Platypus Big Zip LP Hydration System

Platypus Big Zip LP Hydration System is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 32.
  • 2016-10-27T08:30CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238299, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw
4 Star Rating
$34.95 - $36.95

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Cookware

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10238299

FEATURES of the Platypus Big Zip LP Hydration System

  • Wide-mouth opening for easy refills
  • Slidelock closure locks securely
  • Low-profile design rides flat in your pack
  • Taste-free and BPA-free for clean drinking
  • Silver-ion antimicrobial keeps it fresh
  • Quick-release hose and shutoff valve make drinking and refilling easy

- + Product Specifications
Weight: 5.6 oz
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
- +
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best bladder i have seen I bought my Big Zip LP 3.0 over five years; it is still going strong. There are several features i love: -The zip closer it awesome -The quick disconnect is great, and allows the hose to swivel, and not kink -As light / compact as cheaper / thinner bags -Durable plastic and construction -Resistant to mold / discoloration -I like the 'tall' design of the older model. If my pack is shorter, i just don't fill the bladder all the way, and fold over the top. I do think the water has more of a plastic taste than it used to, but after five years, i can deal with it. I hope the design and quality continues
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why didn't I get one of these years ago??? I'm old to backpacking/hiking, but new to hydration bladders. I sure wish I had started using them years ago for hiking. Bottles just don't cut it anymore. The bladder is easy to pack, distributes the liquid weight way more evenly than several bottles that seem to move around in a pack. I chose the Platypus Big Zip 3L bladder over the one that was recommended by the manufacturer of my backpack because I liked the idea of the opening at the end of the bag, not in the center. I like the design and materials used in the BZ3 and the mouthpiece with valve is great! It looks well made and should last a long time.
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Platypus Big Zip is fantastic. Never Leaks, Easy to fill, easy to clean, quick release from pack For years I used the other brand and just thought, "I guess this is as good as it gets "- I put up with leaking, mouth piece breaking easily, hard to fill, not easy to clean. This year I said to myself - "try something else" don't pay money for another lame bladder. I tried the Platypus and after the first experience we fell madly in love. The Platypus rocks. Super light weight, but solid. So easy to fill, NO LEAKS, and I love the quick release feature that makes it so you just take the bladder on and off but can leave the hose and mouth piece which is a pain to take out in your pack- so awesome! At the end of the hike when you are out of water you are left with this super light weight nothing in your pack which is great when you are tired.
Date published: 2015-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy to use as a first-timer! I bought this pack for some hiking and biking down in Costa Rica, and it was awesome -- I can't believe I've never had one before! As one reviewer said, there are no instructions, so I did have to learn a little as I used it (for example, I hadn't realized there was a lock on the bite piece so there was some leakage when I first used it). Personally, I didn't taste any plastic or other unpleasant taste, just my water! I'm definitely glad I got this pack -- super easy to use, the ziplock portion does make it easy to get water in there, and the shape is easy to get into a pack.
Date published: 2016-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Where are the instructions? New to hydration systems so excuse my ignorance here. No instructions came with this product. I expected to see at least basic instructions on how to use, disassemble, clean and dry it. I figured out the most obvious features, but afraid to disassemble something I shouldn't. Found Instructions online for drying the bladder which said it was "easy" to do with a kitchen towel, but I don't have child sized hands, so getting a towel in there to dry it is impossible. I found no instructions anywhere for cleaning or drying out the tube. please advise!
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just got it so I could say "platypus". I got this for my Granitegear AC. The baffles work, keeping a slimmer profile which is required in that pack. The bite valve comes off so i can refill w/o removing the bladder. I don't have hundreds of hours with this on the trail but there is no funny taste, it would be easy to clean and dry out and the bite valve is soothing to chew on. Oh,I just got why that is. Hmmm, I'm stopping here.
Date published: 2014-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works without leaking... I own two of these already (3L and 1.5L for a daypack). Had them for about a year, held great for couple of backpacking trips, easy to clean, simple to use... Buying another 3L one to use as a Christmas present (or maybe give away my used one, and keep the new one, hehehe, j/k)... I just wish bite valve cover was included and didn't need to be purchased separately...
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent purchase. Needed a replacement container and happened upon the Platypus. Besides having a cool name, I knew Moosejaw would send me another sticker with my purchase. Only need about 3000 more to cover the downstairs bathroom. The Platypus works great, is simple to refill and a easy to clean. Highly recommend to anyone that enjoys being hydrated while hiking.
Date published: 2014-09-13
  • 2016-10-27T08:30CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238299, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Can this be cleaned in the dishwasher?

Asked by: EWeedon
Hey there, Thanks for reaching out to us! From my research on this, you bring up a very popular question. Quite a lot of people want to know the same thing. However, I am not finding any information explicitly stating that this item is in fact 'dishwasher safer' so I would advise you against it. I would recommend cleaning this the old fashioned way. Hope this helped you out!
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2015-12-02
  • 2016-10-27T08:44CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238299, PRD, sort_helpfulnessAnswersFirst
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $49
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart