Goal Zero Switch 8 Solar Recharger

Goal Zero Switch 8 Solar Recharger is rated 4.240384615384615 out of 5 by 104.
  • 2016-10-26T08:45CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_104
  • loc_en_US, sid_10248027, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.2 Star Rating
$15.99   $39.99
60% off

Select a Size

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means this item is ready to ship. Orders placed before 3pm EST using Ship Speeds of 1-5 Days will ship SAME DAY. Orders using 5-10 day shipping will ship within one business day.

"Ship Date" means we'll special-order the product for you and this is the date we expect your shipment to leave our warehouse.

"Oversized" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping (Free over $49) and can only be shipped via 4-5 Day Shipping. Additional shipping charges may apply.

"Freight" means the item is too large for 5-10 Day Shipping (Free over $49) and must be shipped by truck freight for an additional fee. Someone must be present to accept delivery so we will call to schedule.

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $0.40 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items).

So if you buy a $200 jacket at Moosejaw.com, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on MoosejawRewards.com.

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10248027

Products on Sale are Discontinued Styles or Colors.

FEATURES of the Goal Zero Switch 8 Solar Recharger

  • Ultra-lightweight power supply
  • Charges smartphones and USB gear
  • Fully charge a smartphone in 1 hour

- + Product Specifications
Disclaimer: We only ship this brand to US Addresses.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only one flaw I like the portability, and it charges quickly and can charge my iPhone a couple times on one charge. Something I hope they improve for subsequent buyers is the end cap constantly falling off. It doesn't seem to be threaded, and this happened the day after I got it as a gift, first use, if the end is touched on the side it pops right off. Then you have to really fiddle with it to get it to stay on again, and plug it back in so that it will recognize it has a charge. If you don't plug it in to a power source for a couple seconds it won't charge anything after the cap is replaced. I still like it, but that part is pretty annoying.
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Portable, Versatile, A Life Saver I have had a lot of iPhone chargers over the years, and this one stands out above the rest. It is reliable, I don't have to worry about it unplugging from my phone while on the go, it is rechargeable, I can charge it on my Mac, any USB port, even while my phone is charging through the device. It is small, light weight, durable, and I can get one full iPhone 5 charge out of the Switch 8. It pairs great with the Nomad 7 or any Goal Zero panel. The LED charge indicator lights are very helpful. I use the Switch mostly when traveling on foot in a rural or urban environment, extending the life of my iPhone substantially. It is a staple in my messenger bag and travel kit.
Date published: 2013-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it is supposed to do I bought the switch 8 for backpacking and canoe tripping to charge small devices like cell phones/kindle/mp3. Portable size and ease of use makes it ideal for this application. It charges my smart phone fully in about 1 3/4 hours off of the battery pack. No issues charging the basic cell phone, kindle, and MP3. The only problem I initially encountered was getting the smart phone (Casio Commando) to charge off of the battery. It would not charge using the phone's USB cable. The solution is to use a "charge only" USB cable (no sync/data capability). Overall, well thought out and well designed product.
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not worried now, I have assurance. A few years ago, my husband suffered a stroke while vacationing far from home. I didn't think of grabbing my cell phone charger while climbing into the ambulance. I used up my battery calling family and friends requesting prayer. When we got to the hospital, I could not talk with family. I felt panic. I went asking all the nurses if they had the charger I needed. I don't have to worry about that happening again. With the Goal zero Switch 8 Recharger I can recharge anywhere without electricity. I carry it in my purse all the time. Thank you Goal Zero for that peace of mind.
Date published: 2013-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product. Works well for traveling Just got this and went on a trip and it came in useful when I was traveling. Specifically on the plane, I use a lot of my power playing games (newest iPhone) for several hours. Depending on the game it takes a lot of power. My battery usually is low enough that I want to keep a charge high for when I get off the plane so I could connect with people. I wasn't sure if the rental car would have a plug in. So I kept this plugged in while playing games on the plane and it kept my battery high. I can't honestly say that I know if the cell will charge my phone completely on one, or many, uses of the cell. I should try it out some time from 0 or just believe the product description.,,Hope that was helpful to any looking to purchase.
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very useful on and off the trail Really loved it! It kept me charged while thru-hiking the Colorado Trail. It does take a few hours to get a charge, but considering the size, I'm ok with it. It would be cool if there was a kickstand to adjust the angle for optimum sunlight. My biggest concern was when charging the Switch Battery while hiking. The mesh zippered pocket isn't large enough to enclose the battery while it's plugged in. I constantly found myself worrying if it was still there. Which meant I would stop and take off my bag to look. Fortunately, I never lost it, but still a headache. Off-the-trail I've been using the battery on the go when an outlet isn't convenient or when I don't wish to be slaved to the wall while it charges. Good buy... USE IT!
Date published: 2013-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Device! This is a great little device. It charges quickly from an outlet and is very handy to have around. I keep it in my glove compartment and lay the solar panels (Nomad 7) on the dash board. When I come out to the car at the end of the day, it's charged. I easily charge my iPhone 5 with it and an iPod. Very convenient to carry around. I recommend this to anyone interested in a small power source that is quickly chargeable. It would be nice to have interchangeable tips, or a way to screw two or three end to end to double or triple the output.
Date published: 2013-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Product This is a good portable battery. Charges in a few hours, I keep it plugged in to the wall or my solar panel. This, along with the Nomad 7 make a good duo. The battery charges one of my devices on one charge. Can fully revive my phone or Itouch. If you want more from a portable battery, i suggest looking at the medium range stuff, this is the most minimal option. I went along with it for the convenience and price. High quality for the price but I wouldnt mind stepping up to a higher range portable battery.
Date published: 2014-01-30
  • 2016-10-26T08:45CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_104
  • loc_en_US, sid_10248027, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Can I plug this into my car USB port to recharge it?

Asked by: AmyM
Hiya! There are two ways to charge this recharger. It can either be plugged into a USB power source or by connecting a compatible solar panel. If you have an USB port in your car, you're golden! Hope this helps!
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-09-21

Does it use batteries?

Asked by: Susanne
Thanks for the question! Yes, there is a battery, however it is not replaceable. If maintained properly, you should get 100's of life cycles out of it. Goal Zero does have a 1 year warranty on new products. Hope this helps!
Answered by: Rocko Gigsby
Date published: 2016-06-22
  • 2016-10-26T08:52CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_2
  • loc_en_US, sid_10248027, PRD, sort_helpfulnessAnswersFirst
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $49
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart