and is also highly abrasion resistant

- + Product Specifications
Waterproof: Yes
Hood Type: Fixed, Adjustable, Helmet Compatible
Exterior Pockets: 3
Jacket Fabric: 100% Nylon
Product Technology: GORE-TEX Pro
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Type of Waterproofing: GORE-TEX 3L
Weight: 17.1 oz
Breathability: Good Breathability
Gender: Mens
Features: GORE-TEX, Internal Pockets, Pit Zips, Hood, Adjustable Drawcord Hem, Adjustable Hood, Helmet Compatible Hood
Jacket Length: Thigh
Best Use: Hiking, Rainwear, Backpacking, Snowboarding, Skiing
Fit Type: Regular Fit
Collection: Mountain Performance
Insulation: Synthetic
GORE-TEX Pro

GORE-TEX Pro
GORE-TEX Pro material offers maximized ruggedness which makes it ideal for extreme and extended use, like mountaineering, climbing or skiing. It's super durable, super waterproof, and super windproof.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket, look at the sizing charts Im 6'2", 205 pounds, a large in EVERYTHING. originally ordered a large and it was definitely too big. if i was using it for winter with lots of layering it would have worked but for summer, even for a sweatshirt underneath the medium was the right choice. When i looked at the sizing charts on the arcteryx site though, i realized that my measurements all fit the medium size measurements (especially because of the longer cut that gave me the height i needed). Otherwise, its been completely waterproof in everything I've put it through so far. only other complaint is the hood is massive. the jacket looks awesome
Date published: 2012-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am in love with this Jacket!! Well where do I begin. First off the fit is quite large. I am 6'2" 200lbs and I am wearing the medium in this. I can easily layer under it as well. I have used this jacket for 20 degree (Canadian Celsius ehh) rainstorms backpacking, -40 layered up snowshoeing, and everything in between. Breathes perfectly and always stays dry. Longer length is great it does not ride up your back with a pack on like some others do. Comes about half way down my as*. HUGE pit zips when needed. Articulated hood is great and can adjust to fit head and helmet no problem. I will buy this jacket over and over again! Arcteryx is amazing to deal with and the fit is perfect.
Date published: 2013-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If I only could have one jacket ... It would be this one. Great fit. Light. Obviously waterproof and windproof. Has everything you need, and nothing you don't. Perfect length for skiing and not too long for climbing or ascending the steeps. For casual wear the pockets are useless ... but, uh, if you're out on the town use the pockets on your pants. Besides, even if the pockets were lower and then would be useless/uncomfortable with a harness on, it's just one, thin layer of gortex that doesn't keep your hands warm. I've hit rocks and trees in major, high speed wrecks and had to check on them to make sure THEY were OK because the jacket didn't feel a thing :)
Date published: 2012-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shell for Everything! The Theta AR is by far the best shell I have owned. For skiing and winter weather protection the Theta has performed beyond expectations. The breathability along with the snow and rain protection cannot be beat. I skied in this jacket all last season and will do the same this winter. The range of motion this jacket offered never made me feel cramped or stiff. Although this is not a ski specific jacket, the length the Theta AR offers was enough without feeling like I had a dress on. The tall collar and adjustable hood provide plenty of coverage for the neck and head without blinding me through the moguls. Wore this jacket all summer as well. The large pit zips allow for plenty of breathability during strenuous hiking. If you want a four season all around rain shell this is it!
Date published: 2011-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The One that Does it All !!! The Theta AR is the most versatile jacket I have owned. This shell will be the only one you will need in your arsenal of jackets. It is completely waterproof/windproof with Gore-Tex Pro Shell and seam tape on the zippers. It is a relaxed fit that looks good if you are wearing it around town but it also works great when out in the backcountry. It had the longer back which was a huge seller for me, a number of jackets on the market are cut right to about your waist which isn't ideal when the majority of the people purchasing a jacket like this are very active and move around. It is the one jacket at can do it all.
Date published: 2012-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile and Bombproof Hardshell The main reason I bought this jacket is because of it's versatility. I have used it for hiking, backpacking, ice climbing, mountaineering, and snowboarding and I have nothing but good things to say about it. The extra length on the Theta is great as it covers your butt and the jacket is reinforced with the heavier Gore-tex in key wear areas like the butt, shoulders, hips, and elbows. ,,,,I think the Theta is the #1 best all-around jacket for multi-sport activities and even everyday wear as a rain-shell. ,,,,As for fit, I am 6'4" 215lbs, athletically built, and I bought a large. The jacket does run a little big, but the large is perfect for throwing over my base and mid layers.
Date published: 2014-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Theta AR The technical ability of this jacket cannot be questioned. It is the best constructed and lightest shell I have owned. I am just over 6ft tall and about 98kgs. Normall I am an XL in most clothing. My chest measured 42", so I ordered the Large. The size is perfect. There is enough room for a thermal and a fleece. The fit is athletic, so there is not a lot of excess material around the torso when wearing a fleece, and movement is not restricted in any way The sleeves are a great length, as is the length of the jacket itself. The collar and hood setup is great. Finally, I have read alot about these jackets being made in China. I would like to say for the record that mine was made in Canada, which just tops off the perfect jacket for me.
Date published: 2012-08-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Before you consider to buy this jacket, be aware that the front zipper is not resistant to water and strong winds. I have used this jacket for about two years now. The quality, design and function of this jacket are the best that I have tried out so far in my life, with all the great Arc’teryx details. I have to especially mention the “drop hood” that not allows the water to poor into my neck in strong front winds. (It does on my Alpha SV with the “storm hood”) So who am I to criticize some of the best products that Arc’teryx produce. Well, I am an officer in the Norwegian Armed Forcers and spend about 80 days/nights outdoor each year. I’m always in search of the best products out there, and I don’t mind to spend a lot to get them. But in this case the product doesn’t stand up to my expectations. When I use this jacket in storm conditions up in the high mountains I can feel the wind blowing through the front zipper and I get wet on my merino wool shirt when it rains. The same is happening with my Alpha SV and Beta FL jacket. I can not understand why Arc’teryx is using this type of front zipper. So to conclude. Great jacket, bad front zipper.
Date published: 2012-12-05
  • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_10220099, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw

Re: prior question, what I meant to ask was how would the chest fit on the Theta AR compare to the Beta AR? If I find the Beta AR too snug in a med, would I experience the same fit in the chest with a Theta AR?

Asked by: Matchewy
Thanks for the questions! Both jackets will have a "Regular Fit" - so I would say the chest fit will be the same. The only differences between the two models is the length. The Theta series offers the longest length. I did measure both Theta AR chest sizes. Medium is 48 inches and Large is 51 inches. Hope this helps!
Answered by: Foxxy Cleopatra
Date published: 2016-12-27

I moved freshly cut cedar logs while wearing this jacket and it is now stained with cedar sap.  Anyone know how to remove these stains?

Asked by: Moser317
Hey there, Thanks for reaching out to us! Have you tried hand sanitizer or rubbing alcohol? Apply a small amount of either one, moisten a soft cloth and blot the sap. If the sap is thick or the area is large, pour the cleaner directly onto the sappy area and work it in with your fingers. Launder the clothing as usual with regular laundry detergent and warm water. Prior to placing the piece in the dryer, check to ensure all of the sap was removed. If any sap remains, repeat the above procedures. I hope this helps you out of your sticky situation!
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-05-18

I just bought this jacket and love it, but, it's loud. Like, annoyingly loud. Does it quiet down over time or after washing?

Asked by: Skeen
Hey there, Thanks for the awesome question. Unfortunately this item will not get much quieter over time. The material that this jacket is made with is the reason that it is so crinkly and noisy. Most waterproof shells are a bit on the noisier side of things! I hope this helps.
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-08-16
  • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_13CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_3
  • loc_en_US, sid_10220099, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Arc'teryx Men's Jackets

SIZE X-Small Small Medium Large X-Large XXL
Chest 36" 38" 40" 43" 46" 50"
Waist 29" 31" 33" 36" 39" 43"
Hip 36" 38" 40" 43" 46" 50"
Sleeve 32" 33" 34" 35" 36" 37"

HOW to MEASURE
CHEST: Measure around the widest part of the chest, holding the measuring tape under your armpit.

WAIST: Measure around the narrowest part of the waist, usually near the belly button.

HIP: Stand with feet together and measure around the widest part of the hip.

SLEEVE: With the arm slightly bent, measure from the center back neck bone, over the shoulder and to the wrist bone.

ARC'TERYX FIT GUIDE
NEXT to SKIN FIT: These snugly-fitting garments are made with stretch fabrics to fit next to the skin to enhance moisture management and thermal efficiency. Used for base layers which integrate well with Arc'teryx Expedition, Trim, Athletic and Relaxed Fit styles.

TRIM FIT: These trim fitting garments share motion-friendly traits with an Arc'teryx Regular fit style, but are patterned with lower volume for reduced bulk. The Arc'teryx trim fit is sized for a base layer and a trim synthetic or down filled mid-layer.

REGULAR FIT: This is the "Arc'teryx Standard" fit. The complex patterns used utilize anatomical shaping and gussets to enhance motion and eliminate excess bulk. Trimmer than the Relaxed fit with room for a base layer, a light fleece mid-layer and a synthetic or down filled mid-layer.

RELAXED FIT: Relaxed fit garments rely on both articulation and higher volume patterns to provide comfort and mobility. This is a looser fit featuring room for a base layer plus a thick cold weather mid-layer.

EXPEDITION FIT: Expedition fit is suitable for winter / extreme conditions. The larger cut accommodates multiple layers without binding or restricting movement. Their maximum fit with room for a base layer plus multiple, thick cold weather mid-layers.

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart