Osprey Aether 70 Pack
Midnight Blue
Midnight Blue
Midnight Blue

Osprey Aether 70 Pack

Osprey Aether 70 Pack is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 35.
  • y_2017, m_3, d_28, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_10210077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.7 Star Rating
4.7
$230.99   $289.95
20% off

Select a Size Select a Color
FREE SHIPPING

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using Ship Speeds of 1-5 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 5-10 day shipping will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we'll special-order the product for you and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and can only be shipped via 4-5 Day Shipping. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to accept delivery so we will call to schedule.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $5.77 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200 jacket at Moosejaw.com, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on MoosejawRewards.com.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10210077

The Osprey Aether 70 Pack is a custom fit backpack for weekend adventures on your close-to-home trails to week-long trips with your best buddies. The Aether 70 comes with an IsoForm4CM™ hipbelt that will transfer the weight to your hips and an IsoForm4™ harness to keep everything stable and comfortable from camp to camp. The 70 liters of space allows a spot for everything, even that one item that you'll never take out of your pack (I find there is always something), but you'll definitely use the lower zippered sleeping bag compartment, so rest easy. The top lid is removable if you're looking to drop weight and turns into a lumbar pack for a side-trip to that oh-so-cool waterfall off the main trail. Slip your hydration reservoir into the external sleeve against the backpanel and embark on the trip of a lifetime.

Products on Sale are Discontinued Styles or Colors.

FEATURES of the Osprey Aether 70 Pack

  • Add On Attachment
  • Dual Access Side Pocket
  • Dual Ice Axe Loops
  • External Hydration Compatible
  • Front Stretch Mesh Pocket
  • Hipbelt Pocket
  • Inside Out Compression
  • J-Panel Access
  • Lumbar Pack
  • Red Compression Strap
  • Sleeping Bag Compartment
  • Sleeping Pad Straps
  • Top Pocket

- + Product Specifications
Product Technology: Osprey Airscape, Osprey Custom Molding, Osprey Peripheral Frame
Weight (Extra Large): 5 lbs 3 oz
Pack Capacity (Extra Large): 76 Liters / 4638 Cubic inches
Fabric Details: 210D Nylon Dobby
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Dimensions (Small): 34 x 14 x 14 in.
Weight (Small): 4 lbs 8 oz
Weight (Medium): 4 lbs 12 oz
Weight Capacity: 60 lbs
Weight (Large): 4 lbs 15 oz
Pack Capacity (Medium): 70 Liters / 4272 Cubic inches
Dimensions (Medium): 35 x 14 x 14 in.
Weight: 76 oz
Pack Capacity (Large): 73 Liters / 4455 Cubic inches
Dimensions: 35 x 14 x 14 in.
Dimensions (Large): 36 x 14 x 14 in.
Pack Capacity (Small): 67 Liters / 4089 Cubic inches
Features: Sternum Strap, Detachable Lid, Detachable Daypack, Ventilated Back Panel, Load-Lifter Straps, Hip Belt, Hip Belt Pockets, Hydration Compatible, Ice Axe / Trekking Pole Loops, Compression Straps
Gender: Mens
Best Use: Backpacking, Mountaineering and Alpine
Pack Capacity: 70 Liters / 4272 Cubic inches
Frame Type: Frameless
Pack Access: Front
Osprey Airscape

Osprey Airscape
Osprey's AirScape™ mesh covered ridge foam backpanels set a new standard in the industry. With its ability to keep the weight close, provide cushion, allow ventilation and add load carry is quite a list of needs from this unassuming backpanel. It successfully accomplished all of that in a way that allows it to be used in the large gear hauling packs and lightweight day hiking packs.

Check Out All Airscape Products >

Osprey Custom Molding

Osprey Custom Molding
When the loads get heavy, a supportive and effective hipbelt can support that weight. Osprey custom heat molds their hipbelt to you, eliminating hotspots, chaffing and bruising. This combines the best of a stiff, load bearing hipbelt with the cushioned comfort you need most when trekking with all your gear.

Check Out All Custom Molding Products >

Osprey Peripheral Frame

Osprey Peripheral Frame
Peripheral frame was a departure from the norm many years ago and it’s still the foundation of our gear hauling packs. A wire frame runs along the outside of the backpanel directly connecting the upper load lifters and the central core of the pack to the hipbelt to transition and spread the load. Allowing natural torsional movement, effective adjustable torsos, and different load range and backpanel builds makes this suspension design truly innovative.

Check Out All Peripheral Frame Products >

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great balance of features and comfort for a reasonable price. I have carried my Aether 70 now on handful of weekend trips and I must say I absolutely adore it. ,,,,The suspension on this pack is comfortable even over 50 lbs. I prefer the firmer hip belt to the more pillow like belt on the baltoro. And the heat molding available for the hip belt truly makes for a perfect fit. The plethora of straps and cinches provide for a well balanced and close fit. This allows for great flexibility in use from 2-3 day trips to longer treks where more space is provided. ,,,,The placement of the water bladder outside the main bag allows for filling of the bladder without having to unpack all you gear.
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Design is tall and narrow. 07/24/2016 I was surprised that this pack as so narrow that I could not fit my BearVault 500. It would not slide down to the bottom or the middle. Luckily the it could barely be squeezed into the top. My previous pack, Arcterryx Khamsin 62, was chosen to fit the bulky BearVault. My wife has an older Ariel 65, and the BearVault fits in easily. Apparently a re-design made all the packs narrower and TALLER. The two inches in increased frame height makes it impossible (even without a helmet) to look up merely with only a tip of the neck. I now have to lean the torso back. Does anybody find this trade-off height vs pack width a practical improvement?
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This pack hauled my gear on multi-week trips and was amazing! I used this pack 2 years ago for philmont, where we backpacked for ~2 weeks in the Sangre de Cristo Mountain range, this pack was amazing. My pack weighed around 45-50 lbs and the suspension held up great! I am very abusive towards my gear and its amazing at how well my pack looks. I think its cool how you can custom mold the hip belt towards your hip but I dont feel that it improves the comfort drastically. The pack gets really small too, which is a great feature, I have used it for day trips when i am needing to haul a bunch of gear. Overall I love my pack and osprey is a great company (I got the blue one, It looks sexy).
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not For a Bottle Guy I used this pack for 3 months while volunteering for the forest service. My main complaint was that the bottle pockets on the side were sewn too small to accommodate a 32oz Nalgene. This was a big issue for me because I do not like using hydration pouches. I had to purchase 1/2 liter Nalgenes for them to fit in the pouches, but the pouches are angled in a way that they are unreachable while the pack is on. Overall, the suspension, compression, and fabrics of the pack are solid, but this water bottle issue was a deal breaker for me. Word has it that the echos of me MFing up and down the mountains of MT can still be heard if you listen hard enough. If you are a bottle guy like me, I would not recommend this pack.
Date published: 2015-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Pack with lots of Features Ordered this pack to use traveling across Israel and a trek in Nepal. Solid construction that hasn't shown much wear from my trips so far. I also like the lifetime guarantee, though I hope to never use it. Pack is very comfortable on my 5'10'' / 170lbs frame. I especially like the convenience of all the pockets and zips, particularly the zip on the back that allows entry into the pack from the side instead of having to always dig down from the top. The top of the pack also disconnects as a small day bag which is also a nice feature. Overall, really pleased with this purchase and the red color is awesome.
Date published: 2015-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great pack, worth the price this is my third osprey pack, and let me tell you, these packs are built to make a 40 lb load feel like 20. First, the harness and hip belt are exceptionally padded and the hip belt pockets are very roomy and useful. The zippered lid pocket could be the most useful pocket of all though, it can support any of the gear needed for a trip. The straight jacket compression system is a key reason the pack carries so well. The sleeping bag compartment fits a light sleeping bag in compression sack.The interior of the pack is very spacious but i would recommend the aether 85 for extended trips. The sizing is a little complicated, but a good outdoors store can fit you just right.
Date published: 2014-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pack, Needs More Organizational Pockets I love almost everything about this pack. It has plenty of room, Trekking pole holsters, a hydration pouch sleeve, a detachable fanny pack, and the best suspension system I've ever had. That being said, my only complaint about this pack is there are not enough organizational pockets. There are essentially 3 main compartments, the top which is detachable, the middle main compartment, and the bottom compartment. There are no seperate organizational pockets in these compartments. However, I would definitely recommend this pack to a friend, just be ready to use stuff sacks!
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing pack for all around use The Osprey Aether 70 has been like the friend I never had. Always there for me, providing me with cool refreshment (hydration pack), and making sure I have everything. I can't say enough good things about this pack. It is light, sturdy, and Osprey stands behind their products with a lifetime warranty.,,,,The only thing I would note to people is to ensure you correctly measure yourself for a pack. I'm 5'10 165lbs and the perfect pack for me was a small waiststrap and medium shoulder harness and pack. Make sure you measure correctly for optimal fit.
Date published: 2013-05-19
  • y_2017, m_3, d_28, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_10210077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Men's Packs
PACK SIZE One Size X-Small Small Medium Large X-Large S / M M / L
Xenith - - - 18 - 21 20 - 23 22 - 25 - -
Aether (*excludes 60L) - - 16 - 19 18 - 21 20 - 23 22 - 25 - -
Volt 17 - 22 - - - - - - -
Atmos AG - - 16 - 19 18 - 21 20 - 23 - - -
Stratos, Manta AG (36L, 28L), Skarab (32L, 24L) - - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 21
Kestrel, Talon, Kamber - - - - - - 16 - 20 19 - 23
Volt - - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 21
Manta AG (20L), Skarab (18L), Raptor, Viper 17 - 21 - - - - - - -
Waypoint 17 - 22 - - - - - - -
Unisex Packs
PACK SIZE One Size X-Small Small Medium Large S / M M / L
Exos, Variant - - 16 - 19 18 - 21 20 - 23 - -
Escapist (*excludes 18L) - - - - - 16 - 20 19 - 23
Daylite 15 - 22 - - - - - -
Mutant, Radial, Farpoint - - - - - 15 - 19 18 - 22
Kamber Abs - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 22
Rev Available in S / M and M / L. Select the size that matches your typical apparel size.
Zealot 15 - 21 - - - - - -
Syncro - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 21
Women's Packs
PACK SIZE One Size X-Small Small Medium Large XS / S S / M
Xena, Aura AG - 14 - 17 16 - 19 18 - 21 - - -
Ariel (*excludes 75 / 55L) - 14 - 17 16 - 18 18 - 21 20 - 22* - -
Viva, Wayfarer 14 - 19 - - - - - -
Sirrus - - - - - 15 - 18 16 - 20
Kyte, Tempest, Kresta - - - - - 13 - 17 16 - 20
Mira AG (34L, 26L), Skimmer (30L, 22L) - 15 - 18 17 - 20 - - - -
Mira AG (18L) 15 - 18 - - - - - -
Skimmer (16L) 15 - 19 - - - - - -
Raven, Verve 14 - 18 - - - - - -
Kid Carriers + Kids' Packs
PACK SIZE One Size Age
Ace 75 14 - 19 11 - 18
Ace 50 13 - 18 8 - 14
Ace 38 11 - 15 6 - 11
Jet 18 13 - 17 8 +
Jet 12 11 - 15 5 +
Hydrajet 11 - 15 5 +
Moki 11 - 16 5 +
OSPREY MEASUREMENT GUIDE

Please note that the info provided above refers to the torso size each pack will fit, and NOT any dimensions of the pack. Below are some steps for how to get your torso length. You should probably have someone help take this measurement for you so it is accurate. And they might accidentally touch your butt.

HOW TO MEASURE TORSO LENGTH:
• Start at the iliac crest, which is the top of the hipbones on the side of your body. These act like a shelf for supporting a pack hipbelt.
• From this level on your spine, measure to the C7 vertebrae, the knobby bone at the base of your neck when you put your head down.
• Make sure you keep your back as straight as possible while measuring.
• This torso measurement determines what size Osprey pack you should carry. Refer to the size charts above to find your ideal size.
• If you are in between sizes, it is ideal to try them both on before ordering.

HOW TO MEASURE HIPBELT SIZE:
• Measure around your hips at your iliac crest, NOT your waist.
• A properly fitted hipbelt rides centered over the hipbones and needs to be very snug.
• The padded portion should wrap well around your hips, leaving a gap of 3 to 6 inches between the tips of the both hip pads when securely tightened.
• Refer to the Hipbelts size chart above to help determine your ideal Osprey pack size, but again, your torso length is what should determine your pack size, NOT the hipbelt.

- + Warranty Info

ALL MIGHTY GUARANTEE - Osprey's Lifetime Warranty

When Osprey celebrated their 35th anniversary in 2009 they launched The Osprey All Mighty Guarantee. What that means to you is ANY Osprey product purchased at ANY time is covered. Any product, any reason, any era - the all encompassing Osprey lifetime warranty ensures their dedication to superior design, craftsmanship and quality of their products is backed up by their actions to replace or repair a pack so it lasts a lifetime. Or two.

Here are some details.... Osprey will repair for any reason, free of charge, any damage or defect in their products, whether it was purchased back in 1974, or ordered right now from this site. If they are unable to perform a functional repair on your pack, they will happily replace it. Osprey proudly stands behind the All Mighty Guarantee, so much so that it bears the signature of company founder and head designer, Mike Pfotenhauer.

Some Osprey All Mighty Guarantee FAQs:

What do I do if my Osprey pack needs to be repaired?
If you live in the United States and need a repair done on your Osprey pack, you will first need to obtain a Return Authorization number. You can do this by reaching their Returns Department at 866-314-3130, or using the information that is provided with a new Osprey pack.

What do I do if I just need a replacement pack part like a buckle?
Give Osprey a call at 866-314-3130 and they will take care of you.

How long will it take?
You can tell Osprey you need the pack returned by a certain date when you request a Return Authorization number, and they will do their absolute best to meet that deadline.

What if my pack is super dirty and stinks?
Clean it before you send it to Osprey to get repaired. The real reason is that there is a law that says if your gear is too dirty or odiferous (smelly), Osprey is not allowed to repair it and will just return it to you.

Do I have to pay for shipping?
A little bit. You are responsible for the cost of shipping the pack to Osprey, and they will pay shipping to return the pack via UPS or FedEx. Osprey cannot be held responsible if packages get lost in transit, so make sure you get a tracking number when you ship your pack out. Also, if you use expedited shipping be sure to let Osprey know (866-314-3130). They, in turn, will give your pack priority processing and return it using a similar expedited shipping method.

Do I have to register my pack to take advantage of this incredible guarantee, and/or need to be the original owner of my Osprey pack?
No! Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee is truly ALL MIGHTY. If you own an Osprey pack that needs to be repaired they will repair or replace it.

JUST A HEADS UP: If your Osprey product is not repairable and is replaced, the original product will not be returned to you. They will try really really hard to repair your pack, but if they are unable to make a functional repair, they will replace it. For products that are no longer in production you will be contacted by Osprey to discuss replacement options.

All good answers. So what is NOT covered?
• Osprey program packs or any Osprey pack used by outdoor programs are ONLY covered under Osprey's Program Pack Warranty, NOT AMG.
• Size and/or fit issues. Make sure you buy a pack that fits. Check out the size guide on Osprey product pages for more info.
• Personal preferences like colors you don't like, style of the pack, or not enough/too much room in your pack. Check the product description, features, specifications, and size guide to make sure you are ordering the right pack for you.
• Third party Repairs or replacements. Send your Osprey pack to Osprey and Osprey only to get fixed. Easy as that. And don't try fixing things yourself.
• Cosmetic wear and tear including any reasonable aging of your pack that affects only the appearance and not the function of your pack. Be proud of those scars!
• B.A.M.G. (Before All Mighty Guarantee) Repair Work. The All Mighty Guarantee applies only to repairs requested on or after January 1, 2009.
• A Osprey Hydraulics reservoir is covered by a limited 1-year warranty, which is the reasonable lifespan of a reservoir. Pouring and storing of warm/hot or boiling water in your reservoir WILL VOID your warranty, so don't do that. Reservoirs are NOT designed to contain or handle liquids at temperature.

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart