Black Diamond ATC Belay

Black Diamond ATC Belay is rated 4.4348 out of 5 by 46.
  • 2015-10-06T17:35CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_10119096, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Select a Size Select a Color

When will I get my stuff?

"In Stock" means the item you are ordering is ready for shipment

"Ship Date" is the date your product will ship

In-stock orders placed before 3pm EST will ship SAME DAY, unless otherwise noted during checkout

If you have any questions, please Live Chat one of our sort of smart customer experience personnel. If you are one of the few that enjoy speaking to real human, please call 877-666-7352

Add to Cart
+ earn up to $1.80 in Rewards
Moosejaw Rewards: You earn MJ$10 for every $100 you spend on or at our shops (MJ$5 for discounted items). That's like getting 10% back in Rewards!

So if you buy a $200 jacket at, you can turn around and get a $20 tee using your Rewards on

You are signed up automatically when you give your email address and you’ll earn points as you shop. So easy.

For full program info, see:
Rewards Program Details

So sorry, but this item is sold out.

You probably would've looked amazing with it too.

We do have some similar items available right now though.

Check out Climbing

View Other Similar Stuff
Add to Wish List
- +
Product Description Item No.   10119096

The Black Diamond ATC Belay. Lightweight and oft-copied design.

FEATURES of the Black Diamond ATC Belay

  • Unique, smooth handling geometry
  • Minimalist design is durable in all conditions
  • Large surface area dissipates heat when lowering or rappelling
  • Handles ropes from 7.7 to 11 mm

- + Product Specifications
Weight: 2.1 oz
Best Use: Ice and Mixed Climbing, Climbing
Fits Rope Size: 11 mm
Suitable for Belaying: Yes
Suitable for Rappelling: Yes
- +
Frequently Bought with this Item
Customers Also Looked At
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gets the job done Tl;dr: Great device, but there are better.,,,,If all you need is a belay device that you can use to rappel and belay with, this will do the trick. I would definitely recommend spending the extra 5 bucks for ATC-XP belay device, but that doesn't mean this won't get the job done. This device is great for belaying a climber, and is the most reliable and easy to learn on. That being said, there isn't anything special about it, and black diamonds other devices are better for rappelling. I have also heard complaints that this device is a little harder to get larger ropes through, but I have not experienced this issue. Still something to be wary of.
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Useful and cheap alternative We use these in our club and at our rock wall for renting out purposes. It's a device that's hard to get handling wrong or mess up belaying, however the holes are small and with fatter gym ropes, there is sometimes trouble fitting them in order to belay. Also, for rappelling, these guys kinda suck. Being on the top of a hard route and wanting to come down with this guy, and trying for too long to shove both of the ends through the openings is horrid, believe me. Try the upgraded belay options from BD or if you need to save money, this guy is great but you might want to rethink your options when you have enough spare cash.
Date published: 2014-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Everybelay. This is it. The Everybelay (as in Everyman). If you go to a gym and look at the new climbers, you'll see that approximately 85% of them have this belay hanging from their harness. ,,,,I'm sure there are credible reasons why more expensive belays exist, but as a fairly new climber, this ATC fits the bill just fine. It is sturdy and handsome. I like the feel of it in my hands. It makes me feel confident trusting someone else's life to it (and mine! my partner has it too!),,,,I'm trying to be helpful but this is truly the industry standard, so there's not a ton to say. It's easy to learn on and well-made. If you need more later, fine. Otherwise, it's cheap and gets you in the game safely.
Date published: 2011-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This thing is perfect for belaying your buds. Strong. Secure. Doesn't Slip whatsoever. I used this guy over at Grand Ledge in Mid Michigan very frequently and it rules. It has never let me down. After hours of usage time it still shows no wear and tear. It is great! I only weigh like 145 pounds and I went out climbing with my brother we is a very stocky barrel chested dude. He weighs like 225 and the rope locked very securely and extremely easily into this thing every time he fell. Although, he really yanks upward on me when he falls though but that is only because this thing works so well. Creates a perfect static coefficient of friction while climbing. For everyone not a poor college student at MSU majoring in physics that means the rope will not slide through this device.
Date published: 2011-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from plain and simple, just the way it should be. This product is what I learned how to belay with, and there's a reason "ATC" has replaced "belay device" in my vocabulary. I actually prefer the Black Diamond ATC over a "gri-gri". The reason I love the ATC so much? No frills. Follow the diagram on the side of the device and come prepared with an adequate amount of training (as with any piece of climbing equipment) and get going. The lack of "friction ridges" doesn't affect the reliability of this product one bit; it has plenty of bite to stop any unexpected slip (without the added price of fancy features).
Date published: 2012-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great belay device for anyone just starting out and for the experienced climber. Looking for a belay device? Look no further. ,,,,The Black Diamond ATC is a great all around mechanical belay device. At $16 bucks you really can't beat this product. Its solid, comes in a few colors, and will last a life time if properly used. (okay, maybe not a lifetime but you get the point.),,,,The ATC works really great when using 10mm rope (thinner rope works good too, this is just my opinion) and slides very smoothly through the device while belaying. There's no fancy friction grooves but with 10mm rope you have ample thickness to stop any of your falling comrades. Overall the ATC is very affordable, functional, light weight, and compact. If you're looking for a belay device and don't want to spend $80 or so on a grigri, this is for you!
Date published: 2013-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great first belay device! This was My very first ATC, It was simple to learn to use, I had some experienced buddies make sure that I was using it correctly, but after a while it became second nature. It is a Great general purpose belay Device, I have used mine for 2+ years and still love it, I have used it for top rope, sport, trad, and rapelling off of buildings at college (and almost getting expelled) I recomend buying this pece if only to imagine the adventures you could have with it, not to mention becoming a Ledgend on campus because of those adventures!
Date published: 2011-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it's supposed to I'm new to climbing and the idea of someone's weight being able to be supported essentially by this device to be honest astounded me. But hey, it does what it's supposed to! My friend was much more surprised then me by the magic that is being locked off and hardly feeling a big fall. The bottom line, this is a great ATC and does what it's supposed to - smooth and easy belaying, lightweight and sturdy. I'm sure there are some crazy ones out there that are better or more fancy but this is simple and great and I'm happy with it.
Date published: 2013-11-05
  • 2015-10-06T17:35CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_10119096, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_moosejaw

Free Shipping
Spend $12 in Moosejaw products OR at least $49
in other products and you orders ships FREE!

Moosejaw Rewards
You earn $1 in Rewards for every $10 you spend
at and our shops (half for discounted items).

What are you looking for?
Shopping Cart