Platypus Big Zip SL Hydration System

Platypus Big Zip SL Hydration System is rated 4.5366 out of 5 by 41.
  • 2015-07-29T14:14CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_10045417, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Select a Size

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means the item you are ordering is ready for shipment

"Ship Date" is the date your product will ship

In-stock orders placed before 3pm EST will ship SAME DAY, unless otherwise noted during checkout

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $1.40 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn 10 points for every dollar you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (5 points for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back to spend on MoosejawRewards.com.

So if you get a $200 jacket at Moosejaw.com you can turn around and get a $20 tee at Moosejaw Rewards.

You are signed up and earn points automatically when you make a purchase and give your email address.

For full program info,see:
Rewards Program Details

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Backpacks

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10045417

The Big Zip SL Hydration System by Platypus is now more durable than ever and loaded with improved features, like the new easy-to-clean wide-mouth SlideLock closure with secondary reinforcement so you know it's sealed securely, and a quick-disconnect valve for removing the reservoir from a pack without re-routing the hose. Other upgrades include a redesigned, easy-to-use shutoff valve and a softer, more flexible, but still taste-free reservoir.

FEATURES of the Platypus Big Zip SL Hydration System

  • Secure, easy, wide-opening SlideLock closure
  • Taste-and BPA-free
  • Tough, dual-layer construction
  • Slime Guard antimicrobial treatment
  • Quick-Release Hose
  • 90° Shutoff valve
  • Two-piece, easy-clean HyperFlow bite valve

- + Product Specifications
- +
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall a great bladder I bought the 3L and was skeptical about how strong the zip was until i filled the bladder with water and shook it upside down (without the blue plastic closure) and it held strong. The valve makes it easy to drink from. It does not taste like plastic, and the valve/bladder both do not leak. My only issue it that it does not have a welded baffle like some other bladders, so when full it takes up a very cylindrical shape. Because of this it barely fits the hydration sleeve in my 70L pack lengthwise while leaving a lot of room on either side of the width. I would prefer if it was flatter while wider to compensate, but that's just a minor complaint.
Date published: 2012-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great way to use an inline, or gravity filter. The Big Zip was a key part of my water filtration system for a week up in the Yosemite. Used with a Sawyer inline filter on the hose this is makes for an excellent gravity filter, and still works a really good hydration system. Just pop open the zip, fill from you unfiltered water source, re-zip like a giant ziplock, and you have 3 liters of water. The quick release for the hose was great. No worries about dropping mouth piece in the unfiltered water, plus I could leave the line threaded through my pack's hydration port. Also, the blue SlideLock has a white plastic bracket that makes it very easy to hang for gravity filter duty.
Date published: 2008-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Biz zip means easy cleaning. I purchased this over the Camelbak equivalent because it seemed like it would be easier to clean. I can get my hand partially in to scrub down the sides if I wanted. Although, I haven't found a way to dry it out effectively and I wish there was a loop or something on the bottom end so you could hang it upside down. Also, I've washed it out a couple times with warm water and dawn dish soap but I still get a bit of that plastic taste. I haven't experienced any leakage and the plastic does feel quite thick and durable. This was my first bladder so I can't really compare it to anything else. It sure does beat having to reach for a water bottle though while doing an activity.
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Moosejaw took advantage of me! I ordered a Platypus Big Zip Hydration System and was shipped an old outdated version of the same. It is easy to understand why they updated this bag because the old one I received is total crap. It is very difficult to assure that the bag is closed, when you close the zipper it appears closed but you will only find out later when it comes open and dumps 2 liters of your favorite liquid all over your pack / clothing/ electronics etcetera that it is not actually closed. I was taken advantage of by Moosejaw. They shipped me an oudated version of the product even after the new version was on the shelf.
Date published: 2008-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite Hydration system I've tried a bunch of hydration systems - Camelbak, MSR, and other Platies. The Camelback was hard to clean and dry out. The MSR looked great - slippery on the outside, it slid easily into my pack, but about every 20th time, the hose would pop off the bottom and my pack would fill with water. The Platy big zip just works. The big opening is easy to fill from a faucet and easy to clean. The quick release is WONDERFUL for pulling the system out of my pack and replacing it. My previous big zip developed a small leak at the zipper after 4 years. I'm hoping the newer model fixes that design flaw.
Date published: 2010-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hiked the whole Pacific Crest Trail with this! In 2011, I spent 5 months hiking the whole Pacific Crest Trail. I chose a Platypus because I have always found them to be extremely durable. This one in particular was great for treating water because of the wide opening at the top. It was easy to collect water quickly for fast moving water sources and carefully from small water sources. I had to slide this Platypus in and out of my pack several times a day and then carry it around with all my gear pressing on it all day, every day, for 5 months. It withstood every amount of pressure I submitted it to. Basically, this thing rocks.
Date published: 2012-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bestest Bladder Ever! Love this bladder!,,,,- Simple to fill/clean/drink from (much simpler than many of the other brands that I have tried). The wide top opening makes life MUCH easier.,,- No rubber/plastic taste at all from the bladder,,- Quick connect/disconnect for the hose makes it simple to clean and dry, and for filling the bladder from a pump filter ,,- Pretty much ALL of the components can be disassembled to clean and dry them.,,,,The only word of caution - it's a tiny bit longer than some of the other brands' 3L bladders and a few daypacks are a tight fit in the bladder pocket.,,
Date published: 2012-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If u like your gear dry & none plastic tasting water..... Then don't waste your hard earned $ on other models. I own both the 2&3l model and both are almost too easy to clean... No excuses anymore about cleaning out my packs. Ha. The quick disconnect hose is great if u actually use your pack & don't want to rethread it everytime u fill it up. The bag itself seems to be nearly bulletproof & the opening/closing tech is really cool. Almost like a much stronger zip lock style bag with a backup closer to that extra protection. Like I said if you want that downfilled gear to stay dry & nice only rely on this bag system!
Date published: 2011-06-13
  • 2015-07-29T14:14CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_10045417, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $49
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn $1 in Rewards for every $10 you spend
at Moosejaw.com and our shops (half for discounted items).

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart