Platypus Big Zip LP Hydration System

Platypus Big Zip LP Hydration System is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 32.
  • y_2016, m_12, d_6, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238299, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4 Star Rating
4.0
$36.95

Select a Size

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using Ship Speeds of 1-5 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 5-10 day shipping will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we'll special-order the product for you and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping (Free over $49) and can only be shipped via 4-5 Day Shipping. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping (Free over $49) and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to accept delivery so we will call to schedule.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $3.70 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200 jacket at Moosejaw.com, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on MoosejawRewards.com.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10238299

FEATURES of the Platypus Big Zip LP Hydration System

  • Wide-mouth opening for easy refills
  • Slidelock closure locks securely
  • Low-profile design rides flat in your pack
  • Taste-free and BPA-free for clean drinking
  • Silver-ion antimicrobial keeps it fresh
  • Quick-release hose and shutoff valve make drinking and refilling easy

- + Product Specifications
Weight: 5.6 oz
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not as bulky as you think! I purchased this bladder over a year ago and still feels new. I fill up my 3L and slide it into my deuter packs, I loved how this bladder is not long and bulky, but its rather flat for 3L. it creates usable space behind the bladder sleeve in my packs. Never a leak, also flip it upside down before placing in my pack just to be sure. The quick disconnect its awesome, and when reconnecting there is a very positive "snap". never going back to other brands.
Date published: 2014-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I have used my trusty MSR Platypus for years ~ I never leave home without it. Whether out for an early morning Summer hike or snowshoeing/backcountry skiing in the Winter, this has been an outstanding product. Thanks for a great product from a Northwest native!
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely comfortable while running and cycling I work with The North Face and it is a perfect fit for the majority of our backpacks and trail running vests. The problem with the long narrow bladders is that it rolls on the back and is an unnatural shape, they don't lie flat to the back. So when running or cycling, in activities with a lot of movement the new big zip is a lot more comfortable, the bigger contact area prevents the rolling, tubular feel and takes pressure off the centre of the back. With daypacks that have trampoline mesh backs, so the bag isn't actually in contact with the back, they tend to have a curve in their frame and my personal experience of these is that the long tubular hydration packs do not fit very well in them, they roll about and the bend in the backpack can kink the bladder, this wider, flatter design slips a lot easier into the sleeves of these bags and doesn't roll as much! Definitely you will notice a big difference, also the zip lock is so much easier to fill and wash than camelback screw topped ones.
Date published: 2015-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Where are the instructions? New to hydration systems so excuse my ignorance here. No instructions came with this product. I expected to see at least basic instructions on how to use, disassemble, clean and dry it. I figured out the most obvious features, but afraid to disassemble something I shouldn't. Found Instructions online for drying the bladder which said it was "easy" to do with a kitchen towel, but I don't have child sized hands, so getting a towel in there to dry it is impossible. I found no instructions anywhere for cleaning or drying out the tube. please advise!
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best bladder i have seen I bought my Big Zip LP 3.0 over five years; it is still going strong. There are several features i love: -The zip closer it awesome -The quick disconnect is great, and allows the hose to swivel, and not kink -As light / compact as cheaper / thinner bags -Durable plastic and construction -Resistant to mold / discoloration -I like the 'tall' design of the older model. If my pack is shorter, i just don't fill the bladder all the way, and fold over the top. I do think the water has more of a plastic taste than it used to, but after five years, i can deal with it. I hope the design and quality continues
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why didn't I get one of these years ago??? I'm old to backpacking/hiking, but new to hydration bladders. I sure wish I had started using them years ago for hiking. Bottles just don't cut it anymore. The bladder is easy to pack, distributes the liquid weight way more evenly than several bottles that seem to move around in a pack. I chose the Platypus Big Zip 3L bladder over the one that was recommended by the manufacturer of my backpack because I liked the idea of the opening at the end of the bag, not in the center. I like the design and materials used in the BZ3 and the mouthpiece with valve is great! It looks well made and should last a long time.
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No bladder taste. This is the best tasting bladder I have. I have two other brands and 6 bladders total. It's easy to fill and clean. Since it opens up at one end it's also easy to dry out. The quick connect is a must have for some packs. It allows you to feed the hose in from the outside of the pack and connect it to the bladder on the inside without loosing any water. The 3 liter even fits in my pack that's only designed to take a 2 liter. I will be purchasing another one for my son's backpack.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Platypus Big Zip is fantastic. Never Leaks, Easy to fill, easy to clean, quick release from pack For years I used the other brand and just thought, "I guess this is as good as it gets "- I put up with leaking, mouth piece breaking easily, hard to fill, not easy to clean. This year I said to myself - "try something else" don't pay money for another lame bladder. I tried the Platypus and after the first experience we fell madly in love. The Platypus rocks. Super light weight, but solid. So easy to fill, NO LEAKS, and I love the quick release feature that makes it so you just take the bladder on and off but can leave the hose and mouth piece which is a pain to take out in your pack- so awesome! At the end of the hike when you are out of water you are left with this super light weight nothing in your pack which is great when you are tired.
Date published: 2015-04-19
  • y_2016, m_12, d_6, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238299, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw

Can this be cleaned in the dishwasher?

Asked by: EWeedon
Hey there, Thanks for reaching out to us! From my research on this, you bring up a very popular question. Quite a lot of people want to know the same thing. However, I am not finding any information explicitly stating that this item is in fact 'dishwasher safer' so I would advise you against it. I would recommend cleaning this the old fashioned way. Hope this helped you out!
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2015-12-02
  • 2016-12-08T10:08CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238299, PRD, sort_helpfulnessAnswersFirst
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $49
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart
0