Outdoor Research Men's Verglas Gaiters

Outdoor Research Men's Verglas Gaiters is rated 4.3714 out of 5 by 35.
  • 2015-10-03T16:10CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_10017598, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Select a Size Select a Color

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means the item you are ordering is ready for shipment

"Ship Date" is the date your product will ship

In-stock orders placed before 3pm EST will ship SAME DAY, unless otherwise noted during checkout

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $2.25 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$5 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

So if you buy a $200 jacket at Moosejaw.com, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on MoosejawRewards.com.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Gaiters And Overboots

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10017598

Moosejaw Staff Pick - AD, Ann Arbor Moosejaw

The Men's Verglas Gaiters by Outdoor Research. If you've ever thought about trimming a few ounces off your Crocs these are the gaiters for you. They're designed to be lighter and more packable, with the same fit and performance of the originals.

FEATURES of the Outdoor Research Men's Verglas Gaiters

  • Ventia Dry Construction
  • Waterproof Ventia leg
  • Durable, abrasion-resistant Cordura boot
  • Boot section shaped for durability, ventilation
  • Webbing and cam buckle top closure
  • 1 1/2"-Wide hook/loop front closure
  • Double-riveted boot lace hook
  • Hypalon instep strap

SPECIFICATIONS of the Outdoor Research Men's Verglas Gaiters

  • Weight: L, per pair: 7.4 oz / 210 g
  • Fabric: 100% nylon, 3-layer, 50D ripstop Ventia, Coated 500D Cordura

- +
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for snow, maybe not so great for ice climbing I purchased these for ice climbing. I probably should have paid more attention to the description: “They’re designed to be lighter and more packable, with the same fit and performance of the originals.” I have a large gash in one of the gaiters from a crampon graze. I would have been better off with the original “Crocodile” gaiters. ,,That said these worked fantastic in deep snow. I post holed in 3 foot snow with no issues. I wear a large pant (Mountain Hardware Stance) and ordered the large gaiters. I would have been better off with the XL size in these pants, but the large gaiters were adjustable enough to work for me. Ice Climbers look elsewhere…snow shoe people look no further.
Date published: 2009-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and functional alternative to a Croc These guys worked out well on my snowy trip up to Bonney Pass in the Wind River area. I got these after some soul-searching and waffling between these and the OR Crocs, which a friend got. I opted for the lighter weight and perhaps less durable material. Held up well with only a little tuck from my clumbsy crampon weilding and the rip stop material helps with that. Water protection was excellent and the velcro on/off worked well and the cinch at the top fastened tight enough. Buckle at the bottom is less durable than my friends Crocs but unless your going ape, you should be fine.
Date published: 2008-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job well.. but watch for those crampons! Light, packs well, very durable yet crampons will shred these things if you are not careful when you are high stepping and manage to slice above the impervious nylon crampon guard. I just finished a 30day NOLS Mountaineering course and these were close to garbage at the end but that was more than expected. I recommend using some seam-grip or other flexible adhesive to reinforce the stitching of the arch strap because it takes a lot of abuse and can come off (it took me 26 days and 100 miles in the Wind River Range, WY to have that happen). Great gaiters for a great price.
Date published: 2010-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mt Rainer ... Conquered. We did Mt Rainerin July and then again in november, I used these gaiters with no issues. The snow was about 20" in most parts but it never was able to get into my pants/boots. The strap that ensures that the product stays down could be slightly more durable as I'm noticing some small tears, but I have had them a couple of seasons now. The closure system at the top of the calf is easy to operate and allows for quick entry and exit. These are not for trail running, but OR does make a trail running version that you see on the moosejaw site.
Date published: 2012-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product for the price These aren't as beefy as more expensive gaiters, but if you just use them sometimes (as opposed to cranking out big miles in deep snow on your way to work every day) they work and last just fine. I got XLs, due to the sizing chart, but believe I might have been better off with Larges. Still, with lots of gear on under them, the XLs work for me, so I didn't return them. Again, I purchased these knowing they wouldn't be as heavy duty as more expensive gaiters, and am very pleased with the quality of them for the price.
Date published: 2013-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lightweight and comfortable, but not really bulletproof. Eh, they're OK. They've have done a good job of keeping snow and scree out of my boots this winter, so no complaints there. On the downside though, the nylon isn't super durable and one already has a tear in it. The ripstop nylon is a good choice though, since it the tear hasn't gotten any worse. The strap is super durable as I live near Sharp Rock Central on the AT in Pennsyltucky and it's held up really well so far. I've been a longtime user of OR gear, but I'll try another brand of gaiters next time.
Date published: 2008-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product at a great value. Great product. Once you get the sturdy strap adjusted for your boot on first use, it's easy in and out with the velcro closures. My first use was snowshoeing in knee deep powder at the top of Rollins Pass near Winter Park, Colorado. For you non-powder hounds, Colorado champagne powder flies up in the air with every step. This stuff is so light it's llke stomping around in baking flour - it'll find its way into anything. After four hours, not a flake had found its way into my boots or inside the gaiters.
Date published: 2007-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lightweight gaiter! I did a lot of researching of different products and their reviews and kept coming back to these and am glad I did. I've taken these up Mt. Hood a few times with snow over my knees and these have been solid. Feet and legs have been dry and warm. My lower legs are pretty large and I'd be wearing snow pants, so I was kind of worried about the fit. I still ordered the size large and have been happy. They are a little snug, but still fit well and work like a champ.
Date published: 2010-12-29
  • 2015-10-03T16:10CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_10017598, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $49
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn $1 in Rewards for every $10 you spend
at Moosejaw.com and our shops (half for discounted items).

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart