Platypus Bite Valve and Drink Tube Insulator

Platypus Bite Valve and Drink Tube Insulator is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 8.
  • y_2016, m_12, d_2, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_10045459, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
3.2 Star Rating
3.2
$19.95

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Cookware

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10045459

Prevent freeze-ups in cold weather and keep liquids cool in warm weather with the Bite Valve and Drink Tube Insulator by Platypus.

- + Product Specifications
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
- +
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great, along with the bladder insulator. used this along with the bladder insulator in 102+ temps for 4-5 hours.
Date published: 2015-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great idea, subpar implementation The insulation material itself works great. However, if you've got the right-angle bite end the cover (where freezing is most likely to happen) doesn't work. It's also very difficult to install on the tube, requiring that you remove one end connector. It's a bit easier to do so with some heat, but I found it was still pretty tough. It works, but I'd probably just get some cheap insulation material instead depending on which bite end version you have.
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buy another insulator Had this product for about a year. It does a great job keeping your water from freezing overnight. The coldest I've encountered using this product is a 20F degree low overnight.,,It keeps the water a little cooler during the day.,,,,So what's the problem you ask. Durability and abrasion resistance. I'd only recommend if you'll be using it for biking or casual walks. If your out backpacking etc. plan on it lasting no more than a couple outings.
Date published: 2010-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've seen some reviews that state that the hose does not insulate, apparently they dont know that you have to pour warm water for it not to freeze, I used it on 5,250 meters above sea level at - 18 ºC and it worked just fine, only the water in the bite valve froze but as soon as it was in contact with the warm water ther was no problem at all I used it for 7 hours and it never froze, it only got cold
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get's the job done. Not much can be said about this insulator. It helps to prevent your hydration tube from freezing and helps a bit with keeping your water cool. However, the black color isn't the best in the summer. ,,,,The Bite Valve cover is very useful. No more grit after setting your pack down.,,,,It must be a decent product, I just ordered my second one for my other hydration system. Thanks Moosejaw & Platypus!
Date published: 2009-12-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from useless Tried in -23 Celsius degrees (-9 Farenheit) and -17 (1 Farenheit), hydration pack line froze both times after about 40 min. Insulator also becomes rock-hard and very hard to bend. To be fair no other system I've tried has worked so far in that kind of cold.
Date published: 2015-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you HATE drinking warm watere during your hike, YOU MUST order the Drink Tube Insulator! Used my new Platypus Bite Valve and Drink Tube Insulator during a mountain hike in 101 degree weather, Nice and cool water with every sip!
Date published: 2014-07-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from no isulation at all The water valve freezed at -4 degrees....it my opinion it does not isulate at all :(
Date published: 2016-03-15
  • y_2016, m_12, d_2, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_10045459, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw

Hi, would that prevent my tube from freezing on Summit night, ascending Kilimanjaro. I keep reading conflecting information. Thanks

Asked by: Lizzie
Hey Lizzie, that's a great question. I did some investigating and this tube insulator would not be the best for you on Kilimanjaro's summit at night. While doing my research on this subject I found that many folks who stay at the summit overnight find that their tube will freeze and they found it easiest to just pack a couple of water bottles inside their pack, with a thermal sock around them, then wrapped in clothing to keep them insulated against the cold. Since I haven't personally been to Kilimanjaro's summit, I also suggest asking your guide or anyone you know who has successfully done the trek before and kept their water from freezing.
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-06-28
  • 2016-12-06T09:06CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_en_US, sid_10045459, PRD, sort_helpfulnessAnswersFirst
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $49
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart