MSR WhisperLite Universal Stove

MSR WhisperLite Universal Stove is rated 4.7143 out of 5 by 14.
  • 2015-08-31T17:42CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_14
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238523, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Select a Size
FREE SHIPPING

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means the item you are ordering is ready for shipment

"Ship Date" is the date your product will ship

In-stock orders placed before 3pm EST will ship SAME DAY, unless otherwise noted during checkout

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $5.25 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn 10 points for every dollar you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (5 points for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back to spend on MoosejawRewards.com.

So if you get a $200 jacket at Moosejaw.com you can turn around and get a $20 tee at Moosejaw Rewards.

You are signed up and earn points automatically when you make a purchase and give your email address.

For full program info,see:
Rewards Program Details

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Cookware

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10238523

The MSR WhisperLite Universal is a hybrid-fuel stove which offers the convenience of running on canisters and the versatility of accepting liquid fuels (including cold-weather performance). The AirControl™ technology optimizes the fuel/air mixture for perfect performance with white gas, canister fuel, kerosene and unleaded gasoline. No matter where you go in the universe, you'll find a fuel to use with this stove. Even if you go to Jupiter, there will be some sort of space gas that the WhisperLite Universal could run on.... if not, just use some of your rocket fuel.

(warning: do not actually run this stove on rocket fuel. And make sure you know a thing or two about Jupiter before camping there.)

FEATURES of the MSR WhisperLite Universal Stove

  • Hybrid Fuel: Burns canister fuel, white gas, kerosene and unleaded gasoline
  • Canister Liquid Feed: Inverting canister allows stove to run on liquid fuel for increased cold-weather and low-fuel performance
  • Ground Breaking Performance: Patent-pending Air Control technology creates the world's first stove to deliver optimal performance with canister and liquid fuels
  • Light And Sturdy: Lightweight stainless steel legs offer excellent stability

- + Product Specifications
Best Use: Camping, Backpacking
Fuel Type: Multi-fuel, Canister
Stove Features: Made in USA
Stove Material: Steel / Aluminum
Water Boil Time: 3 min. 30 sec. (canister)
Weight: 11.5 oz
Honors: Award Winner
- +
Frequently Bought with this Item
Customers Also Looked At
MSR Fuel Bottle

MSR Fuel Bottle
$13.46   $17.95 Price pending
MSR DragonFly Fuel Pump

MSR DragonFly Fuel Pump
$26.21   $34.95 Price pending
MSR Quick 2 System

MSR Quick 2 System
$74.96   $99.95 Price pending
MSR Alpine Salt And Pepper Shaker

MSR Alpine Salt And Pepper Shaker
$4.46   $5.95 Price pending
MSR Quick Solo System

MSR Quick Solo System
$44.96   $59.95 Price pending
MSR Alpine Deluxe Cutting Board

MSR Alpine Deluxe Cutting Board
$5.96   $7.95 Price pending
MSR Reactor 2.5 Pot

MSR Reactor 2.5 Pot
$74.96   $99.95 Price pending
MSR Folding Spoon

MSR Folding Spoon
$2.96   $3.95 Price pending
MSR MugMate Coffee/Tea Filter

MSR MugMate Coffee/Tea Filter
$12.71   $16.95 Price pending
MSR Folding Spork

MSR Folding Spork
$2.96   $3.95 Price pending
Moosejaw Nalgene Tritan Water Bottle

Moosejaw Nalgene Tritan Water Bottle
$9.60   $12.00 Price pending
MSR Fuel Bottle

MSR Fuel Bottle
$13.46   $17.95 Price pending
Therm-a-Rest Neoair all Season Mattress

Therm-a-Rest Neoair all Season Mattress
$104.96   $139.95 Price pending
MSR WhisperLite International Stove

MSR WhisperLite International Stove
$74.96   $99.95 Price pending
MSR PocketRocket Stove

MSR PocketRocket Stove
$29.96   $39.95 Price pending
MSR WhisperLite Stove

MSR WhisperLite Stove
$67.46   $89.95 Price pending
MSR WindBoiler Personal Stove System

MSR WindBoiler Personal Stove System
$97.46   $129.95 Price pending
MSR XGK EX Stove

MSR XGK EX Stove
$119.96   $159.95 Price pending
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have for winter camping Great stove! Easy to use and white gas is a must have for winter camping. I recently took this stove on an overnight camping trip with my 10 year old son, Ian, and the temperature was between -5 and 10 deg F (I was cold but Ian was fine ... he's kinda bad ass). It was my first winter camping trip where I didn't need to stick the fuel canister down my pants before making dinner. I'm not sure that it made the trip better, but at least Ian didn't have to wait (he's always hungry ... I don't know where it all goes). The option to use fuel canisters is nice too, and it does make it universal after all, but not essential.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nifty dual fuel stove! I have always used MSR´s liquid fuels stoves. When this was out in the market I gave it a try and I was delighted! Depending on the type of trip I do, the fuel I use. And on some I use both. Gas is much cleaner and faster to start, ideal for tent vestibule cooking. ,,Liquid fuels can be way cheaper and easier to find than gas canisters. They work better in really cold environments and at high altitudes. ,,It´s not that fast to change from one system to the other. You need to change the adaptor in one end and change the jet in the other end of the metal hoose.
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from solid versatile Got this stove for winter camping to replace my venerable optimus 00 which has been reliably melting snow since 1977, but weighs a ton and smells of kerosene, and is so loud that people 100 meters away can be bothered by the noise. This stove is quiet, hot, works smoothly, simmers well. Whisperlite has been a reliable platform for years. I won't use this for summer when a sawyer water filter and an alcohol stove meet my needs with far less weight and no moving parts. This is a typical MSR product, all function, a bit persnickety, requires some attention when using, but entirely manageable. Note that the fuel bottle pictured does not come with the stove, so if you want free shipping, buy it along with the stove. Moosejaws on sale price was the best I found by $20.
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stove, lightweight, multi fuel, what else could you want? I've owned this stove for around 6 months now. The first few times using it I used Kerosene and this required changing the fuel valve. I didn't test the stove before going on my 3 day solo trek and within the first night I bent the copper tubing to the point that it would not fit back into place. Keep in mind this was my fault for overtightening the new valve. I've used it extensively since then and it has always worked wonderful. From my experience Gasoline has been the easiest fuel to use. It is very easy to light but requires cleaning every 2 weeks or so if you are using it daily. I have bent the copper tubing a few times now but I have learned how to fix it in the field so this has been a problem. I would definitely buy this stove again, it has served me well.
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small Hiccup, Otherwise Perfect Really, really like the serrated edging on the pot supports. Had zero sliding of pots even on not-so-level spots. This stove was very easy to pack, setup, light; it was able to bring water to a boil rapidly and was even easier to pack away. Everything about this stove is great in my mind, but the one thing that I will say that I got frustrated with is the way it came with ridiculously tight manufacturers fittings. I attempted to change out my UC adaptor and fuel jet to the liquid gas (UG) adaptor and jet, but I literally had to get my own tools to finally get these fittings loose. I would've been in trouble with the tool provided in the stove kit. Once I was able to switch out the adaptor and jet, this thing worked like a champ and I've had no issues since. I've purposely gone back and forth just to make sure that I can still loosen the fittings with their tool. Other than that issue, this is EXACTLY what I was looking for in a stove.
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great stove, just wish they used a more flexible fuel line Another great MSR stove. Will boil 2 cups of half froze water in under 5 minutes outside in the wind in 20deg above 7,000 feet on white gas or butane. Flame patter is nice and wide so you can cook elaborate meals on camp cookware without blow-torching the center of your pots. I can manage my flame "almost" as good as on my dragonfly.,,Stove is quiet compared to my dragonfly. But in a harsh weather I prefer the sound of my dragon fly as I know its still running and didn't blow out.,,,,My only complaints are:,,- Fuel line is way to rigid! Your fuel can or tank will constantly move the stove around. And if you are on uneven terrain like a boulder, if your bottle or canister moves the stove will follow. I can't even get the stove to sit level without a pot weighing it down that line is that stiff. ,,,,- Will soot with white gas priming. Typical of a bottom primed stove like this to soot up on priming unless you use alcohol for priming.,,,,Overall good stove.
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Disaster Ready I have used the MSR WhisperLite Universal Stove for over 10 years. This stove is quite versatile and I have used it with gasoline of many various grades for years.,,Gasoline is probably the worst type of fuel to use with any stove short of diesel / jet fuel which I have yet to try. So this would be the worst case scenario. Yet the stove works well.,,Gasoline is super dirty on start up. Priming is required which uses up quite a bit of your fuel and the flames and soot are dirty and dangerous. Definitely cannot be used within any range of anything flammable like leaves or your tent. However, once the stove is primed and going, it's a pleasure to use. The control is nice and allows good control of the flame. The pot supports are adequate and reasonably stable. I bought a repair kit nearly ten years ago with this stove and only used an o-ring. I have never experienced a clog even after a year of storage. Now I use cannister stoves but this one is on reserve for disaster duty for sure!
Date published: 2014-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slightly tricky. Built to last ages! When compared to other stoves this one can be a little tricky. Lots of little pieces with potential for loss. If you don't plan to do anything beyond boiling water check out the pocket rocket or a jetboil. On the other hand if you plan to do a gourmet backcountry 3 course meal this the stove for you! I found in my experience that white gas(naptha) was the best fuel source and the cleanest to use. I have also used the compressed canisters you can buy and found them to not be very efficient. This stove does take some learning and definitely some patience. MSR has a bunch of great videos online that explain everything from set up to maintenance. If you're lucky your friend might "accidentally" drop the whole can of white gas on the fire and you'll get to try unleaded gasoline!! Serious side note: don't use white gas to help out a fire! the stove with the fuel bottle weighs practically nothing packs to pretty much nothing as well! Check out some of MSR's other alpinist cooking sets to pair
Date published: 2014-01-26
  • 2015-08-31T17:42CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_14
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238523, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $49
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn $1 in Rewards for every $10 you spend
at Moosejaw.com and our shops (half for discounted items).

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart