MSR Hydromedary Hydration Bag

MSR Hydromedary Hydration Bag is rated 4.285714285714286 out of 5 by 28.
  • 2016-10-21T10:00CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238372, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.2 Star Rating
$34.95 - $39.95

Select a Size Select a Color

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using Ship Speeds of 1-5 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 5-10 day shipping will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we'll special-order the product for you and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping (Free over $49) and can only be shipped via 4-5 Day Shipping. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping (Free over $49) and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to accept delivery so we will call to schedule.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $4.00 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200 jacket at, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10238372

The MSR Hydromedary Hydration Bag is a water reservoir for drinking plenty of water while backpacking. The durable, 200D Cordura® fabric on the exterior provides piece of mind while kneeling next to the river or lake, filtering water directly into the hydration bag. The inside of the bag is BPA-free and can even battle through freezing temperatures. Available in three sizes, you should be able to find one that is right for your pack, just hook it into your packs hydration sleeve using the two eyelets at the top. Snake the drink tube through the top of the bag and enjoy a tasty drink through the bite valve.

FEATURES of the MSR Hydromedary Hydration Bag

  • High Flow/No Leaks: Bite valve dramatically increases flow rate, while shutoff valve prevents leaks
  • Easy to Fill: Low profile, ergonomic handle and wide-mouth opening for no-hassle filling
  • Upgrades Most Packs: Three streamlined shapes fit most hydration packs and backpacks
  • Safe Drinking: BPA-free
  • Lightweight 200-denier Cordura exterior as our DromLite reservoirs and are loaded with great features for everyone from day hikers to diehard backcountry travelers

- + Product Specifications
Fabric Details: Cordura-200D Nylon, TPU film laminate
Dimensions: 18 x 7.5 in.
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Weight: 7.1 oz
Features: Made in USA
Best Use: Day Hiking
Liquid Capacity: 100 fl. oz
Cap Type: Bite Valve
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A bad taste I purchased a medium sized one of these and was disconcerted to find that it had a bitter taste. I rinsed it but it still had that taste. I wrote to Cascade Designs and they replaced my unit with a different one which had the same bitter taste, including after rinsing. I wrote to them again but have not heard back -- that was some months ago. I can only assume that the product is badly flawed. I mean, if water tastes bad coming out of the water bag, what good is it? I used an earlier similar bag from Cascade Designs, with a clear bag. Unfortunately it began to leak after some years of use. Up until it began leaking, it worked perfectly.
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from unbreakable hydration pouch I bought this 3 years ago and it never leaked (unless in winter) and I've never had any problems with it, but if you use it in winter, make sure there's no ice in the lid, otherwise it may screw in a weird position and leak. However, the only real very small problem is the small clip used to clip the tube to a sleve pack, it's not super strong and will unclip fairly easily But in overall, it's awesome and the problems are nothing compared to the confidence of being able to put in your pack and know it won't leak or break (unless in very special circumstances) and this hydration pouch is way better than any other I've seen!
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like it but room for improvment I do a lot of back country photograhy and did not want my water and camera together. Like this product, it would be nice if they put a grommet at the bottom so you could fasten the bladder to your pack and not have it swing. The hose should be about 6" longer so it can be used with different packs.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable Bag and Well Designed I have the 3L bag. I was debating on the 2.5 and 3L bags, but figured the extra half liter might come in handy for some isolated hikes. ,,,,The material is very durable and fits great in my backpack. The hose has a bite valve (similar to a CamelBak) which makes it easy to drink while hiking. My only complaint was that my backpack has a center clip holder, so I had to use a zip tie to evenly hold it in my pack. ,,,,Another reason I like the 3L is that I usually fill it up in the morning and it lasts me all day. It can be a pain to fill it up in the middle of the day since you have to unpack your backpack to get it in and out. ,,,,I have the MSR Microfilter and it attaches to it. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a good hydration system!
Date published: 2013-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Toughest bladder I know of, but... I bought this last year. I've gone through several hydration bladders over the years. All have eventually sprung leaks, necessitating replacement. The Hydromedary feels like it will last forever. I have one complaint, though, and it means a lot to me. Even though I've used the bladder on several trips, it still gives a sort of 'chemical' flavor to my drinking water. I'll overlook this on big outings where I really need a good, tough bladder in my pack, but on smaller outings I'll bring my Nalgene bottle and my MSR pump filter.
Date published: 2016-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Teach you self to drink regulary Water bottle is something always inconvenient to carry. When I was a boy scout, several several years ago, we use to carry it in tied to the belt. Then we started to put it in the the top of the backpack, but we always had to wait a stop on the walk to access it. The result, sometimes, are headaches that you don't associate with the lack of hydration. MSR product is great, easy to fill even in small stream, size compatible with filters.
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glug Glug Glug! This bladder is so light! (when it's empty) I purchased the three liter for when I thru hike the PCT in April. The desert section is going to require carrying a lot of water. The new streamlined mouth piece and shut off valve are ideal for fitting through the H2O ports on your bag and knowing if you have turned off the hose fully. The fabric reservoir seems to be more durable than any of the plastic ones out there.
Date published: 2016-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Hydration Pack Over the past year or so, this hydration system has worked exceptionally whenever I had used it. It shows now minimal wear and performs the same as new. I am very pleased with this product overall, but am especially happy that the MSR microfilter will be able to hook directly to it. I would recommend this product, but must say that any buyer should pay close attention to the sizes to make sure it fits in their pack.
Date published: 2015-06-14
  • 2016-10-21T10:00CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_10238372, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $49
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart