Arcteryx Men's Beta AR Jacket
Black
Hylidae
Hylidae
Hylidae
Hylidae
Hylidae
Hylidae
Hylidae
Hylidae
Hylidae
Hylidae
Admiral
Cardinal
Nautic Grey
Madras

Arcteryx Men's Beta AR Jacket

Arcteryx Men's Beta AR Jacket is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 82.
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_10220010, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.6 Star Rating
4.6
$575.00

Select a Size Select a Color
FREE SHIPPING

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using Ship Speeds of 1-5 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 5-10 day shipping will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we'll special-order the product for you and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and can only be shipped via 4-5 Day Shipping. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to accept delivery so we will call to schedule.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $57.50 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200 jacket at Moosejaw.com, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on MoosejawRewards.com.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10220010

If, for some reason, society collapses and we enter a state of pure chaos, I will instantly run into our warehouse and grab an Arc'teryx Men's Beta AR Jacket (and then a couple of our heftiest ice axes). I would want the no-nonsense protection with bombproof durability. The GORE-TEX Pro will block wind, rain, snow and whatever else falls from the sky in our broken world. It is light and packable with an athletic fit that will accommodate layers for the coldest winters (of our discontent). The hand pockets (pack compatible) and pit-zips allow for ample ventilation so I could stay on the move even with drastically changing temperatures and conditions. This situation is purely hypothetical and will probably/hopefully never happen, but if the Beta AR is up for that challenge, it can certainly handle the challenges of our current world.

FEATURES of the Arcteryx Men's Beta AR Jacket

  • Rugged, durable and breathable GORE-TEX Pro Shell; light and supple 40D fabric through main body, reinforced in high wear areas with hardwearing 80D fabrics
  • WaterTight Vislon center front zipper keeps the water out
  • Helmet compatible DropHood with fast adjustment is designed to rotate with your head without impairing your vision
  • Micro-seam allowance (1.6mm) reduces bulk and weight
  • Two hand pockets, internal laminated pocket with zipper
  • Arcteryx 'Standard Fit' is an anatomically designed trim fit designed to eliminate excess bulk, with room for a base layer, a light fleece and/or synthetic or down mid layer
  • Chin guard with brushed microsuede facing for added comfort
  • Laminated pit zippers allow for faster venting and improved temperature regulation
  • Die-cut Velcro® cuff adjusters reduce bulk, and won't catch or tear off
  • e3D Ergonomic 3-Dimensional patterning for enhanced comfort and mobility
  • Adjustable hem drawcord keeps the cold out
  • Corded zipper-pulls reduce noise and are easy to grab
  • Articulated elbows and no-lift gusseted underarms for comfort and a higher range of motion
  • A high tenacity nylon face fabric with a flat filament warp yarn and false twist textured fill yarn, backed with a micro-grid woven backer
  • Waterproof, windproof
  • Full standalone collar with a separate hood
  • The DropHood can be cinched with one-handed drawcords, allowing it to rotate with the head without obscuring vision when turning from side to side
  • Front zipper height varies according to the intended use; protects chin and neck from wind, snow and rain
  • The world's first WaterTight zippers to pass the W.L. GORE extreme wet weather test
  • Taped seams for added weatherproofness
  • DWR finish (Durable Water Repellent) helps repel water from fabric surface
  • One-hand adjustable drawcords
  • Anatomical shaping for fit and comfort
  • Athletic fit for a slimmer more flattering profile
  • Laminated brim
  • Zipper garages to protect zipper closure from snow and rain
  • Drop back hem
  • Laminated hem
  • Embroidered logo
  • Non-chafing label

- + Product Specifications
Exterior Pockets: 2
Breathability: Moderate Breathability
Hood Type: Adjustable, Helmet Compatible
Internal Pockets: 1
Jacket Fabric: 100% Nylon
Product Technology: GORE-TEX Pro, GORE-TEX, DWR
Type of Waterproofing: GORE-TEX Pro
Waterproof: Yes
Weight: 16.2 oz
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Manufacturer Warranty: Lifetime
Gender: Mens
Features: Adjustable Cuffs, Adjustable Drawcord Hem, Adjustable Hood, Internal Pockets, GORE-TEX, Hood, Waterproof, Pit Zips, Windproof, Helmet Compatible Hood
Jacket Length: Hip
Best Use: Mountaineering and Alpine, Climbing, Snowsports, Hiking, Backpacking
Fit Type: Regular Fit
Collection: Mountain Performance
Insulation: None
GORE-TEX Pro

GORE-TEX Pro
GORE-TEX Pro material offers maximized ruggedness which makes it ideal for extreme and extended use, like mountaineering, climbing or skiing. It's super durable, super waterproof, and super windproof.

GORE-TEX fabric technology

GORE-TEX®
Garments made with GORE-TEX® fabric are durably waterproof, windproof and highly breathable, providing reliable weather protection and maximum comfort for a wide range of activities. These garments keep your body dry by allowing perspiration vapor to escape so you remain cool during activity and warm during cool-down.

Check Out All GORE-TEX® Products >

DWR tech

Durable Water Repellant
DWR (Durable Water Repellent) is a coating that is applied to fabrics which makes them water-resistant, or hydrophobic. A DWR finish doesn't interfere with breathability, which makes it perfect for adverse conditions in the backcountry.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the Scottish hills! I originally had a Beta AR jacket in XL and to be honest it was huge. I lost weight and downsized to a large which is much better. They are made slightly big. I'm 5'11" and 182 lbs and the lareg is perfect for me. I venture out into the Scottish hills in this every weekend. You can get 4 seasons in one day at any time of the year here so you need the gear to compliment this. I pair the Beta AR with the Alpha SL pant when the precip up's a notch. The jacket I have is a Canadian made one but it doesn't matter where they are made as they are all constructed with amzing skill and precision. Yea, the price is high but you only pay for what you get.
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from simply the best... I have owned the Beta AR for a little over a year and it is the best fitting, best performing rain shell I have ever had. I am 6'4", 200lbs. and the large fits me perfectly. I have used it in a variety of very wet, very windy conditions and it has performed flawlessly. I have owned the "best" rain shells from Mountain Hardwear, TNF, and others. These jackets don't fit me as well and while they perform similarly to the Beta AR initially, they start having performance issues after six months or so. I am confident the Beta AR will perform exceptionally well for years. This jacket is expensive, but if you consider its quality and the performance guarantee, it is more reasonable.
Date published: 2011-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly is an 'All-round' jacket I bought my first Beta AR ~5 years ago. Since then the jacket has been dragged across the mountains of BC hunting sheep, exposed to the African sun hunting kudu, and scrapped through the Northern QC forests for Moose. It has survived it all and insured I did as well. It has been worn all year round to protect from sun, rain, snow, and wind. I can't recommended this jacket enough- It can take some serious abuse and not only keep going, but be comfortable along the way. I've now just bought my second as I wouldn't consider another. The Beta AR has become a second skin. My only complaint about the jacket: My first one was made in Canada. My newest is made in China. I wish Arc'Teryx would hire and pay Canadians to make such great gear.
Date published: 2014-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Standard for Over Ten Years It's been quite a while since I bought my first Arc'Teryx jacket, the Theta AR, and with good reason: I never needed to buy another! I wore it beneath pack straps, scraped it across the craggy surfaces of river bluffs and once during a sudden rainstorm used it as an impromptu bag for my camera equipment. Recently, though, I updated by purchasing a new Beta AR and I'm really liking the versatility of its shorter length. I'm 5' 8", 190lbs and the large size provides the right amount of room for layering when it's cold and hits comfortably right around my waist. Here's to another decade of wear.
Date published: 2011-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you need dependable shelter, this is definitely worth the price Thanks to excellent materials, construction and fit, my Beta AR jacket has been virtually impenetrable to rain and snow. I waited several years for an excuse to invest in an Arc'Teryx jacket. That excuse came when I booked 4 weeks of mountaineering in the Peruvian Andes (during the rainy season). I needed something that was light and packable, but that could also withstand a wide range of mountain conditions. This jacket did the trick in a variety of temperatures and precipitation. Really amazing performance. My only issue is that it fits a bit on the short side. My base and midlayers often hang just a centimeter or two below the waistline. Not a big deal, but prospective buyers should bear this in mind given that Arc'Teryx offers jackets with longer cuts.
Date published: 2014-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hardshell I have encountered Over the years I have not been willing to spend the money on a good hardshell, instead I would buy a decently priced hardshell and they would start to leak in a couple of years or they were too heavy for the backpacking trip. This jacket is not like that of course it is gortex so it is loud to hike in and it is a shell so you need layering underneath. (I layer a fleece and an arc'teryx atom underneath and have yet to be cold in Michigan) This jacket is cut shorter than most hardshells that I have encountered (I I don't see this as a problem but it is up to you) Overall this is the best Hardshell I have found.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best! i adore this jacket. the fit is perfect. It's light and built right.... pit zips and waterproof. i am 6.1 215 pounds and i have a large. the cut seems to be a bit slimmer than other brands but i can still layer a little. I feel the fit is perfect for me. length is perfect. If you like a longer jacket, they have other models that can accommodate. This jackets been hit by trees and bounced off rocks and it's still in one piece. Still waterproof. Enjoy! As a disclaimer, I am affiliated with Gore for product testing of Gore-tex products for the purpose of product review and recommendation. I do receive items from Gore for these purposes.
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile and excellent customer service I bought this jacket in 2005. I travel all around the world regularly and I always take it with me. It has worked impecably in rain forests, desserts, rock climbing, running under the rain and even snowboarding. After eight years of average usage the bottom gaiter became unglued and some of the draw strings where damanged. I sent an email to Arcteryx and the fixed it for me free of charge!! Thank you Arcteryx, definitely worth the price!
Date published: 2013-02-12
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_10220010, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw

Can you tell me the main differences btw the Alpha SV, Theta AR and the Beta AR jackets? Understand Alpha SV won awards. Interested if there is big differences in the materials.  Own a Atom LT Hoody and it is AWESOME! Hands down a great quality product.

Asked by: Chris89
Hey Chris, Thanks for reaching out to us. The main difference between the jackets are indicated by Arcteryx's naming scheme. The Alpha series focuses on climbing and alpinism gear that are harness and helmet compatible, have maximum articulation for overhead motions, and the highest possible durability-to-weight ratio.Theta garments are made for all around use with a longer length, chest and interior pockets, and room for layers. Beta jackets are also made for all around use, have a moderate length, hand and interior pockets, and room for layers. All jackets have a drop hem and are helmet compatible. The SV stands for Severe Weather and is made from the most durable materials that offer the most weather protection, while AR stands for All Around and provides high performance and weather protection for multiple activities. I hope this helps!
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-11-12

Hi, Please let me know from what country this jacket, Arcteryx Men's Beta AR Jacket, was manufactured.   Thank you

Asked by: Dien
Mine is made in Canada, but it's a few years old. It might vary. I'd give MJ a call and see if they can check a current one.
Answered by: tperkins
Date published: 2017-01-27

How warm is this jacket? I live in Buffalo, NY and need something that can withstand 0 temps.  Can I zip a layer into it as a lining?

Asked by: WinterIsComing
Hey there, The Beta AR is a shell jacket which is designed not as an insulating piece but to be worn over a warmer middle layer, and it's primary function is to block out wind and moisture as well as sealing in warmth. Worn alone it would not do much to keep you warm, but wearing it under a down or fleece mid-layer would result in a very warm combination. It is not designed to be zip in compatible but works very well warn over lining.
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2015-09-08
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_3
  • loc_en_US, sid_10220010, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Arc'teryx Men's Jackets

SIZE X-Small Small Medium Large X-Large XXL
Chest 36" 38" 40" 43" 46" 50"
Waist 29" 31" 33" 36" 39" 43"
Hip 36" 38" 40" 43" 46" 50"
Sleeve 32" 33" 34" 35" 36" 37"

HOW to MEASURE
CHEST: Measure around the widest part of the chest, holding the measuring tape under your armpit.

WAIST: Measure around the narrowest part of the waist, usually near the belly button.

HIP: Stand with feet together and measure around the widest part of the hip.

SLEEVE: With the arm slightly bent, measure from the center back neck bone, over the shoulder and to the wrist bone.

ARC'TERYX FIT GUIDE
NEXT to SKIN FIT: These snugly-fitting garments are made with stretch fabrics to fit next to the skin to enhance moisture management and thermal efficiency. Used for base layers which integrate well with Arc'teryx Expedition, Trim, Athletic and Relaxed Fit styles.

TRIM FIT: These trim fitting garments share motion-friendly traits with an Arc'teryx Regular fit style, but are patterned with lower volume for reduced bulk. The Arc'teryx trim fit is sized for a base layer and a trim synthetic or down filled mid-layer.

REGULAR FIT: This is the "Arc'teryx Standard" fit. The complex patterns used utilize anatomical shaping and gussets to enhance motion and eliminate excess bulk. Trimmer than the Relaxed fit with room for a base layer, a light fleece mid-layer and a synthetic or down filled mid-layer.

RELAXED FIT: Relaxed fit garments rely on both articulation and higher volume patterns to provide comfort and mobility. This is a looser fit featuring room for a base layer plus a thick cold weather mid-layer.

EXPEDITION FIT: Expedition fit is suitable for winter / extreme conditions. The larger cut accommodates multiple layers without binding or restricting movement. Their maximum fit with room for a base layer plus multiple, thick cold weather mid-layers.

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart