Gregory Z40 Pack

Gregory Z40 Pack is rated 4.3636 out of 5 by 11.
  • 2015-10-10T15:47CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_10117530, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Select a Size Select a Color

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means the item you are ordering is ready for shipment

"Ship Date" is the date your product will ship

In-stock orders placed before 3pm EST will ship SAME DAY, unless otherwise noted during checkout

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $7.95 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on or at our shops (MJ$5 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

So if you buy a $200 jacket at, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Mens Backpacks

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10117530

The Gregory Z 40 Pack. Ideal for a quick overnight trip, the Z 40 has targeted features to make packing everything you need a snap. Multiple zip through access points and a separate sleeping bag compartment keep all your gear in its place and allow you to easily retrieve individual items without having to unpack it all.

FEATURES of the Gregory Z40 Pack

  • CrossFlo DTS Suspension
  • Auto-Fit harness system
  • Removable raincover in zippered pocket
  • Dual quick-access waistbelt pockets
  • Dual side mesh pockets
  • Side compression
  • 210D double diamond ripstop and 330D nylon oxford flatweave
  • Sleeping bag compartment with collapsible zippered shelf
  • Dual hydration ports and sleeve
  • Front zippered pocket
  • Top pocket with key clip and a second stash compartment on underside
  • Dual axe/tool attachment points

- +
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks awesome but could be more functional. This backpack is good, but it could have been epic. My issue is you cannot overload this backpack. The top lid is fixed and aside of the side compression straps (which are shortish) there is no way to tie gear to it. ,,,,You can't even tie your sleeping pad to the bottom without using up your ice ace loops. Gregory put two reinforcement patches on the bottom. For the same weight, they could have been ski loops instead. Or they could have at least made them into sleeping pad straps attachment points. ,,,,I think Gregory went out of the way to make sure that you will still need a larger backpack (that you might also buy from Gregory).,,
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sulfur green not like the pictures the sulfur green pack is more like a little darker apple green, its not as yellowish as shown in the pic above, however the zippers and pulls are yellowish like the pic. the darker panels are a dark o.d. green. it comes with a pack cover located in a small zippered pocket at the bottom of the front panel pocket. the front panel (not the front pocket) also opens to the main compartment. the hip belt pockets are small, only half the length of the hip belt sides. the top is attached, non-floating. but overall, i still really like this pack. the color is not what i expected, but still very nice for a green pack.
Date published: 2011-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grat pack for day hikes or overnighters Wanted a pack for snowshoeing & winter hiking. Looked at a lot of packs but kept coming back to the Z40. Not the lightest, or the best, but it's a lot of pack for the buck. Nice sleeping bag compartment - used it for emergency gear, as well as a few other items. The mesh pockets are ok but, like most packs, I find when the pack's full (I had 35 lbs) the pockets are stretched to the max. I was able to secure snowshoes without much difficulty. The sternum strap stays in place no matter where you position it. Hip belt's nice. Mesh back panel kept my back pretty dry. Hydro port easily accessed but a 3L Platypus was a tight fit. Rain cover included. I highly recommend this pack.
Date published: 2012-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Pack. I wanted a lightweight pack for 2-4 day trips, but I didn't want to blow $300. This seemed to fit the bill. Now that I've had the chance to try it, it really is awesome. Greg's Crossflo suspension really works. Kelty's "Agile" series has a similar system, but I'm convinced Gregory has more features for the money, with quality that is at least equal. ,,,,The sleeping bag compartment seems to be a tad on the small side, but I was able to fit my Cosmic Down 20 without much difficulty. Even with a larger bag, you can always just unzip the ceiling. ,,,,It's a shame they didn't put pad straps on the bottom instead of the reinforcement straps. That's the only thing I can think of that I'd change.
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great day pack This pack is lightweight, comfortable, and holds more than you might expect. It transfers most of the weight to my hips with enough padding in the lower back that it has never gotten uncomfortable even with 40+ pounds load. The pack includes a mesh panel that keeps the bulk of the pack off your back and allows cool air to flow between the load and your back; in Southern California, this makes a big difference. I have taken it on a number of day hikes and overnight camping trips, and it's still in great shape.
Date published: 2014-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a great weekender, lite hiking pack. I bought the Gregory z40 after several years of packing too much into my huge 4500 C.U. North Face Bag. I did that mainly to lighten the load for my son, but now that he can carry all of his own gear I decided to downsize and the rewards on my back are amazing. This is the equivalent of driving a Suburban and then driving a Porsche. I can get enough gear for a weekend trip and I don't feel overburdened. The access of the pack is great and the compression straps along the outside are perfect. Big ups.
Date published: 2011-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for petite women, too I am a 5'3" woman with short legs but without the shorter torso size that most petite women have, and no pack has ever come close to being as comfortable as this one is (I have it in medium). It's big enough that I can carry gear for a several-day trip without overburdening my frame. Plus, all the compartments and easy access points are a plus as well. I would recommend this to anyone who's a bit on the short size, or looking for something lightweight for a shorter trip.
Date published: 2011-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pack from Gregory Got this pack for a weekend pack works great. Plenty of room for all the essential items. My only complaint is the sleeping bag compartment is a bit small really have to compress a sleeping bag to get it in there. The built in rain cover works great and keeps your pack dry. The best thing about this pack is the suspension system it is great really lets the airflow get through there getting rid of that sweaty back that we all hate.
Date published: 2012-12-27
  • 2015-10-10T15:47CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_10117530, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $49
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn $1 in Rewards for every $10 you spend
at and our shops (half for discounted items).

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart