Red

MSR Mutha Hubba NX 3-Person Tent

MSR Mutha Hubba NX 3-Person Tent is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 30.
  • y_2016, m_12, d_5, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238413, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.8 Star Rating
4.8
$499.95

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Tents

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10238413

The MSR Mutha Hubba NX 3-Person Tent is a free-standing backpacking tent for three season, three person fun on the trail. MSR has taken the popular Mutha Hubba and not only added NX to the name, but made sure it was ultralight and had plenty of liveable space. The 4 lb, 7 oz tent is just under 2 pounds lighter than the previous model, which I bet your shoulders/back will totally appreciate. The single DAC Featherlite NSL pole is much easier to keep track of and preps the way for faster pitching. The 15D nylon micromesh on the tent body keeps little buggers on the outside while allowing for a cooling airflow, just pop the 20D ripstop nylon 1200mm Durashield™ polyurethane and silicone coated rainfly over top and you're protected from the rainstorm. The fancy raingutters on the fly help prevent drips as you enter/exit either of the two doors. The eight included MSR MiniGroundhog™ stakes keep everything grounded and the dual vestibules guyed out to protect your gear.

FEATURES of the MSR Mutha Hubba NX 3-Person Tent

  • Unique pole configuration maximizes headroom and elbow space throughout the tent
  • Set up and take down easily with a unified, color-coded hub-and-pole system; ultra-compact compression sack fits easily into a backpack
  • Two large StayDry™ doors help ensure water doesn't drip into the tent when doors are opened; two large vestibules store gear
  • Rainfly vents and venting vestibules help create a dry, comfortable interior
  • Fast & Light® setup option lets you use just the rainfly, poles and footprint (not included) to reduce the weight to 3 lbs. 4 oz. (1.46kg)
  • The MSR Mutha Hubba NX tent comes with a 20-denier?, high-tenacity ripstop nylon Durashield™ polyurethane- and silicone-coated rainfly

SPECIFICATIONS of the MSr Mutha Hubba NX 3-Person Tent

  • Enjoy a minimum weight (tent, rainfly and poles only) of just 4 lbs. 7 oz. (2kg)—less than 1 lb. 9 oz. (0.7kg) per person when shared among three backpackers
  • 15-denier? nylon micromesh and 20-denier?, high-tenacity ripstop nylon canopy; 30-denier?, high-tenacity ripstop nylon Durashield™ polyurethane-coated floor

- + Product Specifications
Vestibule Area: 18 square feet
Rainfly Fabric: 20D ripstop nylon 1200 mm durashield
Peak Height: 44 in.
Number of Poles: 3
Floor Fabric: 30D ripstop nylon
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Weight: 77 oz
Packed Dimensions: 21 x 7 in.
Minimum Trail Weight: 4 lbs, 7 oz
Canopy Fabric: 20D ripstop nylon
Floor Area: 41.5 square feet
Tent Pole Material: DAC Featherlite
Features: Free Standing, Vestibule, Double Wall
Best Use: Car Camping, Backpacking
Sleep Capacity: 3
Seasons: 3-Season
Number of Doors: 2
- +
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tent and excellent customer support I bought my several years ago for me and my two Boy Scouts. Great tent weathered some horrendous downpours and we were completely dry. Have gotten complements every time I have used it. We had an issue with the fly and MSR covered it under warranty, no questions. Great product and great company!
Date published: 2015-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tent to Learn the Ropes Purchased this tent for a back country hike along Pictured Rocks in the UP, and it didn't disappoint. Sets up quickly, held up well in wind and rain, and has two nice vestibules. Even though this is a three person tent, I would recommend it for two people and your gear. Personally, I don't like to leave my gear in the vestibule, because it can get wet or muddy if water flows or is blown beneath the bottom of the vestibule. So it is nice to have the room in the tent for the gear.,,Looking back, I wish I would have paid a few extra buck and purchased a four season tent - like a Hilleberg.
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Coastal Trail (Beatty Cove)- Lake Superior Provincial Park Gale Waring to the south. Possiable Squall warning to the north. Rain Waring that delivered as promised- 50 mm or rain a hour at times and raining for more than 24 hours. This also included 70 km gusts of wind. One of the best tent makers in the world.
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tent! If you're into light wieght back packing this tent will be perfect for you. It has more then enough room for two and a little one. It is a little tight for three, but the two extra large vestibules gives you all the room you need for everyones gear on a three person trip. I took this tent on a three night trip to Dartmoor with my five year old and it rained the entire time on us. It keep us and our gear dry the entire time. Could not ask for a better lightweight backpacking tent!
Date published: 2015-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dome Sweet Dome! Sometimes, the best kit upgrades stem from a story and the switch to the MSR MH NX 3-Person Backpacking tent resulted from just that. Having camped throughout the southern and central portions of the Americas, while motorcycling from Argentina towards Alaska, our previous tent reached its tipping point and lay down to die an honourable death. Perhaps hardly a surprise having rattled around in a hard pannier; pitching it in a multitude of conditions; in all manner of weathers; and on just about every type of terra firma through 16 Latin American countries. The once expedition-level tent finally expired after having put it through its paces and some. The desire to test a lighter, freestanding three-season shelter—built for the weight-sensitive where size matters—became a must-have necessity. Trying the tent out at Joshua Tree National Park where the ground was gravelly in drizzly weather, sandy under footprint in blustery winds at Monument Valley, and lush green in Colden, a rural hamlet at the start of England’s winter snap, the MH NX proved no less than practical. Moreover, coped admirably in keeping us warm and dry in all three havens of the northern hemisphere. About the product Overhauled in 2014, MSR revamped lightweight liveability that thoughtfully provides for three happy campers, or in our case, two people laden with a full set of motorcycle luggage. Judging by the width of our sleeping mats, I’d even argue the tent would be snug yet doable in accommodating four people. The MH NX underwent further refinements in a makeover for spring / summer 2016. Salient improvements include a new floor plan that offers each occupant easy access to doors and gear, and a new frame geometry to improve ventilation and interior headroom. Weighing in at just four pounds and nine ounces, the 2016 tent is a trifle two ounces heavier than its predecessor, consequently boasting a 50 per cent greater liveable volume. It enjoys 39 square foot of glorious non-tapered floor space, yet still manages to pack down to five pounds—making minimalist meets roomy one of its biggest selling points. When the stuff sack envelops the contents, it is tube-shaped compact taking no more length than 21 inches against a diameter of 7 inches amid your precious cargo. When weight is at a premium and the luxury of space does not have to be compromised—this is the obvious solution. How has MSR worked its magic so that the weight is markedly lighter, compared to its pre-2014 MH predecessor at nearly two pounds more? Well, the tent’s body comprises 15-denier nylon micromesh and 20-denier ripstop nylon, the latter canopy fabric of which can also be found in the rainfly, coupled with a DuraShield polyurethane & silicone coating (1,200mm). Like the rainfly, the floor enjoys DuraShield qualities too (3,000mm), only benefits from 30-denier ripstop nylon and durable water repellent on top. Namely, MSR has gone to extraordinary lengths to give the Midas touch to a fabric that feels tenacious in terms of tear strength, yet somehow remains featherweight. Set-up The MH NX has numerous pitching options, giving rise to one of the tent’s most redeeming features—flexibility. Any set up for which is simple to erect, whether you assemble the tent fully with the rainfly; engage one of the fast and lightweight options with no fly (reducing weight to 2 pounds 15 ounces); or the other fast and lightweight set up by connecting the fly to MSR’s corresponding footprint. Complete with a “hubbed” pole system, the DAC FeatherLite NSL aluminum poles are attached to a set of secure hubs, as one component, keeping assembly time to within five minutes. Including draping the rainfly over the tent and connecting it to the frame, staking it down with the pegs and guy ropes. The clips are colour-coded and the guy-outs are reflective, which makes it no trouble to construct when daylight is scarce or in the beam of a headlamp at night. Living with the tent A life on the road means that my partner and I both optimise a set of 38-litre panniers and a large roll bag with which to accommodate our belongings on an unsupported journey. Taking the more adventurous routes where we can, keeping the load as light as possible, makes for a much happier suspension on the bikes long term. It promotes easier handling of our tickets to ride on top. Cue the immediate benefit of the MH NX at one and a half pounds lighter than our previous tent. Pearl, my two-wheel pack-mule is groaning less already. Superbly, the vertical walls give the tenants a spacious interior, a huge positive in comparison to the low profile aspect of our departed tent. There is plenty of head, elbow, leg and kneeling down room to manoeuvre throughout the tent. Personal space is anything but compromised when there’s a person either side of you, or two sets of motorcycle gear consuming the equivalent length of two adults. Squeezed in like a sardine while lying down to get dressed is a thing of the past, thanks to the steep walls at 44 inches of the MH NX. There is ample room in which to store bulky bags and cumbersome items inside the tent, not just the valuables. Four high corner mesh pockets are easy-to-reach, usefully housing all the small, easy-to-misplace and fragile items. Interior ceiling hooks facilitate the option to conveniently hang carabiners, enabling artificial light above head height for example. Alternatively, a MSR gear loft could be installed, allowing even further storage. I relish having two doors that lead to decent sized side-entry vestibules. Neatly stowing any luggage considered redundant for the night—in one of the 14 square foot vestibules—while the other is used as the entrance and exit point, best utilises those spaces. Due to the restrictions of our previous canvas crib, accessing both vestibules from inside the tent is a convenient joy. Particularly in bad weather when you invariably forget to bring something crucial inside. The fact that the MH NX can be freestanding means we have started enjoying camping on rock hard ground. Better still, relinquishing the rainfly to turn our sleeping quarters into a million star hotel when it’s warm and dry, is what we call bliss after a sweet day in the saddle. Weather resistance Inclement weather dictates that the tent will perform at its best when the rainfly is engaged. When all the guy-out points were utilized on an exposed hillock in England, the structure remained stable in gusty conditions without punishing the frame or fabric. Another redeeming feature of the MH NX is the adjustable stakeout loops in each corner. Prioritising to tighten up the corners leave the tent’s rainfly and floor weatherproof as much as taught. Two kickstand vents, the mesh walls and two vestibules admit an agreeable level of ventilation, keeping condensation at bay, if not an unnoticeable minimum. When it comes to battening down the hatches there are two large StayDry doors with built-in rain gutters. This assuredly adds to the tent’s adaptability in wet weather, preventing unwanted water from coming in. While bleak skies gave us a night of relentless rain at Joshua Tree National Park and Colden, the fly performed flawlessly while we, and our contents situated in both vestibules, remained oblivious and bone dry. Sweet spots The devil is always in the detail when it comes to distinguishing a good tent from a great one. For me, I adore the intelligently designed stuff sack. It bears a wide-mouth draw cord design and comes with compression straps. It opens long ways like a low messenger bag, as opposed to a small opening from the top, akin to a dry bag. All of which makes light work of packing the tent away when undertaken by one person; it’s fast as opposed to squeeze-it-in-and-shuffle-it-down frustrating. And pays dividends especially when the tent is packed wet. Likewise, unpacking the tent is a doddle. The D-shaped doors are fully sized yet fashioned in such a way that hang a few inches from the ground; as such, they deter muck and a myriad of other natural offenders from the ground, being flung inside. The zippers are thoughtfully repositioned from its forerunner, which coupled with the size of the doors, make passage in and out a seamless endeavour. The aluminum cord adjusters that attach the poles to the tent also leave a lasting impression, certainly one that will satisfy usage for the long haul. I appreciate a sky’s worth of light permitted to burst through the pale coloured rainfly, a noticeable advantage over our last tent in bottle green. Likewise, I am very fond of the big mesh panels that perpetually afford an airy atmosphere. When the side door is rolled up, the large oval mesh opening grants the evening’s fresh air and stargazing opportunities to boot. Conclusion First impressions of the MH NX could be deemed as a tad delicate by the untrained eye. After testing the tent upon damp gravelly ground in Joshua Tree National Park, at night in sand at Monument Valley National Park as well as under cold conditions in rural England, it didn't take long for the steadfast canvas to become a personal favourite of mine. Any fleeting qualm I may have harboured over the tent was soon replaced with confidence in an exceptionally well-made, fully featured, durable one. Simply, it’s a very capable shelter erring mindfully on the lightweight, bright and airy. It is free-to-maneuver spacious for its weight and one that sets the standard in flexible pitch options. An easy recommend for many applications of extended season backcountry camping—early spring through the summer to late fall—this comfortable tent will be our ‘Dome Sweet Dome’ for a substantial amount of time to come.
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tent I have owned I had purchased this tent a few months ago. Used it on a cool weekend and a hot weekend. The tent does it job in the rain and in the wind (even noticed the rain gutter). The best part is the ventilation. I had pitched it with extra stakes and guy cords so the breeze could come in even when raining. The only problem is I had to spend an extra to pitch it properly to get the ventilation. The hook up to the tents are there but the tent should come with more stakes and guy cords. I do like the fact there are no plastic buckles.
Date published: 2015-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flat Out Best Tent Ever I bought my MH tent about 6 or 7 years ago. It has been the most bomb proof, roomy, easy to set up tent ever. It is designed for and has handled three folks. We use it as a comfy two person on extended canoe trips and our annual horse pack trip. We've got >100 nights in it with scarcely an issue. A storm in Utah on the Green River lifted our tent off the beach complete with the two of and our gear in it. Only a minor bend to a pole after that kartwheel. MSR gladly replaced the bent pole. Fantastic service and a fantastic tent. Setting it up takes <3 minutes.
Date published: 2015-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4 years old and still going strong I got this tent about 4 years ago now. It is still by far my favorite tent! Its light, and packs down small. Having a 3 person tent works perfect for my wife and I up here in the great north west where it rains a lot. we can stash all our gear in the tent with us and still have lots of room. Its still smaller and lighter than most of my friends 2 person tents. Also: a few of my polls got bent in some very heavy wind. Sent back to MSR and they repaired for free! Great job guys!! love it
Date published: 2015-06-15
  • y_2016, m_12, d_5, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238413, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw

I'm looking for a 3 person tent to carry on my cross country MC trip. The specs never show the size of tent and stakes. Could someone tell me what size is the tent is all packaged up? This will be one of my deciding factor so the tent will fit all packed

Asked by: AB9164
Hey there, Thanks so much for reaching out to us! The MSR Hubba NX 3-Person Tent has a floor plan of 7 ft, 3 in X 5 ft, 8 in and a max height of 3 ft, 8 in. Each vestibule is 9 sq ft. Packed size is 21 ft, 7 in. Packed weight is 4 lbs, 13 oz. Eight stakes are included. If you have any more questions, give us a shout at: 877-666-7352. Love the Madness!
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2015-12-15
  • 2016-12-08T10:08CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238413, PRD, sort_helpfulnessAnswersFirst
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $49
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart