Optimus Crux Stove

Optimus Crux Stove is rated 4.52 out of 5 by 25.
  • 2015-10-05T19:15CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_10031883, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Select a Size

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means the item you are ordering is ready for shipment

"Ship Date" is the date your product will ship

In-stock orders placed before 3pm EST will ship SAME DAY, unless otherwise noted during checkout

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $5.00 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$5 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

So if you buy a $200 jacket at Moosejaw.com, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on MoosejawRewards.com.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Cookware

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10031883

Moosejaw Staff Pick - Chris, Moosejaw Secret Headquarters

The Crux Stove by Optimus. The Optimus Crux is so lightweight and compact that you won't even know you're carrying this powerful 3000W burner. Thanks to an innovative folding burner head and the convenient strap-on protective stuff bag, Optimus Crux packs down to nothing and stores in the empty base of your LP-gas canister. A technical wonder designed for weight chasers who refuse to compromise cooking performance. Enjoy every meal! Weight: 83 g. Measurements: L 84 mm x W 57 mm x H 31 mm. Average burn time: up to 60 minutes at maximum output (220 g gas canister). Average boil time for 1 L of water: as little as 3 minutes depending on climate, altitude, etc. Includes burner with valve and stuff bag.

FEATURES of the Optimus Crux Stove

  • Only stove that nests in unused space under fuel canister
  • Unique foldable burner provides ultimate compact ability
  • Powerful and stable 3000W burner (precise simmering and fast boiling)
  • The lightweight that boils water fast, but won't spot burn while simmering

Please note that stoves DO NOT include any fuel bottles or canisters pictured. Sorry about everything and please don't hate us.

SPECIFICATIONS of the Optimus Crux Stove

  • Fuel: LP-gas 75/25 butane/propane
  • Weight: 2.9 oz / 83 g
  • Measurements Folded: 84 x 57 x 31 mm / 3.3 x 2.2 x 1.2"
  • Rating: 3000 W / 10200 of the Optimus Crux Lite Stove
  • BTU Burn Time: Up to 60 minutes at high maximum output, using 220 g / 8 oz canister
  • Boil Time (1 L / 34 fl. oz of water): Down to 3 minutes depending on climate, altitude, etc

- +
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Compact, great flame, looks like a velociraptor....what more do you want This does what my MSR pocket rocket doesn't. It fits with my MSR kettle and a 4oz fuel canister. I am also able to throw my brunton folding spork in on the deal. Makes a mean and super small mess kit for freezer bag cooking, boiling water, oatmeal, ramen, hot drinks, etc.... Only thing I was disappointed in was that the pot supports aren't quite as stable as the pocket rocket, however I've never felt like my pot was going to fall off. Also it gives you a very wide flame dispersion so get a pot lifter, I got the MSR LiteLifter your pot handles will be very hot but they cool quickly and are ready for use less than a minute off the stove.
Date published: 2008-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small, Light Stove Love pretty much everything about this stove so far. First, is its size. The thing is tiny!! The three support arms fold in right where they meet the burner. And the burner head is on a ball joint and folds down flat. Although it is a tiny stove the burner head is big with lots of surface area. Much bigger than a pocket rocket or similar stoves. So it puts out a large flame and more powerful than I thought it would be. However my one complaint is that it has a very poor flame control. This can make it difficult to simmer anything. But I didn't really get it to simmer I got it to boil water fast and that it does! Great little stove and a great value.
Date published: 2011-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compact, stable & reliable. The Optimus Crux is a terrific stove! It fits the Snow Peak Multi-Compact cookset perfectly and boils the 1L pot in 3 minutes. The folding arms have tiny ridges that help hold the pot even if its not perfectly even and are very easy to use. Fuel adjustment is a bit touchy at first but convenient once you get used to it and the flame disperses very nicely out of the burner. Best of all when its folded down it fits under the typical 220g canister perfectly and is held there with the neoprene carry case that comes with the Crux. I typically get roughly 25 boils from a 220g canister so the longevity is nice also. Take one on your next trip, you won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2011-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS STOVE!!! This stove, in my opinion, is the best canister stove out there. It's compact design and the way the integrated the storage with the canister is awesome!!! That is some good design work, if you ask me!! I purchased mine with the Terra Weekend cookset. great littl package!! everything nests together into one little package. I'm not sure why I've read so many reviews saying that it is hard to simmer. I find the flame control to be just fine. You have to remember....this is a backpacking stove. It is made to boil water quickly. In my opinion...best design, best storage, best flame and burner design. Awesome stove!!!
Date published: 2012-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Optimus Crux Stove = Freshly Cooked Trout on Mt. Blanca I am an avid fly fisherman, and was told about a lake on Mt. Blanca, CO that had 18" and larger trout. Went to moosejaw and bought this a couple weeks before my adventure to Mt. Blanca. Used this with my MSR pots/pans to cook up the rainbow trout that I caught at Lily Lake/Mt. Blanca. I was a little worried that it might not get hot enough, but even with a steady wind, I was able to cook up some Lily Lake Trout Fillets. Simple design for simple people. I especially like that there is no connecting tube, always have trouble keeping those clean/unbroken. Just screw it on the gas tank and your ready to cook.
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just unfold and fire it up... Just be sure to stand back a bit and try not to burn yourself! I purchased this stove to replace a defective Brunton Flex. Like the Flex, the Crux is foldable, but is rated slightly less powerful and only has 3 pot support arms rather than 4. However, this is a good thing (in my opinion) because it is easier to get the pot to set flat and be stable. When folded, the Crux fits underneath an 8oz/220g fuel canister inside an Evernew 900ml Titanium Deep Pot (ECA265, ECA402, ECA187) with the lid on. It will NOT fit inside a MSR Titan Kettle with a large fuel canister. I have found this stove to be quite stable and heats water quickly. The larger head also helps to spread the heat enabling one to cook and fry more easily without burning. 2 year warranty.
Date published: 2010-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small, light, powerful I love it! I already had two stoves heavier liquid fuel stoves but I was going for a solo tour and I always wanted to have an ultralight cartridge stove. If you are travelling in civilised areas or just go for a few days this is certainly the kind of stove you want to go for. The main drawback of the stoves which stand on the cartridges is their poor stability. However, with the Crux the problem was far less severe than I xpected, I used it for four weeks and never had a problem. Though I just cooked for one person so the pot was not that heavy and you have to be careful. Dont use it on the table, but on the ground, you dont want to spill boiling water over you in the middle of nowhere..
Date published: 2007-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest stove I own! Best stove I have ever purchased. I also have the MSR pocket rocket and MSR whisperlite. This stove conveniently fits in my MSR kettle with a fuel canister. It has a wider flame than the pocket rocked which spreads heat evenly which helps when cooking. I only cook for myself and wife, this stove is easily capable of taking care of the task. I have used this stove on multiple treks now and it has never let me down. Easy to simmer unlike my whisperlite which I have nicknamed the flamethrower. Easy to use and uses little fuel. Would recommend using a windscreen with it.
Date published: 2008-03-19
  • 2015-10-05T19:15CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_10031883, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $49
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn $1 in Rewards for every $10 you spend
at Moosejaw.com and our shops (half for discounted items).

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart