- at Moosejaw.com

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders place before 3pm EST using Ship Speeds of 1-5 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 5-10 day shipping will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we'll special-order the product for you and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping (Free over $49) and can only be shipped via 4-5 Day Shipping. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping (Free over $49) and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to accept delivery so we will call to schedule.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Unavailable
+ earn up to $0.00 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$5 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

So if you buy a $200 jacket at Moosejaw.com, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on MoosejawRewards.com.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.  
- +
Frequently Bought with this Item
Customers Also Looked At
MSR Dromedary Bag

MSR Dromedary Bag
$34.95 – $49.95 Price pending
MSR PocketRocket Stove

MSR PocketRocket Stove
$39.95 Price pending
MSR Fuel Bottle

MSR Fuel Bottle
$17.95 – $21.95 Price pending
Platypus SoftBottle with HyperFlow Cap

Platypus SoftBottle with HyperFlow Cap
$10.99   $14.95 Price pending
MSR Trillium Stove Base

MSR Trillium Stove Base
$24.95 Price pending
MSR Dromedary Bag

MSR Dromedary Bag
$34.95 – $49.95 Price pending
MSR Fuel Bottle

MSR Fuel Bottle
$17.95 – $21.95 Price pending
Sea to Summit Tek Towel

Sea to Summit Tek Towel
$12.95 – $36.95 Price pending
Jetboil Flash Personal Cooking System

Jetboil Flash Personal Cooking System
$99.95 – $104.95 Price pending
Katadyn Hiker Microfilter

Katadyn Hiker Microfilter
$69.95 Price pending
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Survived on water pumped through this for a week. In combination with tablets, this filter did exactly as advertised and provided myself and a companion with clean drinking water from a scuzzy, boggy lake. We pumped 2 liters at a time and then treated the whole bladder with the MSR tablets to add another layer of protection and it seemed to work like a charm. No trip-ending diarrhea or other illnesses and we went through many, many liters of lake water from different spots. It goes a little slow, but with two people (one to submerge the end so it doesn't drag on the bottom and one to pump into the bladder) it was over in about 5 minutes per round. Easy to clean and better than a sock.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It has its ups and downs The pump is easy to clean and maintain which is a plus. Its also nice for times when there is very little water to get at and beats out the gravity bags in those cases.,,,,I have had some issues recently with this pump where the chamber doesn't fill all the way or fast enough to keep up with the recommended pumping rate, which is kind of a pain. Attaching a nalgene to the bottom for filling up is recommended, as it will make life much easier for you, other wise you might need your buddy to hold your bladder while you pump. I wouldn't mind having an accessory for connecting to bladders with a larger opening to eliminate the need of carrying a nalgene.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most bombproof Pump On the Market This pump may not be the lightest, but it is reliable and can filter more water than you will ever need on one trip. The entire assembly can easily be taken apart and checked out in the field and cleaned. It also stows well with the hose wrapped around the pump and secured to the end of the handle. In about 5 minutes of easy pumping you can have yourself clean crisp drinking water. The best part is that it can be filtered directly into a nalgene or a dromedary bag to make the process even easier. Use a coffee filter rubber banded to the end to filter out the first layer of dirty water to further extend the life of this filter.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Get a Steripen This product does not work well for ANY sort of slow-moving body of water, even clear ones. Worked great for the first liter, and then the filter clogged immediately. I was getting about a quarter of a cup every five minutes and having to clean multiple times per liter. It was TRICKLING.,,,,Luckily, a trail angel we met up with let us try out his Steripen. So much more painless and fast and light and not bulky. It's great that this product doesn't require batteries, but it is not ideal. That being said, it is really well made and will last a long time if you choose to go the filter route. Components are intuitive to use and most of what you need to maintain the filter is included.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! ...but make sure to read directions first I've been using the MSR Miniworks EX Microfilter for over a year now. I have to admit, the first few times I used this I ran into several problems, but that was before I read the (very useful) directions that came with it. Once I figured this thing out, it is a very simple and reliable product.,,,,Water tastes absolutely fantastic with this filter. I have never had any residue or any weird taste in the water. It also conveniently attaches to my CamelBak water bottle and MSR hydration system.,,,,Please read the directions first and clean the ceramic filter often. Water will pump MUCH faster and easier when it is used properly. From my experience, it takes 1-2 minutes per liter of water.
Date published: 2013-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Try it, you will like/like it! I know my way around backpacking, not enough that I could go alone, but enough. I have used this filter for the last 5 trips and it is trusty. I am kind of weird about germs and a little bit of a hypochondriac. I was afraid the first time using the filter that I was definitely going to get deathly sick and die from drinking the water, but I didn't, and now I 100 percent trust this filter! We have used it in flowing creek water and straight out of lakes and we are still alive! The water out of the filter tastes fine and clean. It is a bit rough to pump for so long as it filters pretty slowly but that's my opinion and I can't even do a push-up. I like the challenge and I need the work out.
Date published: 2015-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use, Awesome results This product is all that it says it is, a fantastic filter. Although "mini" works may be stretching it (it does require some work to filter water) the filter is extremely easy to use, disassemble and maintain. It is a little bulky in comparison to other filters out there but the ease of you simply attaching it to a nalgene wide mouth bottle and pumping away is great. I recommend taking the 10 second after each fill up and cleaning off the ceramic filter. This will help with water flow and ease of pumping. Overall this filter is tough, easy to use and easy to maintain on the trail.
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Water Filter for the Backcountry I have used this filter all over the west and east alike. I love the fact that it hooks right up to a nalgene bottle or a dromedary bag, which makes not spilling while pumping very nice. The ability to clean the filter every so often is also a bonus, and you will always notice an improvement in filtration speed when you do clean it. It is also entire ably field serviceable, and doesn't take an engineer to see how everything works. I have planned on purchasing a second for use when traveling with multiple people, but so far we have managed to get by with the one I already have.
Date published: 2014-03-27
  • 2016-02-11T10:46CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238404, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

what is the purpose of the red crescent shaped piece from the picture?

Asked by: curious george
Hey there, The red crescent pictured for this item is a gauge that is used to measure the erosion of the ceramic element of the filter during routine cleaning and maintenance.
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2015-08-12

Reviews show ups and downs. Has there been any type of redesign on this product lately ? Or is it operator era ? I would like to purchase one, but reviews leave me wondering. Thanks

Asked by: Brad
Brad, There has not been a redesign on the MSR Miniworks EX Microfilter. I took a moment to read through the reviews and, Im not seeing a consistent issue. The thing in the reviews that is consistent is praise. I have seen the MSR Miniworks EX Microfilter filter water, and it worked wonderfully. I hope that this helps. Happy Trails.
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2015-10-22
  • 2016-02-11T12:24CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_2
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238404, PRD, sort_helpfulnessAnswersFirst
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $49
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn $1 in Rewards for every $10 you spend at
Moosejaw.com and our shops (half for discounted items).

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart