Arcteryx Men's Altra 85 Pack
Carbon Copy

Arcteryx Men's Altra 85 Pack

Arcteryx Men's Altra 85 Pack is rated 5.0 out of 5 by 11.
  • y_2017, m_6, d_27, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_10207088, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
5 Star Rating
5.0
$445.99 - $498.95
up to 11% off

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Mens Backpacks

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10207088

The Arcteryx Altra 85 LT Pack is an expedition pack that is loaded with technological advancements that allow it to comfortably carry heavy loads over all kinds of terrain. Ice axes, 8 days of food, oxygen tanks and the entire first season of 24 on DVD, it can effortlessly haul them all with the help of the pivoting Load Transfer Disc™. The pear-shaped Altra design holds the pack close to the body, to limit load movement and allow for extended comfort. The Wingman™ side pockets are accessible without removing the pack to prevent constant stop-and-go. The Altra 85 also offers a number of other "quality of life" features like a U shaped kangaroo pocket and a dual-zippered lid. Comfort, convenience and all-out hauling power.

FEATURES of the Arcteryx Altra 85 AR Pack

  • C2 (composite construction) suspension system
  • Twin 6005 T-6 extruded aluminium M-bar stays
  • Double chamber top lid for easy gear organization and access
  • Extendable top lid and extension collar for larger loads
  • Hydration sleeve external access point
  • Double-pull, easy open collar cordlock systems
  • GridLock shoulder straps adjust for both height and width
  • Back panel sits away from back and provides ventilation
  • U-shaped zipper for easy access
  • Large front kangaroo pocket for frequently used items
  • Dual P'ax ice tool carry systems
  • Wingman one-handed easy access pockets
  • Rotating Load Transfer Disc distributes load to hips
  • Stretch Mesh waist belt pockets
  • Burly N420r-HT Nylon 6,6 high tenacity pack fabric for both abrasion resistance and longevity
  • Anatomically shaped shoulder straps
  • Padded, contoured shoulder straps
  • Extendable collar with drawcord for additional capacity
  • Large, webbing pull-tabs for quick and easy, glove-friendly access
  • Top loading lid closure with two buckles to secure pack contents
  • Removable / extendable top lid with two zippered compartments
  • Four compression straps-two on each side
  • HD 80 foam is high density polyethylene foam that provides support and structure to the bag, plus comfort against the back

- + Product Specifications
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Gender: Mens
Features: Compression Straps, Sternum Strap, Load-Lifter Straps, Detachable Lid, Ice Axe / Trekking Pole Loops, Ventilated Back Panel, Hydration Compatible, Hip Belt
Best Use: Mountaineering and Alpine, Expedition, Backpacking
Pack Capacity: 85 liters / 5187 cubic inches
Frame Type: Internal
Pack Access: Top, Front, Panel
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly Comfortable and Adjustable for heavy loads. I have been using this pack for a couple weeks now and cant find anything wrong with it! It's a fantastic pack! I have already notice a few trips where I don't even feel like I am carrying a pack at all. I really like the adjustable shoulder straps to accommodate my broad shoulders. And I recommend using the provide grease packet for your first trip out or the squeaky disc will drive you mad...thank goodness I had music to distract me! I also have to say the easily accessible space for a water bladder is great as well. I just placed an order for the waterproof pack cover! I am very impressed with Moosejaw and there amazing customer service!
Date published: 2015-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Backpack! This is a great pack! Well-built, simply designed, with enough pockets, and easy access to all areas of the pack. I returned the Gregory Whitney 95 for this pack because the Whitney seemed cumbersome and the pack seemed overly complicated in its design. This pack has a simple design, allows you to easily remove all straps, and feels solid in construction throughout. After researching other packs, I would spend the extra money on this pack any day, and I would also sacrifice 10-15 liters to have this pack over a larger one - for those who think they need/want a 95-100 liter pack.
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent design Replaced 5 year old Osprey Aether 85 with this pack, Altra 85. Tested recently on one 8 day trip mostly off trail and class 2 passes in Sierra Nevada, 43 pounds max (w/ water). The materials, hip belt shoulder straps and overall design of this pack are excellent (and superior to the Aether). Both packs are comfortable but the load transfer disc really does work esp when crawling up over rocks....adjustment of load transfer to back using upper straps required frequent tweaking but that's normal. Unless I'm missing something, the P'ax one-hand system does not work for hiking poles, just an ice axe. Would love a design to clip in poles securely and then remove without needing to remove the pack. Never felt pack was too large (say compared to the 75); accommodates large bear canister and other items well. (6'0'', used tall version).
Date published: 2014-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked well, durable. Solid design, UI, and accessibility. So far this is the best pack I've found. I can attest that this pack will bear 80+ pounds and feel surprisingly good. Even when others are describing the load as appearing "comically large". As comfortable as I was with 80 pounds is a testament to the fit and comfort of this pack. I was able to focus on the pain in my leg muscles and lungs. I love that this pack unzips in a full U-shape for full access to the main compartment. The extra zipper compartment on the back works well for jackets, rain covers, filters, and other things you want to pull out in a hurry. But you can always put it down and unzip the perimeter of the main compartment, as long as you haven't stuffed it so full it's difficult to re-zip. (Which happens to be my M.O.) It seems rugged, I've overstuffed parts of it without problems, although that's never a good idea. The side compartments where the hip belt joins the pack seem strange but are actually a good way to maximize otherwise unused space, and they do fit a standard Nalgene. The cover has two compartments and they zip as one would expect, at the top, as opposed to my old Osprey Aether which zipped more near the bottom, like it was designed to dump everything instantaneously out on the ground. The bladder sleeve is in the center of the back where you expect it, and the bottom of it can be unvelcro-ed from the back of the pack so it can be turned inside out to clean and dry. I would say the mobility features, primarily the rotating hip belt connection do seem to work well, and it feels more mobile than other packs I've tried. You can feel it rotating as you step. Only slight issues: - I would think a Regular would fit me pretty well, 5'10", ~31" waist, ~170#. But it's almost too small, I have to tighten it to the very max, there's no webbing left. - The back padding is fine, but it's not really vented. I assume Arcteryx could not figure out a way to make it feel like it's really attached to your back. Osprey webbing is nice and cool, but it does lead to disconnection of movement. So far, I've liked the connection and not really noticed the missing ventilation till I take it off and my shirt is soaked. So I prefer this trade-off. - I wouldn't mind real compartments on the hip belt rather than meager webbing. And there are no compartments on the shoulder straps, although I suppose this may violate Arcteryx simplicity too much. Still, I would totally use them. - There is narrow vertical webbing on the front of the shoulder straps, but lack of lateral webbing makes it harder to attach things, although I suppose you can rig something through the vertical webbing.
Date published: 2014-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable. Very durable I bought this pack with hopes that the high cost would pay off. I've been on many multi day hikes with plenty of camping gear packed with me. This pack has incredible space! It stood up well when the rain started. none of my clothing or gear got wet. I love the rotating hip belt but do find the straps slip slightly. With 60+ lbs in the pack, I was still quite comfortable and felt there was plenty of support. Overall, Great pack. Worth the extra few buck for dependability!
Date published: 2014-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freedom!!! The Altra 85 is a fantastic pack! I have an uneven pelvis thanks to a few big crashes over the years, and my past pack would list to one side when I walked. No amount of adjustments to the straps or weight distribution could fix it. The Altra's swiveling hip belt was a hugely attractive feature to me. I took it out on a three-day ski touring trip last weekend and am happy to report that it was magical! My pack felt like it was floating, and it stayed in line with my torso. Wow! My last multi-day pack was the Arcteryx Bora 75. I loved it, loved all the features, and the fabric, zippers, and clips are fully functional after 15 years of hard use. Naturally, I looked to Arcteryx for my next pack. I'm a 27-year-old female, about 5'8" and 145 pounds. I was enticed by the idea of a women's bag that was designed for my body, but the biggest size offered for the women's bag is 62L and that just doesn't cut it for me. I took a chance and went with the men's Altra 85 and it fit perfectly. The straps are comfortable; not too big, not too small. And the ability to unzip the entire pack like a suitcase makes loading it up a dream. The side pockets are easy to access; I could grab trail mix without taking off my pack. Last point: the bag can be compacted and used as a day pack. Other friends can't do this with their multi-day packs as they're too bulky. I love the streamlined design of the Altra. I'm really looking forward to the 15-20 years we're going to spend together. :)
Date published: 2015-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Pack I bought the Reg?tall in Carbon Copy.The suspension system is just fantastic. The shoulder straps are very easy to reposition to get an exact fit. The hip belt on the disc is a novel idea, and works really well. It stops the pack from swaying side-to-side on your shoulders. The stability of the pack is really noticeable, and for me reduces fatigue with a heavy-ish load (approx 25kgs) whether walking or scrambling. The fact that you can remove the hip belt and wrap it around the pack for travel is also great. Keeps the belt in the right shape. Buckle holds the tension well and doesn't slip. U-pouch is good for grabbing something buried deep without having to empty the pack. Big zippered pouch on the back great for stowing wet Theta AR jacket and Beta AR pants or went tent fly. Zippered wing pockets near the hip belt will easily hold 1L water bottles and trailmix. Camelback sits in its own pouch in the centre of the pack. Side compression straps will look after your hiking poles when you're not using them.The top compartment detaches from the pack, but unfortunately you cannot use it as a day pack, which is a pity. For me that would have made an awesome pack almost perfect. I got the pack cover which is huge.This is great because it allows for things hanging off your packet to be covered too. Compression straps allow you to tension it up nice and tight so it wont catch the wind or the scrub.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product to load all your gears! 85L is on the larger size of things but it needs to be that big for me to fit my ,,other gears in while it’s being checked on the airplane. The innovative load transfer disc ,,on the back really does work and keeps you comfortable with a heavy load. When the bag ,,isn’t full I also found that it did a really great job of cinching up nice and tidy. ,,Zippers run the full length of the pack meaning you can access it from the top to get ,,to everything that has sunk to the bottom.
Date published: 2014-04-17
  • y_2017, m_6, d_27, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_10207088, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Hipbelt Sizing
SIZE Small Medium Large
Men's 27 - 32" 32 - 37" 37 - 42"
Women's 25 - 30" 27 - 32" 30 - 35"
ARC'TERYX MEASUREMENT GUIDE

How to Find Your Foot Measurements

Arc'teryx packs are sized either in 3-length options: Short (S), Regular (R) and Tall (T), or in 2-length options: Short/Regular (SR), and Regular/Tall (RT).

Sizing refers to YOUR OWN BACK LENGTH

Measure your Back:

• Measure along the spine between the 7th cervical vertebra and the level of the hip iliac crest
• Compare this measurement to the Sizing Charts
• It is possible to interchange different size shoulder strap and hipbelt components on many Arc'teryx Packs, but this will not change or affect the back-length of the pack.

- + Warranty Info

Arc'teryx Warranty and Repair

Arc'teryx guarantees the quality and performance of all of their products. Items with defects in materials or workmanship will be replaced or repaired at the discretion of Arc'teryx for the practical lifetime of the product. Items that are damaged through wear and tear, misuse, or neglect may be repaired at a small charge.

How do I send back an item for Warranty, or get an item repaired by Arc'teryx?
For Customers in North America and Europe, Arc'teryx recommends that the product be returned to the store or site where it was originally purchased.

If this is not possible, fill out their online warranty form which can be found HERE. They will email you with full instructions on how to send your product to their Warranty and Repair Center. Do not send your item to them without first obtaining an RA number from Arc'teryx.

Arc'teryx is not responsible for items that are lost or damaged during shipping and cannot replace parcels that are lost during return shipment if proof of tracking is not available. Please use a guaranteed delivery service that provides tracking information, insurance, and proof of delivery when sending an item back to Arc'teryx.

For customs purposes, Arc'teryx requires you to provide them with a PHYSICAL address, however, your warranty/repair item can still be shipped to a PO Box.

How do I contact them with questions?
Complete their Warranty or Repair Request Form. If you have any questions or concerns, you can reach their Customer Service department at 1-866-458-2473.

What is and isn't covered under the Warranty Policy?
Defects in materials or workmanship are covered for the practical lifetime of the product. Material refers to zippers, buckles and fabrics. Workmanship refers to seams, seam tape and construction. Damage due to wear and tears such as rips, tears, abrasion or UV degradation, misuse or neglect is not covered under Arc'teryx's warranty policy but may be repairable for a fee.

What is covered under the Warranty Policy on Arc'teryx footwear?
Defects in material and workmanship will be covered by Arc'teryx for the practical lifetime of the product. The practical lifetime for footwear can vary drastically depending on the frequency and type of usage. Things such as the wearing of the outsole, frayed laces, nicks and tears can indicate that a shoe has surpassed its practical lifetime. These are examples of wear and tear or damage which are not covered by Arc'teryx. If you believe there is a defect in material or workmanship present on your product, please see follow the instructions on how to send it to Arc'teryx for assessment.

What does 'practical Lifetime of the product' mean?
Although Arc'teryx builds their products to last over extended periods of time, nothing lasts indefinitely. Materials will deteriorate and fade over time and moving parts will wear out. Arc'teryx will cover your product under their warranty policy until such a time that they have deemed the product to be worn out beyond reasonable repair. If the product is showing the signs of its age-for instance, the material has become thin or faded, there are rips and tears, the zippers no longer catch, the cuffs are fraying, or the soles are worn-they will take this into consideration when assessing your product for a warranty request. All gear will suffer from differing degrees of wear-and-tear, depending upon the user. Equipment used by an outdoor guide for 150 days a year will by comparison, degrade faster than gear used by a weekend skier. By taking care of your equipment you will ensure a longer lifetime for your gear. Arc'teryx recommends that you visit their Product Care page for more information on how to wash and care for your equipment.

Will Arc'teryx repair or replace my product?
If your Arc'teryx product fails due to a manufacturing defect, where possible, Arc'teryx will repair the item at no charge to you. They have repair centers in both Europe and North America that employ the same custom machinery and techniques that they use to create the original products. If the product is not repairable, or the cost of the repairs exceeds the value of the product, Arc'teryx may, at their discretion, choose to replace the product instead.

What happens if I rip or tear my jacket or pants?
Skis, snowboards, crampons, axes and other sharp equipment will damage clothing and gloves if they come into direct contact with them. Rips, tears, burns and punctures can occur during normal use and while carrying your equipment, and are not covered under the terms of the warranty. To assist you in keeping your product in optimal working condition, Arc'teryx offers a variety of repairs for a reasonable charge. Contact them and they will be happy to discuss your options.

What if I want to have my garment altered or tailored?
Arc'teryx does not offer custom alterations or modifications to their packs or garments at this time. For products made from GORE-TEX® fabrics they suggest using a GORE-TEX® authorized repair facility for alterations. There is a list of GORE-TEX® authorized repair shops in your area on the GORE-TEX® website.

Do alterations void my warranty?
Arc'teryx understands that individuals may, on occasion, wish to tailor their Arc'teryx products to suit their needs. If something should fail which is unrelated to any alterations, Arc'teryx will stand behind their products, provided that the Arc'teryx product is being used as intended. For a list of alteration facilities in your area, please visit the GORE-TEX® website.

How long will it take if I send my product in for warranty assessment and/or repair?
The typical turn-around time is 15 to 20 business days from the time they receive your product to the time they ship it back to you. Keep in mind that winter is the busiest season for warranty and repair service. Arc'teryx will provide you with updates and more accurate estimates throughout the process.

How do I prepare my item for return to Arc'teryx?
In order to comply with health and safety regulations, as well as for the protection of their staff, Arc'teryx kindly asks that all products be cleaned before being sent to them. Products that arrive unwashed may be subject to a cleaning fee before assessments can be made. To find out how to properly clean your garment, please visit the Arc'teryx Product Care page.

How are shipping costs handled?
Customers are responsible for shipping items to Arc'teryx, and Arc'teryx will cover the return shipping costs. Please ensure that you ship the product using a carrier that can provide you with tracking information and proof of delivery. Customers are responsible for their product until Arc'teryx has signed for its delivery.

What do repairs cost?
Repairs covered under the terms and conditions of the Arc'teryx warranty policy are performed at their expense. Costs for non-warranty repairs will vary depending upon the situation. Arc'teryx will provide you with as many repair options as possible based upon the amount of work and materials required and the expected end result. After your product has been received and assessed, Arc'teryx will be able to contact you with repair options and costs. Repairs requiring payment will never be performed without your authorization.

What is the Voltair Avalanche Airbag Limited Warranty?
The Voltair Airbag will be covered under warranty for manufacturing and material defects for the duration of three years after purchase or 50 inflations, whichever comes first.

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart