Osprey Talon 22 Pack
Onyx Black
Onyx Black
Onyx Black
Onyx Black
Avatar Blue
Flame Orange

Osprey Talon 22 Pack

Osprey Talon 22 Pack is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 25.
  • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238557, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.8 Star Rating
4.8
From $75.99   $99.95
up to 24% off

Select a Size Select a Color
FREE SHIPPING

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using Ship Speeds of 1-5 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 5-10 day shipping will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we'll special-order the product for you and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and can only be shipped via 4-5 Day Shipping. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to accept delivery so we will call to schedule.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $2.10 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200 jacket at Moosejaw.com, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on MoosejawRewards.com.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10238557

The Osprey Talon 22 Pack is a lightweight backpack for all your day hiking, biking, and short adventure needs. The 22 is the middleweight of the Talon series, with 22 liters of space for carrying your water, extra layers, lunch, tools and snacks. The external hydration section separates your water reservoir from the rest of your stuffs, and the main section is panel loading so you can load and unload gear with ease. Slip the pack onto your back with the Biostretch™ harness and hipbelt and enjoy nature with comfort. A zippered stash pocket protects sunglasses when they're not on your face and the LidLock™ carries your helmet when you're not in the saddle. I guess it can carry your helmet when you are in the saddle, but I'm totally telling your mom on you.

Products on Sale are Discontinued Styles or Colors.

FEATURES of the Osprey Talon 22 Pack

  • External hydration
  • Fixed gender specific Bio Stretch hipbelt
  • Gender specific Bio Stretch adjustable harness
  • Harness adjustment system
  • Lid Lock helmet attachment system
  • Panel load
  • Single ice tool attachment
  • Stow-On-The-Go trekking pole attachment
  • Stretch woven front pocket
  • Top stash pocket

- + Product Specifications
Product Technology: Osprey Airscape, Osprey Peripheral Frame, Osprey Framesheet
Weight (Medium / Large): 1 lb 10 oz
Pack Fabric: Nylon
Weight: 26 oz
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Pack Capacity (Medium / Large): 22 Liters / 1343 Cubic inches
Weight Capacity: 20 lbs
Fabric Details: 70 x 100D Nylon Mini Shadowcheck
Weight (Small / Medium): 1 lb 5 oz
Pack Capacity (Small / Medium): 20 liters / 1220 cubic inches
Dimensions (Small / Medium): 20 x 10 x 9 in.
Dimensions (Medium / Large): 22 x 10 x 9 in.
Gender: Mens
Features: Sternum Strap, Adjustable Torso, Ventilated Back Panel, Hip Belt, Hip Belt Pockets, Hydration Compatible, Ice Axe / Trekking Pole Loops
Best Use: Day Hiking, Multisport
Pack Capacity: 22 liters / 1343 cubic inches
Frame Type: Internal
Pack Access: Top
Hydration Capacity: Above 100 oz
Osprey Airscape

Osprey Airscape
Osprey's AirScape™ mesh covered ridge foam backpanels set a new standard in the industry. With its ability to keep the weight close, provide cushion, allow ventilation and add load carry is quite a list of needs from this unassuming backpanel. It successfully accomplished all of that in a way that allows it to be used in the large gear hauling packs and lightweight day hiking packs.

Check Out All Airscape Products >

Osprey Peripheral Frame

Osprey Peripheral Frame
Peripheral frame was a departure from the norm many years ago and it’s still the foundation of our gear hauling packs. A wire frame runs along the outside of the backpanel directly connecting the upper load lifters and the central core of the pack to the hipbelt to transition and spread the load. Allowing natural torsional movement, effective adjustable torsos, and different load range and backpanel builds makes this suspension design truly innovative.

Check Out All Peripheral Frame Products >

Osprey Framesheet

Osprey Framesheet
Whether connected to a peripheral frame on a big load carrier or as a standalone suspension on a day pack, a well-designed framesheet effectively spreads and transitions the loads across the entire body to the harness and hipbelt. With different material and stay options Osprey can make sure each individual pack has the right load carry for its intended use.

Check Out All Framesheet Products >

Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Absolutely love the fit BUT... Love the comfort of this bag! am 5'4" and 125 lbs and a s/m is the perfect fit. I love the way the shoulder straps fit-they hold the bag close without confining. For fit and comfort--can't be beat. My negatives might be considered minor BUT has stopped me from purchasing. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE get rid of the big talon design on the sides. The Osprey logo is enough and would prefer a simple design vs. large talon/flames/curves on the sides. The other bit of feedback, the hip pockets are nice but would prefer same material as the pack vs. see through mesh for security, as well as durability. And would be nice if those pockets were elongated a bit more to come forward - would hold slight bit more and be easier to access.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doesn't get much better than this My boyfriend works at an outdoor retail store and he is a die-heart Osprey fan who raves about their packs. Being stubborn and unreasonable, I decided to get an REI pack instead and I immediately regretted it. The bag was filmsy and awkwardly small with limited organizational space. Ospreys, on the other hand, are impeccably well-made, durable, and extremely easy to use thanks to all the compartments, pockets, and other really useful features. I own a talon 22 and talon 44 and I honestly couldn't be happier. YOU NEED TTO BUY THIS NOW.
Date published: 2014-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pack! Great pack, lightweight, comfortable hiking or running, durable, just the right number of pockets and accessible pouches. It is my go to pack, I love it!
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly versatile performer! The Editors' Choice rating from Outdoor Gear Lab sealed the deal and led me to Moosejaw, too. I was looking for a new, versatile daypack for an upcoming trip to CO. Moosejaw's customer service was excellent, and the Osprey Talon 22 met every expectation. Weighing less than 2 pounds, I strapped it to my backpack and easily carried it to my camp at 12, 400 ' on Crestone Peak, then used it to carry my water and gear for my successful summit next morning. Then I used it for day hiking in Great Sands Dunes National Park. My Camelbak Mule didn't have enough volume for what I needed to carry on my 20-mile Monarch Crest mountain bike ride, so I used the Talon 22, which easily held my water, tools, camera, extra clothing and food. Hardly noticed it was on my back. Finished my trip with an early-morning climb up Uncompahgre Peak, and carried everything I needed in the Talon 22. Though I didn't need it, I was tempted to carry my ice ax just to try out the convenient carrying attachments. I did use the attachments for hiking poles, and they were perfect. This is a relatively inexpensive, comfortable, versatile, well-designed daypack, and I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2015-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't ever buy anything else..... In my line of work I travel all over the place I switch from public transportation to a personal vehicle then get on my mountain bike my Talon 22 goes everywhere I go I use it for all my luggage needs and the thing has never failed me I'm telling you I put this back through hell and it just keeps on Keepin On I tell everybody there's no Better Bag Company it is definitely a conversation piece amongst non-believers and people who have never had the superb privilege to have used one of these packs. I never stop promoting this company I am moving marketing daydream I could not say enough about this company I'm on my second Talon 22 and I push this back to limit they did not manufacture this bag to put through such horrendous conditions and I believe they outdid themselves
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Adventure Racing Great pack so far. I use this as my adventure race pack for races from 12-48 hours. I love the pockets on the hipbelt, the shoulder straps and the pack sides. The helmet storage is great too with the easy to use lid lock attachment. And the bike light tab is a nice touch for when I'm biking or hiking down the road and wanna be seen. It carries the load well and doesn't bounce too much which was a huge improvement over my last race pack. 10lb to 15lb is the average I load it with, maybe 20lb has been the max. And it has carried those loads well. The stretch outside back panel pocket is also clutch and super helpful for stashing things quickly, wet or awkward items. I also find myself grabbing this pack whenever I need a general daypack for hiking. Very happy I bought it.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pack I bought this pack to take on the Virginia Creeper Trail while in Damascus, VA. It has very convenient pockets on the hips and easy access to the contents of the pack. I added a hydration pack very easily and used it on the 51 mile ride I took. This pack is all I needed for the day. I'll use it for a daypack when I hike and can easily use it to carry my things to work. It has quickly become my "go to" pack.
Date published: 2016-06-23
  • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238557, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw

Is this pack at least semi-waterproof?

Asked by: AnnieM
Hiya, thanks for your question! This pack is not water resistant. We recommend either treating it with a spray-on or wash in product like Nikwax or purchasing the raincover. Hope this helps! Nikwax Products: http://www.moosejaw.com/moosejaw/shop/SearchDisplay?searchTerm=nikwax&categoryId=&cmCat=-10020&storeId=10208&catalogId=10000001&langId=-1&pageSize=48&beginIndex=0&sType=SimpleSearch&resultCatEntryType=2&showResultsPage=true&searchSource=Q&pageView=&isFreeSearch=true Raincover: http://www.moosejaw.com/moosejaw/shop/product_Osprey-Ultralight-Raincover_10270427_10208_10000001_-1_
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-09-29

"If you're seriously concerned with sweat, though, you might want to consider a pack with a contact suspension system similar to Osprey's Anti Gravity system." Would the Deuter AirLite 22's ventilation system be similar to Osprey's Anti-Gravity system?

Asked by: Sam Gold
Hey there! Thanks for reaching out to us! You bring up an excellent question, so let's get to it! While the Osprey Airscape suspension is solid, their Anti-Gravity system would be more comparable to the Deuter AirLite 22's ventilation system. Hope this helps you out! Crazy hugs, yo.
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-06-26

what size hydration reservoir do you recommend for this pack? Large size Talon 22

Asked by: Maniac
Hiya, thanks for your question! The hydration sleeve on this pack can fit a 2L or 3L reservoir. We recommend the Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir. You can find that here: http://www.moosejaw.com/moosejaw/shop/product_Osprey-Hydraulics-Reservoir_10304187_10208_10000001_-1_ Hope this helps!
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-08-25

Sweaty back is something I'm trying diligently to reduce/eliminate. Does the air ventilation system on the Talon 22 live up to it's billing?

Asked by: Sam Gold
Hey there, If you're looking for a pack with great back ventilation, the Talon 22 would be a great option. It utilizes Osprey's Airscape suspension system, which is comfortable while allowing air to move away from your back, helping to eliminate the "sweaty back" issue. If you're seriously concerned with sweat, though, you might want to consider a pack with a contact suspension system similar to Osprey's Anti Gravity system.
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-06-25
  • y_2017, m_3, d_28, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_4
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238557, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
- + Size Guide

Men's Packs
PACK SIZE One Size X-Small Small Medium Large X-Large S / M M / L
Xenith - - - 18 - 21 20 - 23 22 - 25 - -
Aether (*excludes 60L) - - 16 - 19 18 - 21 20 - 23 22 - 25 - -
Volt 17 - 22 - - - - - - -
Atmos AG - - 16 - 19 18 - 21 20 - 23 - - -
Stratos, Manta AG (36L, 28L), Skarab (32L, 24L) - - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 21
Kestrel, Talon, Kamber - - - - - - 16 - 20 19 - 23
Volt - - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 21
Manta AG (20L), Skarab (18L), Raptor, Viper 17 - 21 - - - - - - -
Waypoint 17 - 22 - - - - - - -
Unisex Packs
PACK SIZE One Size X-Small Small Medium Large S / M M / L
Exos, Variant - - 16 - 19 18 - 21 20 - 23 - -
Escapist (*excludes 18L) - - - - - 16 - 20 19 - 23
Daylite 15 - 22 - - - - - -
Mutant, Radial, Farpoint - - - - - 15 - 19 18 - 22
Kamber Abs - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 22
Rev Available in S / M and M / L. Select the size that matches your typical apparel size.
Zealot 15 - 21 - - - - - -
Syncro - - - - - 16 - 19 18 - 21
Women's Packs
PACK SIZE One Size X-Small Small Medium Large XS / S S / M
Xena, Aura AG - 14 - 17 16 - 19 18 - 21 - - -
Ariel (*excludes 75 / 55L) - 14 - 17 16 - 18 18 - 21 20 - 22* - -
Viva, Wayfarer 14 - 19 - - - - - -
Sirrus - - - - - 15 - 18 16 - 20
Kyte, Tempest, Kresta - - - - - 13 - 17 16 - 20
Mira AG (34L, 26L), Skimmer (30L, 22L) - 15 - 18 17 - 20 - - - -
Mira AG (18L) 15 - 18 - - - - - -
Skimmer (16L) 15 - 19 - - - - - -
Raven, Verve 14 - 18 - - - - - -
Kid Carriers + Kids' Packs
PACK SIZE One Size Age
Ace 75 14 - 19 11 - 18
Ace 50 13 - 18 8 - 14
Ace 38 11 - 15 6 - 11
Jet 18 13 - 17 8 +
Jet 12 11 - 15 5 +
Hydrajet 11 - 15 5 +
Moki 11 - 16 5 +
OSPREY MEASUREMENT GUIDE

Please note that the info provided above refers to the torso size each pack will fit, and NOT any dimensions of the pack. Below are some steps for how to get your torso length. You should probably have someone help take this measurement for you so it is accurate. And they might accidentally touch your butt.

HOW TO MEASURE TORSO LENGTH:
• Start at the iliac crest, which is the top of the hipbones on the side of your body. These act like a shelf for supporting a pack hipbelt.
• From this level on your spine, measure to the C7 vertebrae, the knobby bone at the base of your neck when you put your head down.
• Make sure you keep your back as straight as possible while measuring.
• This torso measurement determines what size Osprey pack you should carry. Refer to the size charts above to find your ideal size.
• If you are in between sizes, it is ideal to try them both on before ordering.

HOW TO MEASURE HIPBELT SIZE:
• Measure around your hips at your iliac crest, NOT your waist.
• A properly fitted hipbelt rides centered over the hipbones and needs to be very snug.
• The padded portion should wrap well around your hips, leaving a gap of 3 to 6 inches between the tips of the both hip pads when securely tightened.
• Refer to the Hipbelts size chart above to help determine your ideal Osprey pack size, but again, your torso length is what should determine your pack size, NOT the hipbelt.

- + Warranty Info

ALL MIGHTY GUARANTEE - Osprey's Lifetime Warranty

When Osprey celebrated their 35th anniversary in 2009 they launched The Osprey All Mighty Guarantee. What that means to you is ANY Osprey product purchased at ANY time is covered. Any product, any reason, any era - the all encompassing Osprey lifetime warranty ensures their dedication to superior design, craftsmanship and quality of their products is backed up by their actions to replace or repair a pack so it lasts a lifetime. Or two.

Here are some details.... Osprey will repair for any reason, free of charge, any damage or defect in their products, whether it was purchased back in 1974, or ordered right now from this site. If they are unable to perform a functional repair on your pack, they will happily replace it. Osprey proudly stands behind the All Mighty Guarantee, so much so that it bears the signature of company founder and head designer, Mike Pfotenhauer.

Some Osprey All Mighty Guarantee FAQs:

What do I do if my Osprey pack needs to be repaired?
If you live in the United States and need a repair done on your Osprey pack, you will first need to obtain a Return Authorization number. You can do this by reaching their Returns Department at 866-314-3130, or using the information that is provided with a new Osprey pack.

What do I do if I just need a replacement pack part like a buckle?
Give Osprey a call at 866-314-3130 and they will take care of you.

How long will it take?
You can tell Osprey you need the pack returned by a certain date when you request a Return Authorization number, and they will do their absolute best to meet that deadline.

What if my pack is super dirty and stinks?
Clean it before you send it to Osprey to get repaired. The real reason is that there is a law that says if your gear is too dirty or odiferous (smelly), Osprey is not allowed to repair it and will just return it to you.

Do I have to pay for shipping?
A little bit. You are responsible for the cost of shipping the pack to Osprey, and they will pay shipping to return the pack via UPS or FedEx. Osprey cannot be held responsible if packages get lost in transit, so make sure you get a tracking number when you ship your pack out. Also, if you use expedited shipping be sure to let Osprey know (866-314-3130). They, in turn, will give your pack priority processing and return it using a similar expedited shipping method.

Do I have to register my pack to take advantage of this incredible guarantee, and/or need to be the original owner of my Osprey pack?
No! Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee is truly ALL MIGHTY. If you own an Osprey pack that needs to be repaired they will repair or replace it.

JUST A HEADS UP: If your Osprey product is not repairable and is replaced, the original product will not be returned to you. They will try really really hard to repair your pack, but if they are unable to make a functional repair, they will replace it. For products that are no longer in production you will be contacted by Osprey to discuss replacement options.

All good answers. So what is NOT covered?
• Osprey program packs or any Osprey pack used by outdoor programs are ONLY covered under Osprey's Program Pack Warranty, NOT AMG.
• Size and/or fit issues. Make sure you buy a pack that fits. Check out the size guide on Osprey product pages for more info.
• Personal preferences like colors you don't like, style of the pack, or not enough/too much room in your pack. Check the product description, features, specifications, and size guide to make sure you are ordering the right pack for you.
• Third party Repairs or replacements. Send your Osprey pack to Osprey and Osprey only to get fixed. Easy as that. And don't try fixing things yourself.
• Cosmetic wear and tear including any reasonable aging of your pack that affects only the appearance and not the function of your pack. Be proud of those scars!
• B.A.M.G. (Before All Mighty Guarantee) Repair Work. The All Mighty Guarantee applies only to repairs requested on or after January 1, 2009.
• A Osprey Hydraulics reservoir is covered by a limited 1-year warranty, which is the reasonable lifespan of a reservoir. Pouring and storing of warm/hot or boiling water in your reservoir WILL VOID your warranty, so don't do that. Reservoirs are NOT designed to contain or handle liquids at temperature.

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $35
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart