Silver
Silver

Black Diamond Raven Pro Ice Axe

Black Diamond Raven Pro Ice Axe is rated 4.8604651162790695 out of 5 by 43.
  • 2016-09-26T08:57CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_10085143, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.8 Star Rating
4.8
$74.96   $99.95
25% off

Select a Size Select a Color
FREE SHIPPING

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using Ship Speeds of 1-5 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 5-10 day shipping will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we'll special-order the product for you and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping (Free over $49) and can only be shipped via 4-5 Day Shipping. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping (Free over $49) and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to accept delivery so we will call to schedule.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $1.87 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200 jacket at Moosejaw.com, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on MoosejawRewards.com.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10085143

Weighing in at less than 14 ounces, the Raven Pro Ice Axe by Black Diamond is a great multi-purpose snow and glacier tool. Built with an aluminum shaft and a more compact investment-cast stainless steel head and spike, it provides all-around performance.

FEATURES of the Black Diamond Raven Pro Ice Axe

  • Investment-cast, polished stainless steel head and spike
  • Lightweight aluminum shaft
  • Ergonomic head is designed with an aggressive pick and large hole for a carabiner
  • CEN-certified

- + Product Specifications
Head Material: Aluminum
Disclaimer: All climbing equipment is final sale.
Weight: 13 oz
Shaft Material: Aluminum
Best Use: Mountaineering and Alpine
Shaft Shape: Straight
Axe Length: 50 cm
Pick Shape: Curved
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great axe everything you need in an ice axe and nothing you don't. Light weight and super solid construction. What I love about this axe is that it doesn't come with any of the flashy stuff that is unnecessary like rubber grips or stupid little leashes. All you need for a leash is some webbing tied through the hole in the top of the shaft, and make it long enough to clip right into your harness so you can switch hands without having to take a stupid little short lease off your wrist everything you switchback up the slope. I would recommend this axe above any others for traditional mountaineering and ski mountaineering where you're more likely to need it than not.
Date published: 2011-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent General Mountaineering Axe So glad I shelled out the bit of extra $$ and chose this over the regular BD Raven! Also strongly prefer this over axes that have a built in grip on the shaft...not useful for anchoring in the snow.,,I carried it for 25 days and up to 6k meters in the Himalayas and everywhere I went people were amazed at how light this axe is! The axe fits nicely in your hand when holding in "self belay" mode or "self-arrest" mode. Definitely read up on axe lengths if you aren't surehow long of an axe to get. I went with 60cm and I'm 5'4"...axe hangs nicely just about at my ankles when wearing mountaineering boots.
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect mountain tool This thing is so light I often bring it even when I think a whippet alone will suffice. It also assume it is super strong too as I used a very similar previous version for many years and much abuse without ever feeling it wasn't capable of arresting a fall if arrest was possible. Basically, I always trust that this thing will not break. This cannot be said for some other axes I have used. Super light. I own the 55cm one only because the 50cm was sold out. I use it mostly as a ski mountaineering tool but also use it on rock approaches in the spring. Phenomenal axe. Light, strong, short and is perfect for my needs!
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent minimalist axe. This is one of the best, minimalist axes I have ever used. The thing is very lightweight, yet quite sturdy, and it doesn't have any of the unnecessary bells, whistles, and other useless, weight-adding crap that you find on so many axes these days. The only complaint I have - and this is really a nitpick more than anything - is that the shaft can sometimes be a bit slippery. However, 50¢ worth of grip tape in a couple strategic locations fixed this niggle quite well. Bottom line: this is a great axe, and I would recommend it to anybody in need of a solid, medium-duty traditional axe without hesitation.
Date published: 2012-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great entry level ice axe for mountaineering I took a mountaineering class in preparation for Mt. Shasta. The rental axe that I got was a Raven and I got accustomed to it pretty quick. For the price, it is harder to find an good package. I wasn't able to summit, so I can't say how it'd do on hard ice, but I can say that in the slush it works great. The weight is good, the pick dug into slush for self arresting. The adze was great for digging into the snow/loosing it up for melting. I'd rate it higher, but don't have anything else to compare it to.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ice Axe There is! If you are looking for a solid good quality ice axe the Black Diamond Raven Pro Is it! For sizing according to Whittaker Mountaineering (Pete) and Ed Viesters- 5'4 and shorter: 60mm,,,5'4-5'8: 65mm, 5'8-6'2: 70mm, and 6'2-6'6: 75mm ice axe. If anyone should know its Ed Viesters so listen to them. I am 6'0 so I got the 70mm. In person this axe is amazing and light. For long climbs you need a light axe like this when weight counts and perfect for self arrest. Get this axe you won't regret it.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet and super light The difference between the pro and regular Raven Ice Axe is pretty remarkable when you hold them both. Considering how much time and effort you spend lugging stuff up and down mountains just to get to a place to use an ice axe, I'd say the extra cost is well worth it to get a lighter axe. As for the usability, the Raven Pro feels very solid in the pick and head areas, while the shaft is super light. It's a great combination, and I think a perfect axe for general mountaineering!
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for snow climbing, glacier travel, and light mountaineering A mountaineering axe is not a piece of gear that needs to be replaced frequently, if ever. But as a seasoned (i.e. graying) outdoor instructor looking to shed weight from my pack, I chose the Raven Pro to replace the axe that had taken me to many high places on three continents over a span of decades. It's hard parting with an old friend. But after looking at every model on the market, I'm delighted to make a new friend: my Raven Pro. Onward and upward my friend!
Date published: 2015-05-03
  • 2016-09-26T08:57CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_10085143, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $49
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart