Cobalt

Black Diamond Epic 45 Pack

Black Diamond Epic 45 Pack is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 46431.
  • y_2016, m_11, d_20, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_377, tr_46054
  • loc_en_US, sid_10235655, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw
4.2 Star Rating
4.2
$126.99 - $199.95
up to 20% off

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Mens Backpacks

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10235655

FEATURES of the Black Diamond Epic 45 Pack

  • Ideal for rock, ice, and alpine endeavors
  • Top-loading
  • Guide-style design
  • ACTIVE suspension
  • Floating/removable top pocket with skirt closure and tuck-away rope strap
  • Ice-tool PickPockets
  • 3-point haul system
  • Removable crampon bikini strap
  • Removable, padded hipbelt with fixed webbing belt
  • Hipbelt gear loops

- + Product Specifications
Weight: 54 oz
Gender: Mens
Features: Sternum Strap, Hydration Compatible, Ice Axe / Trekking Pole Loops, Compression Straps, Removable Hip Belt
Best Use: Climbing, Ice and Mixed Climbing, Mountaineering and Alpine
Pack Capacity: 45 liters / 2746 cubic inches
Pack Access: Top
Frame Type: Internal
- +
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit for a king Great volume. There's enough space to carry everything you'd need for a multi-day adventure, and still packs small enough for summit attempts. Great gear features and tough materials that stand up to abuse. That's great and all, but the real reason this pack gets 5 stars is the customer service Black Diamond offered after purchase. After my first trip up Rainier I had a little trouble with the shoulder straps on the medium. I called BD and they offered return my medium for a large, and ship me a medium waist belt. At the end of the day, if you've got to have this pack, it's nice to know Black Diamond will do what they can to make it work for you.
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review of BD Epic 45 Backpack The backpack looks very nice and is very well made. All the seems are very strong and some are even welded wich is just awesome. The moving backbone piece is very well engineered and really makes this pack very suitable for technical climbs. Especially with skis attached, the system really works great. Although there are two things that really bother me: 1) When the pack is not fully filled, the solid frame construction tends to rub against the top side fabric. So it wears a bit from the inside and I'm pretty sure this will give problems in the future. 2) The top lid has only 1 strap to secure it. Because there is only one strap the lis tends to fold inside. This doesn't looks very good and it makes the inside more accessible for possible water infiltration. This bag is really suitable for ski mountaineers who make multiday trips in the backcountry.
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spot On I have always liked the Epic and Speed series of packs from BD. Now I love them. The new materials, suspension, and ice axe holders are spot on. I spend over a 100 days a year wearing a pack so I need a pack to be comfortable, functional, and solid. The new Epic is all of those.
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great all around pack needs a floating brain This is a great all around pack, comfortable on the back and carries anything and everything you need for a day trip. I prefer the simplicity to the pack, more bells and whistles on any type of gear leads to a higher chance of it malfunctioning in the the backcountry. The only downside is not having a floating brain on the pack- when packed to the brim and a coil of rope attached to the pack the brain doesn't get over everything and is rubbing against the back of your head.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Climbs well, sleek, but keep loads light. The pack itself is excellent. I love the features. Crampon straps and tool holder are both excellent and look sleek. The lid comes off easily and girth hitching the straps to the pack is such a simple, yet amazing idea. Well done. Pack volume also extends well beyond 45 liters if needed. Very sleek and appealing looking pack. The suspension is just ok. Hip belt and shoulder straps are both adequately cushioned and comfortable. I also really like the back pad. The swivel of the hip suspension is nice for climbing and really any other movement, however watch out if your pack is heavy as you can be thrown off balance. I also like the swing arm feature, takes a little getting use to, but its pretty nice once you do. I do not like the yoke-like connection between the shoulder straps. It just doesn't work. This feature makes it difficult to get pack weight on to your hips and off your shoulders, specifically off your traps and neck. I've never had a sore neck after wearing a pack before. Granted it was after a 20 hour push, but still. After a few more days wearing it, I did get somewhat use to yoke. I'm determined to make this pack work, because its awesome in every other way! Keeping loads light is key. Hey that's the goal of alpine climbing anyway right. If my pack is under 25lbs I find it very comfortable. Three stars, flirting with four. Get rid of the yoke and this is a five star pack all day!
Date published: 2015-04-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great suspension system but not enough pack volume to justify it This is a versatile pack but by no means the lightest one on the market. The basic features are solid (multiple brain pockets, open interior, water bladder pocket, ice axe loops, hip-belt loops for ice screws/rock pro, and not much more) and I appreciate that the pack doesn't go overboard with extras. Downsides include the following: - Most of the buckles are too small for big gloves - The suspension system is way overbuilt for the pack size. Unfortunately, BD's alternative options are packs with almost no frame at all. - The empty pack weight is heavy Major upsides include: - The suspension system flexes beautifully with torso/hip movement when climbing and skiing - With heavy-duty fabric, double-stitching, and tough foam, the pack should last many years. All in all, a decent middle-of the road pack that offers versatility, but at the expense of doing any single job particularly well.
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This IS rock climbing. I have the previous generation of this pack but it looks like the only major difference is that you can now remove the top cover, which is awesome.,,,,This pack is perfect for cragging. The 45L bucket + top lid holds: my full standard trad rack, sport rack, two pairs of shoes, harness, chalk, first aid kit, my 3L platypus water system, some food, a big rain poncho and a jacket or extra layer. everything packs in tight with the straps and the suspension system is awesome and comfortable. The fabric is super thick and abrasion proof.,,,,The lid on the previous incarnation of this pack is pretty much split into two pockets one inside (great for wallets, has a key loop) and one outside (easy access for guides etc).,,,,you can put the pack on without even taking off your harness and the hip belt (which is also removable and dynamic) has extra gear loops!,,,,Perfect size. Comfortable. Strong. Truly Epic.
Date published: 2013-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Pack aside from one complaint This is a great pack for so many reasons. At 45 L this pack is ideal for shorter multi day excursion. I have found it too large for a day pack, especially on vertical rock as the length restricts full neck extension when looking up to find the next hand hold. Ice axe/tool pockets on front of pack work great. Gear loops on the waist band prove useful. Plenty of space inside this top-loading pack with opportunity to expand and rope webbing. Two zippered pockets in top of pack (one internal and one with more real estate externally. Hydration bladder compatible, but there is not a great place to lack the hydration tube to on the rear of pack. My only true complaint on this pack is that the crampon holder is completely inadequate. It is too small as far as the actual amount of canvas fabric to accommodate BD's own crampon case and the webbing to cinch it down tightly have proven too short. I have seen much better applications of crampon holders on other company's packs and I hope that BD improves on this version in later packs as I would have no problem giving this pack 5 stars if it were not for this issue.
Date published: 2014-01-06
  • y_2016, m_11, d_20, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_377, tr_46054
  • loc_en_US, sid_10235655, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $49
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on Moosejaw.com or at our shops (MJ$2.50 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart